We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAJI ALI MOSQUE”
Review of Haji Ali Mosque

Haji Ali Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.00*
and up
Private Full-Day City Tour of Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sitting on a jetty in the Arabian sea, this spectacular white mosque was built to honor and house the remains of the Muslim saint Haji Ali.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“HAJI ALI MOSQUE”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

You have to experience the wow of this place. The taxi leaves you on the roadside at the entrance of the pier that leads to the dargah . My husband and kids loved the desert shop which sells delicious fresh juices ice cream and tantalizing deserts. They also sell pizza outside on the roadside in front of you. I was totally in awe, pizza and no pizza oven i totally had to try this. Pure veg pizza for about 40rupees (not 100% certain on the price) it was the best pizza i ate in my 21days in India.

The pier is jam packed with a bustling market that operates during low tide only.

Flowers, chardaars, imitation jewellery, qwali, Punjabi dress, pictures, gem stone rings, food, toys, books, gosh all of this can be found as you walk through the pier leading to the dargah.

It was beautiful.
India is beautiful.
Haji Ali Dargah was simply breath taking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasmeera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    408
    181
    42
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheerful Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Having read a few of the reviews and having visited similar dargahs in India before, I was suprised about the relative serenity. Yes, it is crowded and on the path leading to the mosque are some beggars, but I never felt overwhelmed or harassed at all.
The mosque isle itself offers a nice mix of stunning view of modern Mumbai and the devout atmosphere of an important religious site - quite a unique and satisfying experience.
I went during sunset which seemed to be the perfect time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisIngolstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udupi, India
Level Contributor
230 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Must visit for any caste people! Wonderful view, Feel like walking on the sea!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've visited Haji Ali 3-4 times till now. Very unique Mosque middle of the sea. Walking up to that place is itself is a wonderful unforgettable experience.

You can hire taxi from mahalaxi railway station to the haji ali entry gate. Which will cost you around Rs 50 (as on Feb 2013) Then walk till mosque.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BantakalDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hahi Ali Dargah - In the Middle of the Ocean”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Yet another pageant of under-stated architecture, this beautiful mosque, resides on an isle off the coast in south Mumbai. Connected by a 500m causeway, which gives you an awe-inspiring experience of walking in the middle of a sea, Haji Ali Dargah, leaves you with a feeling of satisfaction and fascination. Surprisingly, not a lot of people know about the Sufi jewels of Mumbai & Haji Ali is the tip of the iceberg. Remember to be careful when you walk down – you do not want to be caught unawares when the tide is rising.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Logs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Mystical Feeling”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This shrine is worth a visit if you are in Mumbai. The shrine itself gives a feeling of calmness and it is worth spending sometime there.

Walk to the shrine is via a path through the sea and is not available during high tide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 61Asif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haji Ali Mosque also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Haji Ali Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing