We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shalimar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$218
US$206
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$176
US$134
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$153
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort(Mumbai)
US$152
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
397
167
72
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
167
72
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastry shopkemps cornertraditional namastebutter chickensandwich barsouth mumbailifestyle suiteindian foodcomfort roomlobby levelcompact hotelpillow menulounge barthis lovely hotelrecommend this hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had stayed their for two weeks. Hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Mumbai. Rooms are clean. Food is good.

I did not find staff to be very professional. There is no hotel wise policy on anything. It depends on who is at the reception. I received complimentary Wi-Fi one day, next day it was denied (There was another staff member), I again got it the day after. First week I received the hotel guest discount on food in the restaurant. Next week it is not available for no specific reason.

But overall I would say in Mumbai city this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijaySharma_CFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear VijaySharma_CFA

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We thank you for the positives that you have highlighted about the hotel. We have made note of your observations regarding the unprofessional approach of some of our staff. We do take efforts in ensuring staff are trained to handle requests in a most professional manner. In your case, there seems to be some communication error, as services being extended to guests on a complimentary basis or otherwise are clearly updated in our records. I am sure this is a one off case.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Would recommend this hotel to any traveller for South Mumbai. With the traditional namaste welcome to the lovely white lobby to the good comfortable rooms this hotel is unique. And very good value for money. Considering this is South Mumbai. Recommended to us by friends staying close by and we were very happy. The food was exceptionally good , again told to us by our friends who dine in the restaurant very often. The pastry shop and sandwich shop were 2 very small and cute outlets serving great stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeladp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear angeladp66

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that you were recommended to this hotel, by your friends and we have extended a warm and hospitable experience to you.

We do look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel indeed is very good. The service was very good. The hotel is in very god condition, the rooms are spacious and modern with all modern facilitates. The location in South Mumbai is upscale and very nice. Lots of shopping around close by. Try the pastry shop- absolutely divine. The spa also was very good. Decent breakfast spread and the Indian cuisine was very good. The staff were exemplary, very helpful. I will recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Cathy T

Thank you for the time that you have taken to provide a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to others.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a very good four star hotel in an excellent location in South Mumbai.

The room we had was clean and comfortable, but nothing special. The food in the hotel is excellent. The breakfast offers a limited but adequate choice of Indian and Western dishes. I have reviewed the Gulmarg restaurant separately as excellent.

Generally the service was very good, we did, however, experience a attitude and service problem with one staff member at reception. This related to a problem with the WiFi connection, a service that you have to pay for. The staff member concerned inferred that I did not know what I was doing. In the end, after involving a technician, it took a whole morning to resolve the problem. The communication around the resolution of the problem was also very poor. We did provide feedback to the management and it was acknowledged.

We trust that the service issue has been addressed and will therefore definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room in the middle of the hotel to limit any street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertusJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear BertusJHB

Thank you for the time that you have taken to provide us a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to every guest. Our team members are given regular training to offer exemplary service to our guests. Your observation on this incident at Reception might be a one-off case and am sure it would not be a regular situation.

We definitely look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I must say this hotel impressed me. It's a 4 star hotel but barring a pool everything baout this hotel is 5 star. The rooms are nice, very well done and the room I was staying in was spacious. The toilets were enat and clean. The food especially the Indian was amazing. Lovely location, good shopping close by. I really enjoyed the delicious treats in the pastry shop. Recommeded hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Richard A

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay here and have carried back fond memories with you. We thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews