We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FORT - MUMBAI”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #127 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Grafton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FORT - MUMBAI”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Beautiful old hotel... full of character and charm...water view and balcony... large clean room and clean bathroom... the Fort area is a great location full of historic beautiful buildings... easy to get out and about to explore beyond this full of life part of Mumbai...Wifi worked great for my five day stay... staff extremely professional and very obliging... included free buffet breakfast a great start to my day...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewcambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to tell us about your experience.

Your comments have given us immense satisfaction and I'm glad you enjoyed the well spread breakfast, room interiors, staff friendliness and experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Assuring the best of our services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
26
31
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel was good but there was no ventilation fue to which there was a pinching smell of fungii all over. Service, locality and room was very good. Nice creativity done with a small area. Fine and cheap place to stay for overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Mr Atul,

Thank you for taking time out to share with us about your recent visit to our hotel.

We would like to apologize from our part where the smell was concerned and have put measures in place to prevent this from occurring again.
Your comments have given immense satisfaction and we are glad you enjoyed the room interiors and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Warm Regards,

Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Slave Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Outdated decor, terrible Internet, and not great value for the money. I understand Mumbai prices are high, but I did not feel this place was worth the money. Room was large but windowless and musty. Internet never worked in any one of the 5 mornings I was there- staff said it was due to the monsoon which seems questionable. I needed to deal with family issues back home so this presented a big problem. The 2 log in limit in a room for 3 is not adequate.On the plus side, rooms were clean and location is good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end. We are undergoing major overhauling changes in respect to the hotel and will be completely revamped in a couple of months time.We apologize for the Wi-Fi internet facility but during that period we have confirmed that there was genuine problems with our service provider.We have also increased the log in limit with reference to your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Regards,

Manager,

Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Grand here is a vision statement that this hotel will not attain. It is a far cry from what it used to be. Definitely, rooms are re-done. Bathrooms are spotless and clean. The rooms are big, yet the facade of the rooms has not changed. They could do well to get an architect and close the roof opening in the middle of the hotel. Mumbai is not known for its pleasant weather.

Bed is semi-comfortable. They could use fabric softeners on sheets used on the bed and especially on towels, which were thickened and uncomfortable to use. Housekeeping has a sense of humour. They turn everything off and expect you to play "find the switch" for TV and all equipment that they have. They had placed remote control neatly on a box that said "Do not keep anything on top for ventilation" !!!!

Location is nice. Away from the hustle bustle of Fort but not too far. Not too many eating choices nearby unless you are walking to PM Road or thereabouts.

The nice thing is complementary internet. For some reason, the hotel thinks once device is all that we use these days. If you login on one device, the other one gets logged off. Luckily, it says so and does it.

Be wary of their site as the site gave me Rs 3881 plus tax going to Rs 4500 but they charged me Rs 4500 plus taxes. I could not prove 3881 as their reservation system insists on printing things in US$ rather than INR which is the currency I chose. Reservation site is not trustworthy. Front desk staff are nice but they were convinced that I was out ti cheat them instead of checking their own website.

Room service varies between limited to non-existent. Quailty of the food presented was very poor. Complementary water was not given on check-in. I had to walk to a neighbouring restaurant go get water at Rs 18/-. The hotel chart says they charge Rs 64/- for a bottle of water even though they may be serving it 1/2 hr to 1 hr late !!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel,Mumbai !

Thank you for your valuable time taken to tell us about your experience of the hotel .We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end.

We apologize for the open atrium in the middle of the courtyard in the interior of the Hotel , but this cannot be changed since this how Grand Hotel was built by the original architect George Wittet dating back to 1920 in what it used to be and will continue to be as major changes to heritage buildings come under the inspection of the Mumbai Heritage Conservation Committee which would bring serious problems to the hotel.

We have taken note of your valuable feedback relating to our housekeeping/laundry services especially our linen upkeep.We have also instructed our H/K personnel to take care of placement of electronic equipment to prevent devices from getting electronically exhausted.

Our internet portal allows 2 users/devices per room to log in for access , clearly which was not conveyed to you on your arrival to the hotel . The front office staff has been briefed and notified to convey this message so that our patrons are not under any misinterpretation.

The rates that we offer was the correct rates charged to you by our Front Office staff as Rs 4500 is our single deluxe room rate which is consistent on all our online platforms. It is our constant practice to ensure parity over all our online platforms.We are currently hosting our reservations page with Agoda , however this is a temporary arrangement as the hotel will be having its own gateway in a couple of months time which will streamline the entire booking process and giving no opportunity to point out inconsistencies (if any)

We have pulled up our F&B department highlighting the concerns brought to light by you during your stay and rest assured you will find a major difference in each concern pointed out by you.However price of water will vary from place to place and hotel to hotel as price is determined by many factors such as infrastructure, ambiance , location , services offered etc from organisation to stand alone shops/ restaurants.

We have reviewed and noted your feedback with our staff and have put methods in action to prevent further inconsistency in our service to you in future and rest assured we will not provide you any opportunity to disappoint in your stay with us in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Hotel recently and, despite going with the attitude that we shouldn't expert western standards, we left disappointed.
The room was clean, if a little basic, and poorly serviced - we had to ask almost daily for toilet paper, soap, towels etc - and the response to any request for maintenance was slow.
Breakfast was simple to the point of meanness - toast (with 'mixed fruit jam' - yuk!), scrambled egg (on request, we eventually found out) and the poorest coffee was about it... The hotel advertises a restaurant and bar. These do not exist.
Considering its location and the lack of services and amenities, this hotel is very expensive.
What made it more expensive still was the theft FROM OUR ROOM of my wife's wedding ring. This was followed by the most indifferent response from the hotel management.
WE WON'T BE BACK.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenPark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel, Mumbai!

Thank you very much for your comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for your feedback.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end where our Housekeeping services are offered. We have have taken your example and have put stringent processes in place to prevent incidents like this in the future,

On hearing on the theft from your after check out we immediately dispatched our team to check every corner of the room and were not successful in finding the ring.In spite your best efforts to provide a cash incentive to our employees we were amazed to find that there was no response from our end clearly indicating no evidence of theft.Our security personnel were questioned and tapes were scrutinized all leading to no evidence or proof of theft.

However to our guests we have made a provision for guest valuables such as a safety deposit locker in the front office and in-room safes , we would urge you in future to make use of these facilities to prevent any further valuables to be misplaced by you.

Given the fact we have advertised of a restaurant & bar , we can assure our patrons that our restaurant is fully functional and the latter due to recent renovations is going through license approvals with the state excise department which should be approved in couple of weeks time.

We have noted your feedback on our Breakfast buffet and will be making sure certain items will be added/changed.

We apologize for the inconsistent services that have been offered to you and will make sure on your next visit we will not provide you an opportunity to find any fault with the Grand Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to CST, and the location is very good. Ballard Estate is very interesting and, as someone else mentioned, perfectly safe to explore. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony. The bathroom was on the small side, but the shower worked well. The restaurant was a disappointment; we enquired as to when they stopped serving and were told 10pm, however, at 8pm, when we tried to go for supper, we were told the restaurant had closed. Breakfast was somewhat disappointing too, so maybe they were having problems in the kitchen when we were there!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have the best views, however the lift/elevator only goes to the floor bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel, Mumbai!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback especially about our rooms.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Thanks & Regards,

GRE,
Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at the Grand for five nights at the beginning of February. We arrived very early in the morning and were met by a very helpful young man - Rajesh Thakus - and his assistant. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony looking out over the docks to the sea. The room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable, the safe and t.v. worked and the bathroom was spotless. All the rooms seem to be cleaned, when not occupied, by stripping them of all furniture and curtains etc. and thoroughly cleaning walls, floors and windows. In fact the whole hotel appeared to be spotless. The breakfast was more than adequate (eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, juice, one or two Indian dishes and very slow toast. My only complaint would be about the coffee which was awful. The hotel dates from the 1920's and is very interesting in itself. The area round the hotel is quiet and safe in the evening and it is easy to walk to the main train station, The Gateway of India, the museums and art galleries and lots of restaurants including The Marhesh Lunch Home, the Khyber, The Britannia, and Cafe Universal on S.B. Singh Road. (Which is great for a beer and a light lunch). Taxi fares are very cheap from the hotel and if the young men at the front of the hotel can't get one for you just walk up to the main road and stop one there. We felt safe at all times - day and night - in this area, especially on Sunday when all the boys are out on the wide streets playing cricket.We had a great time at this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all the staff, especially Rajesh who was unfailingly helpful and cheerful even in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsteacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to tell us about your experience.

Your comments have given us immense satisfaction and I'm glad you enjoyed the well spread breakfast, room interiors, staff friendliness and experience.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Regards,

FOM
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.0 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#68 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#105 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#122 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#227 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 17 Shri S R Marg | Ballard Estate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the magnificent stone facade lie finely appointed rooms and suites, aesthetically designed conference halls, a gourmet restaurant, thirst quenching bar, amongst other conveniences. Each one is simply yet tastefully decorated. However, it is service more than architecture, which ensures that or customers always return with a smile. Our philosophy is dedicated wholly to customers comforts. Well attired attendants to fresh flowers and good food that transform intimate dinner into Grand memories.Grand Hotel offers various amenities like 24 hour room service , quick check-outs and a central location. Ringed by the port and naval establishments on one side, the land fans our from here to encompass the city's major government and civic centres. Railways, post & telegraphs, art galleries, the museum and other important establishments lie within close proximity of an arc of a mere kilometre of Ballard Estate.Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Ballard Estate which is one of the commercial hubs of Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing