We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent and value for money hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marine Plaza
Ranked #41 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
“An excellent and value for money hotel!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went to marine plaza with my parents, sister and niece. The hotel is located at a prime location at the marine drive. When we arrived our rooms were not ready so we were given a nice executive room to freshen up.But to my dismay they didn't have the sea facing rooms that I had booked. To make up for this little goof up they offered me their best suite and an executive room . Except for the little problem of availability of rooms our experience was excellent. the staff was very courteous and helpful.The dinner was alright but the breakfast was the highlight. with a wide variety of continental and Indian dished it was a definite treat. All in all the experience was luxurious and the suite had a splendid view of the Arabian sea and the Queen's necklace which was worth every penny spent. The hotel is small but beautiful and has all facilities including a beautiful terrace and pool. I really appreciate the the staff's thoughtfulness to give us the suite and this definitely made our short stay of one night very memorable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and luxurious stay at marine drive.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Suite, its worth the money spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for this feedback.

I'm glad to know that we were able to pickup from the initial hiccup and were table to make good on your stay,

That's critical in the hospitality business and does go along way in influencing one's stay.

We send our best and have a wonderful year.


Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    223
    62
    20
    19
See reviews for
115
118
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are looking for a home away from home, this is the place to go. everything was just perfect. The staff, the hospitality, the service, everything just absolutely impecceable. I would definitely recomment it to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansinghnarrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you. We accept this graciously.

Hope to see you again and a Great Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent view overlooking the bay both from hotel room, restaurant and rooftop terrace. The decor within the public area is very ethnic and pleasing and the room comfortable and well equipped, including free wifi. The cleanliness of the bathroom was very superficial. Whilst towels were artistically arranged. the cleanliness of the soap tray was appalling and the wash hand basin not too clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but there were a number of large family groups staying, and children were running riot along the corridors. I did mention this to reception but nothing was done. Also don't rely on an early morning call - we're still waiting for ours! Would I stay here again? Possibly but only for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annban8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking some time off to share your experience with us.

We are happy to know of the positives, however will work towards the issues raised in bringing about the desired improvements.

We value your patronage and we do hope to get the opportunity of hosting you once again.

Im sure you will leave with even fonder memories.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay for 5 nights, but left after only one night. The first room allocated to us was a non-smoking room, but smelled of smoke and the bathroom smelled of urine. We then moved to a very nice sea facing room. The second room's bathroom was also not properly cleaned - there was a faint smell of urine, all the taps had water stains on and have not been cleaned for a long time; the soap dish had a huge amount of old soap build-up at the bottom and all around the toilet the tiles were not clean. There was also only one pair of slippers and no bathrobes. We requested them from housekeeping and 2 bathrobes were supplied - one in perfect condition and the other one in rags (which should have been discarded long ago). The one bed also had a decorative cushion and throw on, the other bed's cushion was still on a shelf in the cupboard. This hotel is rated on most websites as 5 star, which it is definitely not. This is a 4 star hotel, with a perfect location and lots of potential, but because housekeeping is handled poorly, it definitely negatively affects the overall impression of the hotel. Breakfast was ok, but not of a high standard. Fruit was tasteless, no cold meats, only one type of cheese, no bacon or fried tomato or mushrooms. A very disappointing experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarteliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and regret knowing you had to cut short your stay.

There were several points raised that we may not necessarily agree with, from what our findings revealed, however we will take this constructively.

My apologies on behalf of the team.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Their fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of their well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for this feedback.

You seem to have picked up a few lines from our website.

However we aren't 'complaining' and our happy to know you feel the same.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent view! Is the natural reaction one can give when you choose to enter any restaurant or room. Premium category hotel. Expect excellent seafood and great service. Fine range of wines and spirits are stocked. Just because nothing is perfect I might say it is next to perfect, although couldn't find anything missing.

Room Tip: Best season to visit is Monsoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhithemaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for this feedback. You've been very kind.

We are glad to have left you with fond memories and look forward to your next visit.

Have a Great Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

There are very few hotels who do not understand need of family with children - at least in our case they could not. Not much smiles or helpful attitude towards our need. Be cautious if travelling with children - it took three calls just to get the extra bed which we had already paid for.

However the location is near to Nariman point - so good in that way. Room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#42 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#70 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#110 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Property: Hotel Marine Plaza
Address: 29 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#56 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing