We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlook the Queens necklace”
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marine Plaza
Ranked #38 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

By far the best view of the sea, Marine drive which becomes the 'queens necklace' after sunset.
This is what strikes you as you stay in this good old hotel. The rooms are neat & spacious. I somehow didn't like the sounds of footsteps on the wooden floor. Breakfast was ok . The staff were friendly & service good. Take a room overlooking what I bragged about in the first line of this review & you will forget everything else.

Room Tip: Only a room overlooking the Marine drive & sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRPChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this feedback. Its very kind of you.

Yes i agree, if you are lucky to get a sea facing room at the hotel, which does have considerable demand, it could be a quite a refreshing stay. Its something about the ocean, especially when she is at peace.

Have a Wonderful Year.

Warm wishes

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

You cant get anything cheaper than this in South Mumbai with the location, the ambience and the service that they provide at the rates they provide ... its a good place to stay at with value for money .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShahbaazHakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for this feedback.

It's good to know that you found value in our offering and your overall stay went of well. We couldn't be more pleased.

We wish you the very best and look forward to many more visits.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting family for a week. I was bouyed by the reviews I had read on here before I arrived, so I was expecting good things.

When my brother and I arrived at about 2am the staff were brilliantly bright and alert and couldn't be more friendly and that theme carried on through the whole stay.

The rooms were immaculate and very well presented and the hotel was very well decorated. The pool was lovely right on the top of hotel apart from the birds constantly dive bombing the pool for some water.

One bad point that is not the hotels fault is that the government is currently digging up every single road in Mumbai at the same time and until 2am with constant drilling.

The breakfast and restaurants are lovely and definitely worth the money as it is pricey.

One tip: tip the staff. They work bloody hard for a pittance and they'll be very grateful and even more helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Cumdropper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the appreciation

Having reviewed us online before booking and knowing that we were able to meet your expectations couldn't be more pleasing to our ears.

Im sure the team will be excited to know this and we look forward to having you'll back.

Have a Great Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was that good that we actually spent most of the time in the hotel. The suits on the 5th floor are well equipped with a entry lounge, beds are incredibly comfortable and all rooms are extremely clean. There is a morning newspaper delivery to your room everyday. Lovely fruit and chocolates awaited us when we checked in and there is also a shoe polish free service every night if you hang your shoes at the door, they return them in the morning all clean and shiny.
The rooftop pool is somewhat amazing. It has a glass bottom that sees through to the reception haul 5 floors underneath. The rooftop itself is a great escape/retreat from the hustle and bustle of polluted, noisy and chaotic Mumbai. Where you can soak up the sun in lovely comfortable sun loungers and a phone in hand where you can ask for cocktails and snack to be taken to you. As there is a lot of pigeons around and they all try and go in the pool to drink the water, they actually employ a gentleman to shoo them away. Breakfast is extravagant and worthy of every penny you pay for your nights stay. Spoiled for choice, fresh, clean and healthy. Regarding staff, we couldn't be more impressed with the professionalism and efficiency of all staff from cleaners, to requests from room service to bar staff, ever so helpful and attentive.
PS: their cosmopolitans are to die for!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pedrito_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much. You've been very kind.

We are happy to know all went well and we left you with fond memories. Thats what we strive to achieve with all our guests.

We do hope this visit is one of many and we look forward to having you'll back.

Best wishes from all at Team HMP.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are looking for high quality hotel standards in South Mumbai without spending a fortune, this is the right place ! Spacious and clean rooms, very nice and efficient staff, good restaurants, very nice buffet breakfast, I would like to warmly recommend this address if you are staying in South Mumbai. The location on Marine Drive is really excellent, only a few minutes drive (or even walk) from all major Mumbai landmarks. Whenever I have to go back to Mumbai I will definitely stay there again, as this was my first stay at the Marine Plaza and it happened to be simply excellent.
The only thing that would need improvement is the access to the breakfast room : there is only a stair to reach there, no lift of any kind. It was obviously not a problem for me, but I can imagine it could become difficult and/or "challenging" for elderly/handicapped people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your vote of confidence.

We couldn't be more pleased in knowing this was your first visit and we didn't fall short in meeting your expectations.

On your concern on the accessibility to our restaurants for the old or handicapped guests, we do take them by our guest elevators where the restaurants are accessible through the service entrance. We also have a wheelchair on request for those in need.

We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to have you back.

Warm wishes from all of us here at Team HMP

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived in at Marine Plaza at 4.30pm and booked 2 rooms interconnecting which one was not ready. Service in the Resturant was slow. It took 20 minutes to get a drink.
There was no Showergel in the bathroom and it smelt damp! We ordered shower gel which took 20 minutes to arrive.
Staff were plesant and not as friendly as all the other 5 hotel we stayed at on this trip to India.
The pool area was very nice if it was looked after and the bird dropping were cleaned up more alos not enough sun lounges seating area arounf the pool area and not able to see the children playing in the pool from where the seating area is.
Views amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheenapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guests

The points raised are a matter of concern and you can be rest assured, we will look up our failings and take the necessary steps in addressing the same.

Please forgive us.

I do hope we get the opportunity of hosting you once again, where I'm confident we will leave you with fonder memories.

Warm regards and Have a Great Year.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went to marine plaza with my parents, sister and niece. The hotel is located at a prime location at the marine drive. When we arrived our rooms were not ready so we were given a nice executive room to freshen up.But to my dismay they didn't have the sea facing rooms that I had booked. To make up for this little goof up they offered me their best suite and an executive room . Except for the little problem of availability of rooms our experience was excellent. the staff was very courteous and helpful.The dinner was alright but the breakfast was the highlight. with a wide variety of continental and Indian dished it was a definite treat. All in all the experience was luxurious and the suite had a splendid view of the Arabian sea and the Queen's necklace which was worth every penny spent. The hotel is small but beautiful and has all facilities including a beautiful terrace and pool. I really appreciate the the staff's thoughtfulness to give us the suite and this definitely made our short stay of one night very memorable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and luxurious stay at marine drive.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior Suite, its worth the money spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for this feedback.

I'm glad to know that we were able to pickup from the initial hiccup and were table to make good on your stay,

That's critical in the hospitality business and does go along way in influencing one's stay.

We send our best and have a wonderful year.


Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#46 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#74 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Address: 29 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#56 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £110 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing