We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with nice location”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel with nice location”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent food options, Best location for your business, lesiure and tourism.
Rooms were decently renovated and spa was superb. Also, the staff was extremly courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors with renovated wings were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagdeep Singh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Jagdeep Singh M

We thank you for your feedback about your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    142
    69
    23
    19
See reviews for
141
103
83
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Shalimar. Our flight arrived at 4am, and when we reached the hotel to our surprise they had a room ready for us at no additional charge. Extremely friendly staff, very attentive and make you feel very comfortable amidst the chaos which Mumbai offers. The bakery shop is absolutely delicious and up to European standards. As well, the rooms are a good size and offer all desired amenities. The controllable a/c allows one to stay in a comfortable cool room temperature without feeling as if they will catch a cold. The only set-back we found was that sometimes Taxi drivers had trouble locating the hotel, so I would recommend to get clean instructions from the front desk (for example, it is located at Kemp's corner). Other than that, if your looking for a comfortable, clean hotel and not looking to spend an outrageous amount then this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter8785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Jetsetter8785

We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay with us.

Our employees are definitely our greatest asset and your recognition of their efforts will boost their morale a great deal and help them to continue to perform better.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

South Mumbai is an upscale location and this hotel is a boutique hotel in an upscale location. Comfortable hotel. The hotel has an interesting art gallery as part of it's lobby which I found quite fascinating. The spa was very relaxing and nice. I stayed in a newly renovated room, had all the modern amenities and very comfortable beds.The Indian food was very good. A must try is the sandwich shop- freshly made delicious sandwiches especially when one is on the go. Very good and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aditi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear aditi77

We thank you for your feedback about your stay with us.

We have put in our maximum efforts to provide the best of Shalimar to every guest and being appreciated for the same goes a long way in boosting our morale further.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

It was a truly pleasurable experience! The staff were so helpful when I arrived late and helped me with some stuff I had forgotten to pack. The interior of my room was very tasteful and thoughtfully designed. It's a must recommend for any traveller in Mumbai. Centrally located and they have cars on hire to take you everywhere with very knowledgeable front office staff to guide you.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites they are theme wise and fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We dell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear We dell F

We thank you for providing a feedback about your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant and memorable experience with us. With constant renovations and refurbishments that we carry out, we try to provide the best possible facilities to our guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We were both 25 years old and we spent our first Honeymoon at THE SHALIMAR HOTEL on December 14,15 & 16 1964. To be honest, we don't remember much about those three days !!! We proceeded to MAHABALESHWAR after the three days stay.

Forty seven years have passed and we landed at THE SHALIMAR HOTEL, at Kemp's Corner again on April 20, 2012 from Chicago, Illinois, USA. We had choices of a lot of Hotels in Mumbai , but we decided to stay at THE SHALIMAR HOTEL, after studying their excellent Web Site on the Internet.. We immediatly registered our e-mail with the hotel and got a welcome e-mail back from their General Manager, Manoj Mathews. The Web Site did bring back some memories of our last visit !!!

We entered the Hotel at midnight and were surprised to see the Security arrangements. We went through a metal detector and the security personnel were very pleasant. They greeted us with a traditional "Namaste". Incidently, the owner of the hotel, Dinesh Advani happened to be still working hard at that hour and greeted us in the Lobby. The Check-In was painless. The Front Office staff had a smile on their faces. Our bags were in the room when we got there. We had requested a Handicap & No smoking room -- No problem --. Manoj Mathews, welcomed two tired souls with some fruit, a chocolate cake from the Pastry Shop and a bottle of fine Indian wine. The hotel is centerally located and is 15 minutes from the main business district, Nariman Point, Churchgate, Cuffe Parade, Colaba and CCI Club. Worli, Phoenix Mall, Mahalaxmi Race Course, Haji Ali, Mahalaxmi Temple, Wellington Club and the Turf Club are 15 minutes towards the North side.

We have traveled in 44 States out of 50 in the USA several times and seen half of the world. We have stayed in many many hotels. The SHOWER I had in the morning was the BEST -- The spray was intense and relaxing. We were in the "COMFORT" designated room. The ammenities in the room compared as well or better than any 4-star hotel. We noticed that the controls for the TV and AC were different. The staff was at our room in a couple of minutes to explain us the controls. The room had a good view and we could get a peek of the Arabian Sea. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The outside temperature was 93*F or 34*C.during the day. We set the AC temp at 22*C and were very comfortable.

We looked forward to the Breakfast Buffet every morning at the Gulmurg Restaurant. We could order a white egg omlette or a Masala Dosa. There were tons of different dishes to choose from at the Buffet table. We also had a lot of dinners at the Gulmurg The food was delicious and the service was superb. Our waiter, Santosh took very good care of us. We always ended our dinner with a "Mastani Kulfi" from the dessert menu. NICE.

We used the hotel Business office to get on to the internet. Front office staff member , Dushant was very helpful.

Overall our experience at THE SHALIMAR HOTEL was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to our friends & family without any hesitation.

Just TWO small suggestions. Firstly, increase the wattage of the bulbs in the Elevator. It's too dark for Senior citizens. Secondly, the BIG Plants in the Gulmurg Restaurant should be replaced with small flower plants. They are obstructing the beautiful view.

We are looking forward to spending our Fifteeth Wedding Anniversary at THE SHALIMAR HOTEL in 2014, GOD WILLING !!!!

PREM & MONA
wibi7639@sbcglobal.net

Room Tip: THE "COMFORT" designated room is just the right size for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Prem W

We thank you for providing us a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had yet another memorable stay with us, forty seven years after your first one. It was indeed our pleasure that you chose to come back after several years and stay with us.

We have made note of your observations and will positively work on the same.

We look forward to your continued patronage and hope that you will be able to celebrate your Golden Jubilee with us.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Very good hotel. very good service. I really liked the rooms and the way all aspects have been looked into. The comfortable beds, the super bathrooms, the linen, in short everything was nice. The food was very good in the restaurant. Just wish the breakfast a little more elaborate, but as the manager explained there was shortage of space in the restaurant. One can understand space is premium in Bombay. I loved the cute little sandwich shop and the sandwiches were excellent. The pastry shop looked good and was always crowded my 2 days there but the stuff looked good. The bar was buzzing on one of the nights I was there- there was some offer. And very well done. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear MK9973

We thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to offer the best of Shalimar to every guest. Guest feedback has been one of the greatest source that has helped us to continuously improve our facilities and services.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kpath2011
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

In our trip to Mumbai this year we stayed at the Shalimar Hotel for the duration of some 26 days. At first we stayed at the newly remodeled Mediterranean suite for 3 nights. This suite is cozy, beautifully decorated and one of the best showers with rain settings etc. Very comfortable bed, 2 big TVs, with a separate front living room area, a little breakfast table area, we simply slept and rested to recover from jetlag. This was perfect because of the 7th floor location and quietness of the room. We most certainly recommend this suite for one the best that we have seen in hotels in Mumbai.
Rest of the time we stayed in a room on the fourth floor, which too was great as we absolutely, loved staying there while working in Mumbai. The staff and service are high quality, with everyone speaking very good English, as well as, the front desk staff went out of their way many times to look into helping us with a few things that we needed help with. We ate many great breakfasts at the Gulmurg Hotel, where we got to know managers Mr. Aaron, Mr. Ravi, Mr. Avinash, as well as, regular staff such as Rao, Santosh, Arun, who took care of our dietary needs and special requests of ‘non spicy’ meals. The chefs at Gulmurg are experts at making a variety of dishes that are great in taste and flavor without too much ‘Masala’ or spices.
We had guests and business associates who came to spend time with us at the hotel when we enjoyed going to the Bar or dinning at Gulmurg, and we felt at home hosting our friends at the hotel since the staff is extremely friendly and resourceful. We thank everyone in higher management at the Shalimar hotel for making it a very memorable stay for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpath2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear kpath2011

We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay with us.

We have always believed that our staff are our greatest asset and the effort that you have taken in identifying them by name is truly an acknowledgment of our efforts. These words definitely would add to the morale of our team.

We look forward to your continued patronage, support and encouragement.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#32 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#84 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#39 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
651 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#158 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing