We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific location and accommodating staff”
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #63 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very pleasant hotel with comfortable rooms. The staff were accommodating with room requests and late checkout. A terrific location very close to restaurants, cafés, shops, Gateway of India. Good breakfast included, with efficient dining room staff. We appreciated the high speed, quality free wifi which allowed us to skype and email with family over the Christmas period.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LizandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views on Trip-advisor regarding our Hotel Suba Palace.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel's location is really magnificent: a two minute walk to the Gateway to india and the booming Cobala Market area.

Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very OK! The staff is very friendly and helpful. WIFI works good in the rooms!

What could be better, is the way to login to the WIFI network. Every time you want to reconnect, you have to re-login with a difficult username and password. Unnecessary complicated!

Lastly, there's no garden or terrace. No balconies either. Not many similar hotels seem to offer this, around the area.

In short, I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again, during my next Mumbay visit.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with balcony. Turned out, it's an indoor balcony. Quite funny, still practic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have mixed feelings about our stay at the Suba and like one...probably more reviewers have noted... "its hardly a Palace" but it does shine on some counts.
For us... the location is unbeatable... its exactly where you want to be for a few days of exploring a very interesting section (Colaba District) of the 20+ million people megalopolis that is Mumbai.
We loved Colaba.... the architecture,history,restaurants,marine drive, people,shops and much more made for a great 3 day wrap up to our 3 week India Trip.
Suba Pros: Location, clean, excellent breakfast buffet, staff service, room was sort of ok/good (air cond. was terrible and very noisy though!)

Suba Cons: Expensive(relative to other places/amenities in India we experienced), air cond. was awfull (maybe just bad luck with our particular room?),WiFi was a pain!(contantly had to relog back in), beds were just ok!

I would give it 3.5 stars overall if that was possible, but its not worth a 4 star rating imo.
I spent a fair bit of time looking for alternatives before staying here based on the mixed reviews but I couldn't find anything without spending a lot more money or worse location... so I guess the Suba wins by default. It got the job done.

The drive from the domestic airport to there( 1.75 hrs!) was tedious with traffic,noise and pollution and cost 450 rps(pretty cheap for all that pain!) with a black and yellow non ac cab paid for at the prepaid booth. The drive back to the International airport (1.25 hrs) was somewhat less tedious with traffic,noise and pollution and cost 800 rps for a better ac cab negotiated on the street.

Some Fun Highlites include : India Gate (day and night visits for great views,colours,people watching) , The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel... wow! (no, we didn't sit and drink $10 dollar teas but we did walk around inside like we belonged there ;-) , The Marine Drive... what a great people,sunset, skylines, general walking experience!

Bob

Room Tip: Our room was clean but just ok overall, Air cond was terrible and noisy, wifi was annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cat471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived in Bombay at around 4am. Check-in was super quick and easy and the hotel was just what we needed after a mega long journey. The staff were super friendly and efficient. The room was clean and had much needed AC. Breakfast was perfect and gave us a good mix of the indian cuisine and simple continental vibes. Location was perfect, really really close to the gateway and a short walk to good restaurants, bars and lots of cool places to visit. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSkelt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loud place - everything about the hotel was screaming. The staff is arrogant, the rooms are stinky, the occupants are noisy, people were bargaining at the lobby for tariffs, the buffer breakfast was cold and unappetizing

Room Tip: Stay away unless you have no place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeepaJayara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here twice, during our 4 week stay in India, when we toured, using Mumbai as a base, from just before Xmas to 17th January. It is only one of two hotels we stayed in India, and we stayed in many, which I've given 5 stars, for the following reasons.
The rooms are very clean and well equipped, with free tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary bottled water. This is not standard in other hotels, as we discovered. The fans and air con work well, the TVs are very modern, with a selection of English language channels. The bathroom is compact, but the shower was excellent and there was a wide range of good quality free toiletries, including tooth brushes etc. The beds were extremely comfortable, and there is also a safe in the room, which was very useful. Internet is free for one device in the room, and does work but at times is a bit slow, but that was an issue throughout India. The location is brilliant- in Colaba and very near the Gateway if India.
The staff were very welcoming- nothing was too much trouble, and the owner/manager was lovely with a great sense of humour and we shared many chuckles! Also, Jitesh, one of duty managers was just fantastic- such a courteous young man, who went out of his way to help us find places in Mumbai, even finding bus stops and particular buses. The doorman was very kind, and all the other staff were too.
The main selling point- Breakfast! We all thought we were in paradise. Excellent - different dishes every day and the potato puri was utterly divine. Lots of choice and all fresh and beautifully cooked.
We will be back and many thanks for making my trip to the land of my birth, after nearly 30 years absence, introducing this amazing country to my daughters, so positive. A lovely hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Ms. Alison,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel was superb. Its rooms aren't huge but then you don't get much for your money in this part of Mumbai. The location is the real winner and it was quiet at night (amazingly). The breakfast was excellent and the experience a very good one overall. We would return here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 465 in Mumbai
865 reviews
Colaba
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#92 of 465 in Mumbai
283 reviews
Colaba
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#96 of 465 in Mumbai
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#75 of 465 in Mumbai
486 reviews
Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#180 of 465 in Mumbai
164 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#123 of 465 in Mumbai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: £79 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing