We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in South Bombay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Ranked #56 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in South Bombay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

An excellent hotel whether you are going for business or pleasure. Courteous staff, a very high degree of cleanliness and a location that can't be beat. Being staying for years and it just keeps getting better.

Room Tip: All the new rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayurrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    220
    79
    22
    14
See reviews for
91
134
60
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked over hostels.com and got a really big, quiet and clean room (room 510). The prices are high in mumbai, compared to the rest of india, but it was really worth to go there. It's very close to cinema, marine drive and churchgate station, and you can easily walk to colaba. The staff is very helpful, they even opened a room in the evening so that we could shower there (our flight home was after midnight). We had a simple but good breakfast at the rooftop. Thank you very much! We will come again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miccel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here during one of our reunion trips and the experience was really good. The hotel is situated barely 10 seconds walking time away from marine drive. It's an old school hotel, which makes a statement about what Mumbai was and how the heritage is still intact. Rooms were good, the staff friendly and the breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: Get the higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Two nights aug 21 and 22 ,2013 on a business trip stayed in chateau Windsor in church gate.hotel is next to ambassador .renovated rooms are excellent.nariman point is close by.morning walk in marine drive just 50 mtrs from hotel.pizza to dosa restaurents in close walking distance.church gate station is 100 mtrs.satkar veg restaurents opp to church gate station offers south and North Indian delicacies at a competitive price.brij basi sweets baskin robin ice cream next door.what more required go ahead and stay in chateau Windsor ,churchgate mumbai.

Room Tip: ask for a room in 1st floor renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash0k1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is a minute walk from Marine Drive which is a promenade walk sweeping around the west coast of Mumbai. Very central to the touristy attractions and easy to get to the many markets in this area, taxi's are cheap to use and most have meters. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the rooftop, in good weather it would be lovely (it was monsoon!). The room was clean and attractive with a lovely shower. Breakfast was served in the room every morning as there is no dining room. Breakfast was simple, but good, toast, eggs and banana with tea or coffee. I would recommend this hotel as it is reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed at Chateau Windsor Hotel during my last 3 visits to India over the past 5 years. I often reminisce about the lovely mornings I spent on the terrace; reading the newspaper (that gets delivered every morning to each room) while sipping on some tea or coffee. The few items that the breakfast menu has to offer is enough to provide good sustenance for most of the day. The hotel staff (from the front desk to kitchen to cleaning) are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is immaculately clean. If you’re feeling lazy, the hotel also places food orders from neighbouring restaurants on your behalf, has them collected, plated and delivered to your room! The hotel’s vicinity is great, with a supermarket, several restaurants, beauty parlours, clothing stores, departmental stores, railway station, etc. just a stone’s throw away. Down the road, the Marine Drive promenade is perfect for strolling, exercising or simply admiring nature’s beauty at any time of the day. I look forward to staying at this hotel during my future visits to Mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShikshaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked here because of the location, and the price (we needed three rooms to accommodate our large family). I was not expecting much as we had seen CW not just on Trip Advisor but Hostel World so I expected spartan or marginal rooms, given the very reasonable (for Mumbai) rates.

I was so pleasantly surprised to see what a nice hotel it was. There is no lobby per se, and very little in the way of amenities. However the rooms were very, very clean (you can request daily cleaning), staff more than accommodating (we did tip them as they came and went as I don't think perhaps management distributes the tips from the central "tip box") and the Churchgate location is fantastic. Staff at front door entrance will answer any questions you have (all speak some English), direct you, advise you of going tariffs for taxis, etc. Safe and secure,,,and if you can upgrade to best rooms available they are almost luxury quality for a really budget price. Only peeve we had was housekeeping phones (loud!) that rang often in hallway, but never at night. Lovely find!

Room Tip: try and get a room that faces street (it's quiet) rather than into courtyard and stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levere384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Astoria Hotel
#103 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#113 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End Hotel
#107 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#119 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Suba Palace
#67 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Property: Chateau Windsor Hotel
Address: 86 Veer Nariman Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#48 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing