We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #62 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
San Jose, California
1 review
“Comfortable, clean and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The staff was very helpful and polite.
Rooms were well maintained, comfortable to sleep.
The food was very good.
Picked the hotel due to its proximity to Jaslok Hospital and central parts of Mumbai city.
Would live here again if visiting Mumbai on bussines trip again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear familytraveller20110

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    139
    67
    23
    19
See reviews for
139
100
83
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

A good location is just one of the first things brings me back to the hotel every time I visit Mumbai. Howevr, what is nice about this quiet little business hotel in the heart of Mumbai is thedelight it offers in it's well designed rooms which does come as a surprise- a pleasant one. The hotel is small but that doesn't come in the way of the comfort it offers. That easily compares with some of the biggies who might come at a much more fancy price.

Thre rooms are quite well appointed and the bathroom of the suite-like room where I stayed was perhaps one of the best in this class and size. However, the bar and pastry shop literally takes the cake. I would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuragy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear anuragy1

Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again on your future visits to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Rooms are clean very comfortable though small sized. hotel is excellently located though is bit steep for longer stays. but the service and staff have a lot to be desired. mineral water is not provided to the guests! which gave it a big thumbs down!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIBHOR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Vibhor_11

Thank you for providing us with a feedback of your stay with us.

We earnestly believe that guest feedbacks are the best tool to lead us into the future. As much as a positive feedback encourages us to perform better, a contrary feedback shows us where we have not matched guest expectation and create for us some scope for improvement. We do appreciate genuine feedback at all times.

If a guest consumes Evian and then expects the hotel to let it pass as regular packaged drinking water, it becomes a difficult proposition for us. Any service or product that is displayed in the hotel for sale, has a clear price, tagged to it and guests are expected to decide on how they wish to utilize the service. And once consumed, the service is bound to be charged.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had a very good time at the hotel shalimar.They gave warm and wonderful service at the hotel especially in the restaurant.We are staying for the first time with shalimar, staff over there were polite and they gave a elegant service during the entire stay.I personally recommended the hotel to my close friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shankaranarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Shankaranarayanan

Thank you for such a positive and encouraging feedback.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have also recommended this hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My work has taken me to various hotels across the country .This is one Hotel that I would like to visit again and again , and the reason being its HOSPITALITY.
As one enters , you are greeted with warmth and the great ambience just grips you.Once inside, a pearly White reception area instantly makes you pick great positive energy tucked in the Hotel.

I was delighted to see rooms with different themes.One can see efforts made to make the room special by paying attention to detailing.Wall Colour,textures,different artfacts, paintings ,etc all make you feel ...bliss.

Gulmarg, a nice compact dining area with great food choices.Being vegeterian I dont find pretty good choices, but not Gulmarg. Breakfast is a lavish spread of south Indian , North Indian and conti fare.No body can be disapponted. For dinner Biryani , tandoori paneer tikka , cold soup etc (burrp!!) is what I feasted on and I thouroghly polished off the generous portions.If one has the time ,go indulge in the compact aromatic bakery tucked at the end of the main lobby.Try the Date n Walnut cake ,cheese cake (recommended by the staff) they are something to die for.

Cleanliness , polite staff , instant room service and a super efficient satff is what I was treated with. What more could I ask for.

A little time in the evening gave me an opportunity to experience the divine spa called "SERENE". True to its word this spa is instant nirvana.It was amazing to experience the staff camaradrie to put me at ease and make me comfortable.The deep tissue massage was just what my body and minded needed.I have just one word DIVINE. Go indulge. :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flexifit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We would like to thank the guest for providing such a detailed feedback about his stay with us.

We have always believed that guest opinion is the best tool to give us indications of our efforts. To receive such an encouraging comment about one's stay with us provides us with a will to move forward, knowing that we are on the right track.

We hope to carry on with our efforts of providing our guests with more such memorable stays.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I had a short visit to Shalimar ... one of the best hotel i visted i must say .....
well maintained hygiene food
will suggest my friends & family to have a stay at shalimar.........


Keep up the good work ....... All the best....
& thanks for the warm welcome

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupesh123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We would like to thank the guest for such an encouraging feedback about his stay with us.

We have always believed in offering the best of Shalimar to all our guests. We look forward to receiving continued support and encouragement in our efforts to march ahead.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Me and my son were visiting Mumbai for couple of days and we chose to stay at the Shalimar hotel, near Kemps Corner. We were greeted with courteous staff members, check in was easy, and they took care of my luggage. We had no problems finding everything in the building. Our room was tastefully decorated, with bar and other goodies for kids. Bathroom was clean and met all our expectations. I must say that we felt at home the moment we entered the building.

Restaurant Gulmerg is a nice place to dine in, especially huge breakfast buffet is out of this world. The bakery serves fine deserts which was heaven for my son.

I was able to get to places I wanted to visit easily without getting stuck in Mumbai traffic. I recommend this hotel if you are in Mumbai and looking for place to stay.

Thank you Shalimar Hotel and the staff you all made our stay a memorable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55711Dave_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We would like to thank the guest for providing a feedback about his stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to our guests. Our success is reflected in the feedback and encouragement that we get with such acknowledgement of our efforts.

We hope to move forward and continue getting right directions to our ventures.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#37 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#68 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#86 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#60 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing