We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort on a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #61 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a suite for a night, and the quality of the accommodations was surprisingly good for the price we paid. The bed was king-size and wonderfully comfortable - important when you're fighting jet lag and every minor discomfort is amplified. The food on the room service menu was exceptionally good. The one thing I would warn others is of the smoking floors. If you don't specifically ask for a non-smoking room, you may be assigned a smoking one (as we were) and the air is practically unbreathable. The staff was helpful in reassigning us though and everything was uphill from there.

Room Tip: Non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear tripper28

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back some fond memories. Guest feedback and suggestions have helped us over the years to reach where we are today.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    139
    67
    23
    18
See reviews for
137
98
83
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel I stayed years ago, probably 10-12 maybe more, cannot remember. I don't visit this part of Mumbai, but this time I had to go to this part of town because of an old friends family wedding. When he mentioned Shalimar, I said yes immediately. It was a nice hotel even then. This time I stayed after many years and I must say it's a classic. I did come to know the hotel recently celebrated their golden jubilee. Congratulations to the team. The lobby was pristine. Good accommodation, super comfortable beds and the food as I remember from those days was again very good. Good work by the management.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPR162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear RPR162014

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing us a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to have been your choice after several years and also happy to note that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us once again.

We did celebrate our Golden Jubilee two years back and our efforts have always been to provide service of the highest order to all our guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visiting Mumbai after 19 years, I decided to stay at the Shalimar as it was in close proximity to all the people and sites that I had planned to visit. The hotel is centrally located and very close to many popular places in the city. I was extremely pleased with the front desk service - the staff was very professional, courteous and helpful. They were very knowledgable about the city and always suggested the best ways to get around town. I was visiting from the US and was so pleased with this level of service.

The rooms were newly renovated and spacious. There was a very nice desk where I used to read the papers while drinking coffee in the mornings. I have to say that I had some of the best naps at the hotel as the beds were so comfortable! Bathrooms were also very clean and modern. The showers were top notch with very good water pressure. All in all, I got off to a perfect start to each day at the Shalimar as I prepared myself for an adventurous day roaming the streets of Mumbai.

The food at this hotel is amazing! They have the best Butter Chicken that I've had in the world. I highly recommend it - I must have had it 4 times in my 3 day stay there. The food menu is top notch - both room service and at the actual hotel restaurant. Local Mumbai residents that I knew also ate at the hotel with me and was raving about the food. Room service staff is also extremely polite and food does not take long to arrive, which is not what I've experienced in most big city hotels, be it in the US, Europe or other parts of Asia.

I always had my breakfast there rotating my choices between the South Indian dosas and Idlis and English breakfast with eggs and toasts. The food choices doesn't end there - there is also a bakery in the lobby which has great snacks and cakes that were very rich in taste.

Needless to say, I could have spent most of my time napping at the hotel and just eating there as it was probably the best food that I had during my whole stay in Mumbai.

To put it in perspective, this hotel has all the amenities you need while still maintaining a very strong sense of "Mumbainess" in it.

I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Mumbai and highly recommend this as a first choice based on the top notch service, cleanliness, spacious rooms, comfort, food quality and variety. Above all, I would recommend it because of the great staff that made my stay in Mumbai a highly enjoyable one.



  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DushantNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear DushantNYC

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us in such minute detail.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. We have considered guest feedback and suggestions in a great way to upgrade our facilities and services. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers, who are likely to visit Mumbai city.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I enjoyed this hotel. Good value especially when you don't want to stay in a 5 star hotel. We also chose this hotel because of old friends of my husband who live close to this hotel. They recommended this hotel as they eat in their restaurant sometimes. And I must say the local Indian food was very good. Nice rooms, comfortable and modern with good facilities. The pastry shop was very good. The service right from the beginning until we checked out was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM111175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear SAM111175

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our facilities, services and food.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed here once before and this was my second stay. Excellent in all ways. Very comfortable rooms, great washrooms. The food especially the Indian food and the pastry shop are just excellent. Decent breakfast spread, though more variety always welcome especially when your not rushed.
The bar was nice and modern. Quiet and friendly service. My only regret is that I did not try the spa, the spa menu looked very inticing. Overall I liked this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear PT111

Thank you for the time that you have taken to provide us with a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Return visit to the hotel and reassurringly received the same excellent welcome and service throughout my stay. Tried the sandwiches in the pastry shop and found them to be very good.
The restaurant was running a food festival of Kashmiri cuisine which is very different from the usual food festivals and was an interesting experience. The overall experience was as good as my previous visit and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel which is excellent value for money. The hotel also has a spa which i did not try but hope to do so at the next visit. The artwork in the lobby was different from my previous visit and is a very innovative way of showcasing local artists. My compliments to the management team for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors towards the rear or south side of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DYD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear DYD_11

Thank you for your continued patronage and once again sharing your observations and feedback with us.

We do plan events and festivals from time to time at our hotel and Kashmir Food Festival brought a renowned chef into our midst. We constantly strive to keep adding variety to our offerings to ensure guests have a very satisfying experience.

We look forward to your continued support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel is located in good location and their service was very impressive, but we had a little problem with their WiFi connection. The bar and restaurant in the hotel was also excelent. This place is recommneded for your stay in Mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suthipong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Suthipong

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. We thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#39 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#71 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#92 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#58 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing