We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
Ranked #2 of 383 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you are looking for luxury Elphinstone Annex is not the Place for you. Elphinstone is a nice very Clean situated in a old house in the harbour district in South east Mumbai. I lived here for 18 nights. The staff was very nihe and helpfull. The room was Clean and nice an there was all i needed. There is no restaurant, but just down the stairs there is four restaurants in the same building who servesb nice indian food. The hotel served breakfast on the room.
She street outside can be a Little bit noicy with all the traffic, but it was quite in the night time. It is Walking distance to the big CST station, and just over the Carnac bridge there is all the shopping you want at the markets.
If i come back to Mumbai Elphinstone Annes will be my choice again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    182
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
46
137
70
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utsunomiya, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel does not look like much from the outside but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.The room not facing the road is quieter than facing the road. There is good restaurant on the 1st floor. Totally I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykmyk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

By far the best value place I have stayed at in Mumbai. Location is decent enough that you can walk to CST train station, gateway of India, markets etc etc. Very cheap for rooms that are of an excellent standard. Felt like I was in a posh hotel and yet only paying about 1600 Rs a night including breakfast! Staff very polite and reasonably helpful. Certainly more helpful than other places I stayed in. The restaurant almost beneath the hotel is worth checking out if you don't want to stray too far for your meal. Just don't be put off by the exterior.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrythehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked for this hotel online after reading a few good reviews. I had stayed in hotel city palace on a previous trip, and whilst it was fine and cheap, thought i would spend a bit more for a nicer place to stay. I saw a few good reviews and thought I'd book it.

Turned out it wasn't as close to the Chhatrapati Shivaji terminus I had expected, but that was my fault really. It was about a 10 min taxi ride away. The outside doesn't look amazing, but you can forgive them for that. The problem I had was that on arrival we were given a very small room, crawling in bugs and it was, as a whole, not as the pictures had suggested. It was dark (no natural day light, which is a problem if you're trying to sync to a new time zone) and just a bit grubby. The bathroom was the worst bit though. It was very small, and apparently the showers in the whole building weren't working, so we had to wash with a bucket and cold water. Also, if you're a light sleeper like me, you're not going to get much sleep as the noise from the roads outside and music from a local restaurant is very loud. But then, i'm not sure there are that many cheap hotels in the city centre where you can avoid this!

If we were paying something more like 1000 rupees a night jobby (like the hotel city palace), I would have been fine, but this is by no means worth the £19.81 (1981 rupees) a night that we paid.

I'm sorry to have to write a bad review, but I did feel misled. On the up side, the staff were fairly helpful (although not willing to do anything or compensate us for the malfunctioning shower, which was annoying...). They sorted out a good price taxi to the airport and ensured that we had clean towels and that sort of thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Don't be afraid at the entrance! The building is terrible but inside the hotel is nice and clean. Recently renovated. The room was bjg with a big bathroom and a proper shower! A real exception here in india!!:) 2000rs per night for the suite victoria. A good price for mumbai especially being 10 minute drive from gateway of india!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Residency Hotel
#17 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,661 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#80 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kumkum
#76 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elphinstone Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elphinstone Annexe

Property: Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
Address: Sai Niwas, 149, P Dmello Road, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 383 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Elphinstone Annexe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Elphinstone Annexe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing