We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel is not realy clean and staff is homophobic”
Review of Bentley's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentley's Hotel
Ranked #199 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the hotel is not realy clean and staff is homophobic”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is in very poor maintenance statut with no hot water for shower, poor cleaning of romm and maaintenance. Additionally I had homophobic reaction from hotel staff. The location does not make a hotel, and there are many other good hotels around, avoid this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foulons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    113
    85
    38
    45
See reviews for
26
102
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This small hotel tucked in lanes of Colaba is a real find. The rooms are spacious by Mumbai standards, clean and comes with basic furniture to make for comfortable stay. The rooms looking on to the micro sized park have makes you feel that it is located in some small town not in concrete jungle of Mumbai. The moment you check-in, entire army of staff comes to your help for carrying luggage. The staff is polite, helpful with genuine smile.

Bentley's have been known to be bicycle friendly hotel and our experience was also positive. There was no fuss and the staff helped carry our cycles to first floor room. The water filters provided corridors are also boon for cycle tourists to fill up their water at the start of the day. Lastly, it's proximity to Gateway of India from where the Ferry boat to Mandwa operates is another plus point for the cyclist wishes to start their Mumbai-Goa journey.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms looking onto the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anindya_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

For Indian standards, this hotel is very clean, calm and comfortable. Good breakfast is included in price (omelette, toast, tea/coffee). Service is helpful and friendly. Location is near Marine Drive, you can reach the most important sights of Mumbai within a few minutes by taxi. As there are nearly no hostels in Mumbai, this offers a good alternative, as the reception area is kind of a "common place" because it's the only room you have Wifi.
Value for money is great (in comparison to other places in Mumbai)!
Cons: Towels could definitely be renewed, walls are very thin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Main advantages of this hotel is location and competitive price. Tripple room, we stayed, was charming, despite the fact that furniture was old and never renovated (I think so). To be honest, other rooms, we saw, were not so nice, so ask them to show more rooms and do not take first offered. Breakfast is in room only and very basic.
If you need cheap hotel in central location - this one is good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinsLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was my second trip to Mumbai. The first time I had enjoyed staying at the Bentley's Hotel, and I was happy to book again for this trip.

They have a 24 hour reception (all staff will be asleep at night, but they wake up to book you in) so arriving via a flight at any hour of the morning is okay.

The hotel is approximately 40 minutes from the airport at night, or around 1 hour during non-peak hour daytime.

We found the room to be spacious and clean. You are given a simple breakfast of toast and jam every morning but you will have to run room service to request it every morning.

We had hot water, and a balcony that looked over a nice quiet Indian garden.

The hotel is in one of the prettiest parts of Mumbai, called Colaba. You'll be around some very pretty colonial buildings, and are a short 10 minute stroll to the Gateway of India and ferries to Elephanta Island.

If I'm in Mumbai again, I'll try to stay here once more.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the garden with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

One thing to start: THIS is the area where you should book if you're staying a few days in Mumbai. Walking distance from almost everything you want to see, very well connected but also quiet (Oliver Street is small and pleasant). Difficult to find a better location, I think.
As for the hotel itself, for a very good price we got a HUGE room with confortable beds, a clean bathroom with plenty of hot water all the time, and decent breakfasts. I personally don't like to have breakfast in the room - the only option here - but others find it a great luxury!
The hotel also provides taxi service for a number of destinations at good prices.
About the sheets.... it's true that they are not brand new, but if you see Dhobi Ghat, i.e. the place where they are washed, you will understand why!!
The hotel has no wi-fi, but you can find it in a shop about 50 meters aside. Be aware that it closes at 6 p.m.

Room Tip: Top floor on Oliver Street: you will have the company of about one billion crows, but hear no cars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFaina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the annex hotel. The room was clean for indian standards, with a comfortable size and good service (breakfast included). They also offer pick up from the airport at any time, we were picked at 3am and works just fine. The best of it is the location, just in the middle of Colaba (not in the main street, so not that noisy) near lots of restaurants and sights, also walking distance from the train station.
I recommend this place, I think it have all you could need for a good stay and experience. Have in mind that you are in india and that Bombay is not a cheap city (compared with other tourist destination).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Causeway Hotel
#383 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
99 reviews
Hotel Godwin
#138 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
240 reviews
Hotel Blue Bird
#290 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
634 reviews
Ascot Hotel
#104 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Hotel

Property: Bentley's Hotel
Address: 17 Oliver Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bentley's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bentley Mumbai
Bentley Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing