We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It or Hate It”
Review of Chor Bazaar

Chor Bazaar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.50*
and up
Mumbai in Motion: Mumbai Sightseeing Tour by Public Transportation
Ranked #100 of 495 things to do in Mumbai (Bombay)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love It or Hate It”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a very difficult place to rate or slot. You can either love it or hate it. Therefore, I am going to attempt to state many of the realities of the place, so that those who are put off by them can skip the place.

I returned here after a few years. The nature of the place has changed. Formerly, it was old furniture, junk, scrap, oddities, used items, etc. Today, in front of those stores and on the streets of the bazaar has sprung up a market within a market for cheap or used clothes, bedlinen, etc.

It is an absolute scrum there, filled mostly with young men who have come here from all over India, desperately seeking work and eager to have a "city" look. Body contact is unavoidable. Therefore, this place is only for the very determined.

Photographers, artists, seekers of old oddities, someone who wants to experience the craziness of it all will all be rewarded. The timid tourist is likely to find it bewildering, claustrophobic, unpleasant even. Therefore, go forewarned.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank GatherinNoMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    19
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting for culture as much as shopping”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Chor Bazaar is fascinating! The most unique aspect to me was the "chop shop" where automobiles of all conditions are dismantled for parts. The area also has its own flavor, more Muslim than many other market areas. I found a shop selling various religious statues and icons, and was amazed at the bargain prices of beautiful pieces, many of which were gallery worthy. I bought an absolutely beautiful reclining buddha for a price about 10-20% of what I would have paid in the US. It made my day, if not my entire trip!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cafergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chor Bazaar - The Garden of Five Senses!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Bargaining is an art acquired by the people of Mumbai and to learn the trick of this trade a visit to Chor Bazaar is a must. Located in the heart of the city, the area sells anything and everything under the sun. From paints to selling or renting out luxury furniture, or pre-owned treadmills, Chor Bazaar has it all! For the shutterbugs, Chor Bazaar is an ideal place to capture the hustle bustle of Mumbai City. For the intrepid travellers, this area is also a confluence of many cultures - the Minara Masjid, Mumbai's oldest Bene Israeli synagogue and Jain temple and much more...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel-Logs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bombay
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A typically Indian old world bazaar”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

I went to the furniture street within Chor Bazaar, officially listed as Mutton Street. Firstly, to get there don't even think beyond either public transport or a motorbike if you can ride on. Park away from the auto-spare street to ensure your price doesn't get stripped for parts by the time you're done (kidding). It's a fantastic walk up and down the place, almost all the shopkeepers speak English (actually almost prefer that tongue) and are quite welcoming. Bargain hard and lots, even those guys expect it from visitors. Do the entire walk up and down Mutton Street before deciding on your purchase.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank oncethegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“''Thieves Market''”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Visited with a buddy recently and it is a real eye opener. The Bazaar consists of a few narrow streets where there are loads of car parts, hardware, tools and construction materials, lots of which which come from ''dubious'' backgrounds! the highlight to us was the auto recycling business that goes on at several different street side locations. Several guys beat the hell out of used, wrecked, stolen or whatever cars with hammers & chisels literally taking them apart all by hand. there is no electricity, airlines or whatever to use, and the temps were 34-35c(mid 90's) and they work 10 hours a day for a buck or 2 a day we were told. There is no regard for safety, and they literally take apart the entire car, right down to removing the pistons, rods, rings, tires, speakers and on & on!. it was hilarious to watch, as we both worked for many years at car dealerships, bodyshops, etc., and we walked around, beers in hand taking it all in. With our guides language assistance, my friend Ron took a few whacks with the hammer & chisel to the dogleg & rocker panel, quickly drawing a crowd of workers who had their turn to laugh at us, all in fun of course!
There are many tool sellers, hardware & construction stuff for sale or trade i suppose. Throw in a few goats, nuts on motor scooters, lots of people and you have the Chor Market. Probably of little interest to woman(not all i'm sure) and book worm types, but a reality check/comedy store all in one to curious people(especially in the auto business) Recommend going with someone who speaks Hindi for the full effect!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Discountdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chor Bazaar also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Chor Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing