We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #92 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great room, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Ascot Hotel for 6 nights in early January 2014 and, generally, we were pleased with our choice.

The Colaba location of the hotel was brilliant as was the spaciousness and general level of comfort of our deluxe room. The only qualifications to the accolades that I would venture are that, for the price paid for the room (we paid about $AUD170 per night), the service levels were a bit 'hit and miss' (i.e. some staff were very good whilst others were not very attentive or well meaning but somewhat disorganised) and the access to wi fi in your room expensive and guest internet facilities (namely, a lap-top where guests are requested to use only to check their emails) less than the standard expected of a hotel charging the prices that it did.

In summary, this is a good hotel though, in my opinion, its deluxe rooms are overpriced. I rated the hotel 'very good' above because there was no 'good' rating facility available and it would have been unfair to rate it as 'average'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    135
    22
    5
    16
See reviews for
47
127
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for four nights in February 2014. The hotel is just round the corner from the Gateway to India and the Taj Hotel. From our base here we were able to walk to all the main sights in the centre on Mumbai and only used a taxi for the distant ones. Even walking to the other coast only takes 20 minutes or so.
The hotel itself does have large bright well decorated rooms some with a balcony. We were given a suite that had virtually everything including two TV's. The bed was large and comfortable and the a/c worked fine.
The service and breakfast were both good.
Nice hotel in an excellent location.
For dinner we used Mondegars just down the road - excellent food, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was my 8th visit to Mumbai and 7th stay at the Ascot Hotel. This is a small Boutique hotel in the tourissy Colaba area. I have been to many countries and many hotels all over the world but this hotel stands out from all hotels I've stayed at including the big brand names & 5 stars.The staff are the friendliest , they make you feel at home from the time you check in to checking out time. The rooms are huge and very modern and staff are always ready to help and respond literally within in seconds of requesting anything. I'm loathed to put this message out to other tourists who will definitely flock this hotel , afraid that I will not get a booking. But hey ...these guys are great and deserve this compliment to be published. Thank you for a great stay, especially to Mr Menezies and his team. THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here in Dec for 4 nights. The location is excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They would go out of their way to help. We felt very comfortable staying there. The rooms are huge, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms. Breakfast was simple but the service was good. Main attractions like Gateway, Jehangir art gallery, Prince of Wales museum, and many more are in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Bit late in my review for this place as has been a few months.
Ascot is well located in Colaba and you can walk around the whole area from the Hotel with no problems. We had 3 nights here. The room was very big, good A/C and very nice bathroom. Hige comfy bed Staff were friendly and helpful.
My only problem was the internet access that I had to buy did not work the entire time and the woman working the counter could only tell me that it "should work"....not very helpful.
Plus the breakfast was disappointing...I was hoping for Idli and Dosa etc for breakfast...cornflakes, eggs and muffins were not really up to scratch for this Hotel.
I would recommend Ascot Hotel and would stay again if in Mumbai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Ascot is generally a nice hotel in a great location in Colaba. We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of our long trip in India. The rooms are huge and modern and clean. Beds are comfortable. Showers were great.
Included breakfast was simple but good and breakfast area server was very nice. Reception staff complied with our requests. They let us print boarding passes etc. We didn't make many other requests. But unlike others who wrote here, we didn't find reception particularly warm or friendly. Perhaps the oft mentioned "Jackson" is gone?

Recommend having drinks and/or decent cheap Indian food a couple doors down on the rooftop of Godwin Hotel. No rooftop at Ascot, though it's a nicer looking hotel.

A few niggles: Hotel does not enforce India's no smoking policy. Though our room did not smell of smoke, hallways occasionally did.
Cleaning supplies and hotel laundry shouldn't be left in stairways. (though it may be that they've no place to store them). When we arrived at 2 am or so from our late flight we were told that the deluxe room we had reserved for 4 nights was not available on our first night, as other guests had remained or were sick or something. Though even the lower grade room was quite nice, and they moved us to the still bigger room the next 3 nights, this kind of thing shouldn't occur.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our trip as a couple was most enjoyable . We amazingly made the right choice after going through several tripadvisors of so many other hotels. Staff warm and friendly. Very helpful with information as to how to move around Mumbai. The person who stands out for me is Mr Shaks at reception.Room deluxe spacious and clean. Bathroom as well.Overall view good, but can improve on service at breakfast. Improve on crockery as well. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms on 3rd floor spacious and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#125 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#93 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#157 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#54 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotels
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing