We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Suba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Suba Palace
Ranked #69 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great hotel, on the best location ever.. 2 mn to the Gateway of India. Good rooms, nice and diverse buffet breakfast. Only 2 things not so good were that the wifi signal is weak in the rooms area and the AC is noisy and directly above the beds, which can be uncomfortable..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank carolvfonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    192
    85
    14
    17
See reviews for
78
142
47
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My stay here was terrible. I did not enjoy my 4 days that I spent there. Very disappointed. Advised staff we could not sleep as there was a loud noise in the room. They advised us the noise was coming from the fan in the lift and they will turn the fan down. Nothing was done about the noise. I had numerous incidents with this hotel and found my stay there the worst from all the other places that I visited.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Located in a good tourist destination. On arrival we told reception that out flight was at midnight & since checkout time is at 12:00, we enquired if we could freshen up before leaving the hotel. They told that they will see what they can do for us. However the hotel did keep our luggage when we went out for the afternoon. On returning we were tired & sweaty as Mumbai is extremely hot in April. We were told that we could use a small room next to reception which has 2 toilets and two handwash basins to freshen up. We were prepared to pay a fee for the use of the room just to use shower for that short time & we could not be accommodated. The last thing one needs is to endure a long and uncomfortable flight by feeling all so sweaty & miserable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pretty basic small hotel but the staff were helpful and the location is excellent for sight seeing and just walking around. You probably need to specify a double bed otherwise its singles. Overall we liked this place.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room with views of the streets to soak up Bombay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have traveled all around India this March, and we have never encountered hygienic deficits in any hotel where we stayed. Except here. I must say I am very tolerant and I do not get angry if I found some minor dust/stain and so on. But this time we found urine drops on the toilet seat and large stains on the bed sheaths. That was too much!
The personnel, moreover, was kind but not very prompt: as we entered the breakfast hall (we were the first guests to enter) 4 people of the staff stood there watching the TV, very idle, and they didn't greet us until we did (as we hadn't entered at all!).
The food was average (we had dinner there, too), with many libanese dishes (most of the clients of the Hotel were Arabs). Some things showed on the menu weren't available as we asked.
Only positive thing: the position, very central.

All in all, if it had been clean, it would have been a very average hotel, but all considered... We can't avoid giving it a poor rating!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joppino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My very first landing spot in India was Suba Palace and I'm so glad it was. It was very clean, very quiet, nicely decorated and perfectly central to all I wanted to see and do, besides, Colaba is kind of the happening spot, especially if you plan to visit cult famous Leopold's. As a single woman I felt extremely safe and the staff, while not always warm and fuzzy, were very helpful. I was able to safely and comfortably walk to many eateries and attractions in the area, and only a quick taxi ride to the major train stations.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet side street so I don't think you can go wrong with any room. The earlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTourMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views on Trip-advisor regarding our Hotel Suba Palace.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on previous trips. Location is perfect with the Gateway to India literally around the corner. There are a number of dining options nearby. Buffet breakfast has continental offerings and room service also caters for a wide variety of tastes. Staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mental57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsubapalace, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Suba Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your re-views regarding our Hotel Suba Palace on Trip-advisor.

Looking forward to see you again with your family and friends in near future.

Thanks and regards,

Reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#92 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#39 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#202 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#55 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#123 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#369 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suba Palace

Property: Hotel Suba Palace
Address: Near Gateway of India | Near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Suba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suba Palace Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing