We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai
Ranked #337 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ahmedabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“above expectations”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The staff the ambience the cleanliness the comfort everything here was perfect and above expectations, in short a total quality for value package and that too in vicnity of local station u can't ask for more

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank DineshSitlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    13
    18
    40
See reviews for
10
14
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I needed budget accommodations and at 17 bucks a day for a dorm I sprung.

The dorms are so-so, not the cleanest but not a horror story. bathroom was a bit dirty and I opted to shower in relatives bathrooms. No toilet paper, no towels. The sheets seemed dirty... But again it's 17 bucks a day so what do you expect.

I was supposed to move to a deluxe room when my father came but I ended up shifting to a local bed and breakfast which was much closer to where we were. I poked my head in the regular rooms and they seemed okay. And their luxury rooms are quite nice. But the nicer the room the higher in price and you may be able to find something nicer for the same price in a better location.

The lobby is very nice but they do charge for internet which was not what I booked online. They also have a luxury tax and my 6300 bill came to 7000 rupees with the added fees--at the end of the day no big deal about 15 extra dollars. They also have a restaurant which is also nice as well as a weird bar but they do serve booze so kudos.

The location is close to the train station but I did not have to use it as the rickshaws are pretty cheap and easy to get.

The area is a little dodgy but I wouldn't say dangerous as it borders the affluent suburb, Bandra.

Overall it's not as bad as the other reviews but any high maintenance people would not like it here.

The staff in my opinion was the best thing about the hotel. Very friendly and accommodating and even refunded me my nights when I checked out early.

Overall this is a decent place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: dorms are cheap -- other rooms are much nicer but also higher in price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45robertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Although the location was good, but service was awful. Forced to keep the bucket in the room to collect the water dripping from the AC. For everything you have to pursue. The only advantage is the location and price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AMITAVA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

do not stay here, i dont know who on earth can have given this place good reviews - maybe they were reviwing a different hotel ?! i stayed here for two nights as part of a pre-booked stop-over package. So where to start ?
dirty, tatty room, dirty linnen, dirty towel, dirty FILTHY hotel common areas, 'breakfast' - lack of crockery, cuttelry, glasses, questionable hygene standards of either white bread to toast, or parathas and curd, VERY bad hygine is apparent. opened bottles of water, dirty corckery, glasses ect that were there. Dirty gloomy 'dining room' in some sort of dismal dark basement area.
location is AWFULL, but only 200 meters from the train station so you can escape.
be warned - i pre paid as part of a stop over, i gave my hotel 'vouvher' tpo the sullen member of staff when i checked in, when i checked out they tried to charge me for my stay, i said i had paid, they asked for my voucher. I stood my ground and did not pay them !
there is supposed to be WIFI, but thye would not give me the code nad other guests said it was not working any way.
DO NOT STAY HERE ! ! ! !

Room Tip: do not stay here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellfishtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I was on an official trip for a week in Mumbai, was booked for this hotel however changed the another one the very next day.. NOTHING provided as per the menu is true.. When asked why, the room service responds saying we are not aware of any change it's the software that charges the price (how pathetic)
Forget the Welcome Drink, there is'nt a water jug in the room. The rooms were not checked properly before check in, the bed sheets had stains, the walls are cracked, no towels, no HOT WATER... Strongly suggest other travelers to look for other options..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipinT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

NOTHING provided as per what's mentioned here.

1) Safe - Room provided did not have a safe.

2) Welcome Drink- Nothing of this sort. There was no water jug in the room either. Had to order for water which apparently have to pay for. Rooms were not checked properly before check in. As mentioned no water, there were no towels and soap. Had to call for ever petty matter which the house keeping should have taken care of.

3) Fridge- Yes was there.. but no mini bar as mentioned.

4) Did not like the room allotted. The one I liked was of a little higher price, which I did not mind paying. But still this kind of service was also not expected after paying the difference. Top of this, since had done the booking through cleartrip, obviously had done the booking using my credit card. Payment was made for 2 nights, hotel must have received this amount for sure. Point is since the HOTEL's policy is to receive an advance payment, the room difference could have been easily accounted for and billed at the time of check out. The lady at the time of check in insisted to pay immediately. Also had requested for a airport transfer which the hotel said is chargable, this also could have been billed and cleared at the time of final settlement... this also was collected immediately. What kind of service is this??? Don't the hotel management trust guests???

5) Don't recollect how, one of the towels got stained. Hotel asked to me pay Rs.250.00 for cleaning. I instead paid them Rs.450.00 and bought the towel from them. I wonder if newly married couple would have to take care and sleep on a plastic sheet spread on the bed.

I AM NOT AT ALL HAPPY WITH THIS AN SHALL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANY ONE.

Room Tip: Not recommended. They are not fit to be a part of the hospitality industry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Sands71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed there for 21 days super luxury room with comfortable furniture and good room service.Value for money and had delicious food from their own fine dining restaurant located at ground floor.
Easy access to Bandra, Linking road Phoenix mills and Air Port.
Thanks for their superb service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing like 202,203,204 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
0.0 mi away
The UniContinental Hotel
The UniContinental Hotel
#361 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Red Palm
Hotel Red Palm
#347 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#201 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
277 reviews
14.5 mi away
Chakrika Lodging
Chakrika Lodging
#16 of 28 in Thane
10 reviews
8.7 mi away
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#372 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai

Property: Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai
Address: 3rd Road Next to Khar West Railway Station | 3rd Road, Khar Railway Station, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure to introduce Hotel Samrat, Mumbai. A centrally located family run budget hotel with luxurious rooms and personalized service at unbeatable rates. The Hotel is a Government of India - Tourism Department approved Hotel at Khar West in the heart of Mumbai. It has 30 well appointed AC Rooms (Including 4 Suite Rooms) with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, refrigerator with soft drink mini bar, attached bath, 24 hrs. running hot & cold water, call bell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing