We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good hotel”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location and good hotel”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October on a business trip to Mumbai.We had prebooked our room online so when we arrived we found our room had twin beds and we wanted a double.The hotel was very helpful and they gave us a room with a double bed right away.The breakfast was lovely.The room service as well as the restaurant were excellent.The location of the hotel is was very convenient for us as most of our work was around the area and Grant road.We didnt have much time to sight see but did visit the Babulnath Temple, which is a 10min walk from the hotel.
Overall it was a lovely, compact little hotel, perfect for our business trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear MarkResh

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay and have carried back fond memories.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    147
    70
    23
    19
See reviews for
143
104
85
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was moving homes recently and required a hotel for three nights. My office booked the Shalimar Hotel near Kemps corner. It was the perfect choice as it was easy to reach. The check in was easy and immediate as was the check out. Both rooms, one a suite( Greece) and the other a double were excellent having appeared to have been recently renovated. Important things for me were taken care of....The showers were powerful, the mattress very comfortable, Large Televisions with good TV channels, and the Greek Suite was different and very neatly set up making it comfortable and easy to be in. The food specifically the Indian food (Butter Chicken, Kebabs and Naan) was delicious. No complaint with the service and the courteous good mornings and good afternoons by the staff. The kids loved the hotel and the food too specifically the breakfast spread. Great value and a good choice for south Mumbai.

Room Tip: The Suites are great and not much more expensive. Double rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyaz Ratan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear ReyMumbai

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful and satisfying stay with us and have carried back several fond memories. We have six theme based Lifestyle Suites based on various countries. We have also put in maximum efforts to ensure the comfort levels of a guest.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location cant get any better, but the rooms are just too tiny! There is hardly any view and from that tiny window, sunlight barely travels through. The hotel is maintained and cleaned with friendly staff. The breakfast is good, however if you go little more than half an hour BEFORE the breakfast ends, the staff is eating food at a table next to you, with barely one person catering to the customers. Apart from that, good safe place to stay in South Mumbai

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Punit29

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note the positives that you have highlighted about our hotel, but a little surprised with the “tiny” description of our rooms. Our room sizes are within specified standards that are laid down by the Department of Tourism, which classifies hotels in India. And the Smart Room that you stayed in clearly mentions a Queen Bed in the room.

The “staff” you refer to are indeed our Executive & Managers, who have been permitted to have their Breakfast at or towards the close of Breakfast time for guests. On a rotation basis, one of them checks the standard before the start of the Breakfast. From time to time, we also do a surprise checks in the midst to ensure the standards are maintained. At no time, would you find the managers or executives occupying tables, whilst guests have to wait their turn. This practice has helped us in terms of giving us an opportunity to interact with guests to understand their satisfaction levels and also to monitor the breakfast service. The feedback is discussed in our meetings to take service standards to the next level.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had work in Lower parel part of Mumbai, so this hotel was quite conveniently located. And far more affordable than the big 5 stars.
Though this hotel is classified as a 4 star, everything about this hotel was excellent. I loved the white lobby, really soothes your senses. The bar was a nice place to hang out at, and meeting some old friends 2 nights at the bar sure brought back some old memories of our college days. I stayed in a Zen room, perfectly suited for the single traveler. The room though a bit compact but was absolutely perfect. Tastefully done and lovely colors The bathroom was perfect.
Try the Bakery in the lobby- very good. The Indian food was very good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear minnie o

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing us a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to our guests. Your words indicate that we have been successful in our efforts and it also motivates us to continue with such efforts. It is a pleasure to note that you have carried back fond memories of your stay.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I would like to recommend this hotel by any traveler to Mumbai. The staff were very polite and humble. The ice Tea at the break fast was excellent. The Room Service and Laundry could be a bit reasonable price. Otherwise it's an excellent Hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Comfort Room was very nice with Kind Size Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HusseinChakera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear HusseinChakera

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had stayed their for two weeks. Hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Mumbai. Rooms are clean. Food is good.

I did not find staff to be very professional. There is no hotel wise policy on anything. It depends on who is at the reception. I received complimentary Wi-Fi one day, next day it was denied (There was another staff member), I again got it the day after. First week I received the hotel guest discount on food in the restaurant. Next week it is not available for no specific reason.

But overall I would say in Mumbai city this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijaySharma_CFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear VijaySharma_CFA

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We thank you for the positives that you have highlighted about the hotel. We have made note of your observations regarding the unprofessional approach of some of our staff. We do take efforts in ensuring staff are trained to handle requests in a most professional manner. In your case, there seems to be some communication error, as services being extended to guests on a complimentary basis or otherwise are clearly updated in our records. I am sure this is a one off case.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#31 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#68 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#155 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#80 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing