We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shalimar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$299
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
398
167
72
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
167
72
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastry shopkemps cornertraditional namastebutter chickensandwich barsouth mumbailifestyle suiteindian foodcomfort roomlobby levelcompact hotelpillow menulounge barthis lovely hotelrecommend this hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here during a family trip and it was a great experience. Great location in South Bombay! The staff was very courteous and we were greeted by every member we came across. They were very helpful when asked for advice and the transport was available upon request. Our room was quite comfortable, and had a very unique ambiance to it. Wi-fi connectivity was available upon request. We tried room service and it was very convenient. The parathas were very delicious as were the snacks. We enjoyed the chili cheese toast! The bar seemed to be playing good music as we were stepping on the lift. Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The suites are unique to every floor!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear n m

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the moments spent with us. We also appreciate your highlighting specific services and facilities and also for recognizing the efforts of our associates.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in a suite. While booking the hotel on the phone at 9 PM for the same day, it was confirmed to us by the staff that the room would be extended till 330 PM the next day.

We checked into the hotel at around 10 PM to find the bedroom of the suite smelling of dampness (this happens at inexpensive places during the monsoon in Mumbai). We immediately informed the reception of this problem who said that they would take care of it. After returning from dinner at around 1130 PM, we realised that housekeeping may have sprayed a freshener to subdue to smell of the damp environment. However, it wasnt any good.

On complaining again, the front office suggested that we should upgrade to a higher category suite at a higher price as there was nothing else that could be done at that time of the night!!!!
The other suggestion was to move to a lower category room without any additional cost - however the advance paid towards the rental of the suite would not be refunded! On further deliberation and arguments, we were thankfully moved to the higher category suite without any additional cost.

Mineral water was chargeable at the hotel. We therefore asked for filtered drinking water but were served mineral water. On questioning the room service delivery boy who delivered the water, he confirmed that the water was complimentary. However, after 10 minutes, we got a call from room service that mineral water chargeable and that we would have to pay for it if we had used it. From the 5 bottles delivered, we had used only two and our strong objection that we would not pay as we had not ordered it, the room service executive relented to provide the used bottles without any cost.

In the morning, as we were getting ready to get our breakfast (which as a part of the tariff charged), we realised that the water in the bathroom was not hot enough for a shower. We once again called up housekeeping and informed them of our problem. They said that they would send an engineer to solve the problem. However, when nobody turned up for about 15-20 minutes, we called up the front office to inform them that we were stranded in our room and that it would be difficult for us to go down as we were not able to get a shower. We requested that in the special circumstances, if it was possible for one of the restarant boys to deliver some of the food from the breakfast buffet to our room. We were told that it was not possible but we had the option to order for breakfast from room service on a chargeable basis!!!!!

Finally, at 315 PM as we were about to check out of the room packed with our luggage, we were shocked to receive a call from the front office to let us know that since we had exceeded our approved stay beyond 3 PM by 15 minutes, we would be charged for half a day!!!!

This came without any previous warning and that too after getting a confirmation from the booking staff to get the extension till 330 PM. We again had to go through a process of arguments before the matter was settled.

We had no peace of mind during the stay, all that we did was to prevent ourself from being looted and extorted out of our money in the 18 hours of stay that we had in this hotel.

Stay only if you dont care for your money!

Room Tip: Get rooms without carpets
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travista1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear equityvc

We thank you for providing us a feedback on your stay with us.

We were able to check through our records and understand a few points, which you had failed to highlight. You were shown the suite prior to check in, and our Front Office had explained to you regarding our Extended Check Out Policy. Every hotel company has its own policies and these policies are made with a sole intention to ensure a smooth flow of operations. We try our best to cater to every guest request, but, may not be in a position to honor every demand.

When you did communicate regarding your unpleasantness, you were shown two options that were available, as we were fully booked and you had just called and come into the hotel. Every room category has different rates and since you were particular about not wishing to pay anything extra, a complimentary upgrade was indeed extended to you.

You were also conducting interviews in the room, without informing the hotel, thereby putting our hotel’s security in a compromising situation, wherein non registered guests were given access to our guest floors.

Every service, which is chargeable is clearly defined and displayed and these charges are fixed on the basis of proper surveys conducted by professionals. Any service that is extended complimentary is at the discretion of the hotel and may depend on various factors.

We have been extending the highest possible level of hospitality to our guests and we are proud to state that we have been successful on most counts. We have been giving utmost attention to guest feedback and taking actions to upgrade our facilities and services. Further, the fact that we are at #30 out of 369 hotels in Mumbai as per Trip Advisor ratings is also a testament that our hotel is considered to be a very good property.

We look forward to your future visits and can work out rates as well.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

It was one night stay in this hotel , but very good Exp , with service and food of Hotel ,
I came heare for visa , near to hotel , It was such a good exp in this hotel , i recommanded to all . Have a fun

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md31783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear md31783

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We value guest feedback and opinion and have always tried our best to offer the best of Shalimar to every guest who pass through our corridors.

We also appreciate your recommending our hotel to your friends and colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you on your future visits to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights only and will surely recommend it and come back again. It's a value for money hotel. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms called Zen. Lovely room, very beautifully done and very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good. I also had dinner one night in the hotel-great food and service. Try the spa- very good and relaxing. I also got a chance to eat in the cute and small sandwich shop- absolutely super sandwiches.
All in all a very good hotel and surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Alena S

We appreciate your putting up a feedback about your stay with us.

We believe in offering the best of Shalimar to every guest who stay with us. We are pleased to note that you had a good stay and have highlighted various services and facilities that were available and you availed of.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My family enjoyed a lot in hotel by exploring the restaurants in breakfast and aslo in dinner.we loved it.it was very calm and fun stay.

Room Tip: the rooms have front sight.i loved it
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARANBHOSALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear KARANBHOSALE


We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the moments spent with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews