We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in top location”
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marine Plaza
Ranked #40 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Value-for-money: Rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast was delicious and the view from the roof top pool is great. Good starting point for sightseeing tours. Loved the lobby and the glass elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you this positive review. Its gives us immense pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed most facets of this hotel.

We look forward to many more visits and Warm Wishes to all back home.

Yours Sincerely
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

the room that we booked overlooked the seaside, and thanks to the huge windows the view from the room was absolutely stunning. the only complain that we had was the quality of breakfast. unfortunately the food needs improvement. you have to make sure that you ask whether the room that you booking has seaview to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

The oceans views are definitely stunning and can be a great relaxant at the same time. I never fail to miss it each morning during breakfast.

I do hope you took some time off to enjoy a leisurely walk down the promenade on Marine Drive. Thats another leisurely thing you could do while staying at the hotel.

Your breakfast comments will be shared with our Executive Chef and will see how best it could be improved on.

We hope to see you again and Best Wishes going forward.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Found this property on TA-again, and decided to go for it although at over 7,000 rupees a night it was the priciest property I stayed at in India.

Location-It is about 30-40 minutes from the airport and you have to pay an extra 55 rupees to take the new SeaLink which apparently cuts quite a bit of travel time off the trip. I think it was like 400 rupees from the gov't taxi office in the airport for an air conditioned taxi-yes you pay more for those. Located right on Marine Drive about 5-10 minutes walk from the southern end of it where two of the 'shootout' hotels were located-Trident and Oberoi. That's what the locals referred to them as. Marine Drive itself is quite busy most of the time but once you cross the street to the water side there is a wide boulevard with trees where there is plenty of space to walk or sit on the seawall and watch the waves roll in. You get a nice view of the length of Marine Drive and of many of the high rise buildings in Mumbai that are close to the coast. It was walking distance to the gateway of India and some other sites including the CST railway station-if you don't mind walking around a busy city in 35+ degree heat. There was a pizza place a couple of blocks away that was pretty good and quite popular with the locals on the weekend. Other than that-there were a few more restaurants up one of the roads a few blocks over-Chinese, Italian etc.

Room-Room 1411 had two single beds?!?!? This is a room with a view of the Arabian Sea and you expect a couple of platonic friends to rent it out?!? Since it was my second hotel with two beds I was a little annoyed. The love seat had a stain on the cushion, kettle for hot water was not clean inside and the hair dryer had not been wiped in a month of two-other than that the room was clean. Had decent products in the bathroom although regardless of what I did with the shower curtain there always seemed to be a pool of water next to the toilet that soaked my towel on the floor. I liked the little area leading to the bathrooms where there was lots of room to put my large piece of luggage and open it up and an area to hang items. This place also had the room safe. Nice to have it all out of the way and not look at it all day in the room.

Services-Front desk staff were professional and efficient as were the bell staff and front door security people. Took quite a while to get a 'radio taxi' one night-40 minutes but it was not their fault as that is the service available to them. Offered to help me with travel arrangements as well but ended up doing it myself. Breakfast was included and had enough to keep me content with pastries, bread/jam, fruit. Lots of Indian dishes as is the norm for hotels in India but didn't try them. Coffee/tea services varied from day to day i.e. getting your first cup and filling up when done. Nice view out the window if you get a seat there. Rooftop pool was fantastic with several glass floor pieces that you can see from the lobby atrium 6 floors below-pretty cool. The rooftop area was quite expansive but only had four deck chairs under a covered area. It had night time dinner service up there which must have been nice but I never went. You had a nice view of Marine Drive and the sea from up there as well. The pool area had the obligatory flocks of pigeons that one poor staff member had the task of waving a stick with a black rag to get rid of from time to time. Internet had a high hourly rate and it was 449 rupees for 24 hours or 799 for two days. Again I think these rates are way too high especially in a country like India and a hotel charging so much per night. What can you do other than pay?!?

I would consider the property on a future trip to Mumbai. I would like a little more 'action' around the hotel in terms of places to visit, eat, drink but the view was very nice and the staff were professional.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view! Nothing else to look at in Mumbai from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robster071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

That you for sharing your experience with us and its great to know that your overall stay went off well.

We have noticed a few areas which you have flagged off for improvement and the same has been addressed with the HK department. Our internet cost has been brought down by 50% over the past year and there is clear path in reducing this further and having it free eventually.

I must also apprise you that there are plenty of eating areas and fun things to do around town which our Concierge team could have helped you with. Our In-house F& B outlets namely The Bayview Restaurant (Indian & Continental cuisine) , The Oriental Blossom - Our Speciality Chinese Restaurant and Geoffreys The Pub would have been great places to start with and spoilt you for choice.

We do hope this visit is one of many and wish you a great year ahead.

Warm regards from all at HMP.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Had booked a room at this property because on their website its mentioned "Our Superior Rooms are spacious rooms and offer a magnificent view of the sea." . While checking in, I was told that all their rooms are not sea facing and that they didn't have any rooms available so they upgraded me to a suite. The suite was ok but the view sucked. It faced an old building. I would gladly pay a couple of thousands more and take a sea facing room in any of the hotels nearby instead of that suite for approximately 10,000.

Extremely disappointed. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2012Businessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

Its unfortunate to know that we were unable to meet your request for a sea facing room during your most recent stay.

Like most hotels around the promenade we have limited rooms that face the sea. We try our best to oblige most, however we are contrained by the limited inventory that we have and it becomes impossible at times to meet all requests. In cases where requests can't be met, we upgrade our guests to the next category which are executive suites. Bigger in size, but partial sea facing and non-sea facing suites.

I can clearly gather from your feedback that this option wasn't preferred and i can only assure you that if you were to give us the opportunity to host you once again, we will ensure you get a sea facing room this time around.

My apologies on behalf of the team and Have a Good Year ahead.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed for three nights, excellent property facing the ocean..has got all the facilities,except a spa.. Very well mantained rooms and very goid service.. Overall a very good experience as i was travelling with my two teenage daughters..Many eateries nearby and a perfect location if one wants to stay on or near Marine Drive in Mumbai..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

Glad to know that your stay went of well with your two daughters and the hotel was appreciated on several levels. Our ocean views and the beautiful promenade does have its own charm and definitely one of the top locations to appreciate when in Mumbai.

There is a Spa and Beauty Salon called VLCC just a couple of minutes down the road from the hotel. We send most of our guests across whenever we get an enquiry and so far the feedback has been postiive. There is also a 10% discount that is extended by VLCC if they know you are staying at the hotel. i do hope you had the opportunutity to try them out.

We look forward to seeing you again and our best to your daughters and family back home.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed 2 night in feb2012 location is very good friendly staff very nice hotel we had very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sollylunat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing this feedback and we hope this stay fo yours will be one of many.

Best Wishes from all of us here at Marine Plaza and Have a Great Year Ahead.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Marine plaza is located in Marine drive facing the ocean. The location is perfect with wonderful scenery and amazing surrounding. Checking in was fast . The room was quite large with a separate sitting area and tea making choice as complementary. Upon arrival i had to check my emails for the next day meeting which was quite important to me but apparently there were some problems with internet. The effort of the staff in order to find a solution to this problem was amazing for me. They did their best and finally I managed to do what I wanted. The service was excellent all the way. The breakfast was quite nice and there is nothing faulty I can mention here.
words can not describe how good were the staff , i won't forget them all. Thank you for the nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehrdadnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for such generous feedback.

Our staff have been energized further in knowing the wonderful impact their actions have made on your stay. We look forward to many more visits and have a Great Year Ahead.

Our very best to your family.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marine Drive
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#113 of 489 in Mumbai
477 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#72 of 489 in Mumbai
496 reviews
Marine Drive
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#107 of 489 in Mumbai
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Address: 29 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Marine Drive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#32 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#55 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: £114 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing