We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #302 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is certainly over priced for what it is, however we have no faults with our stay.

Location is excellent. It is on the same road as the famous Taj Mahal Palace hotel and is in view of the Gateway of India and is on the sea/harbour front, so if you have the front bedrooms, the view is fantastic. However we had a cheaper room at the back.

Rooms are ok sized if not a bit on the small side, clean and have everything you need for a basic nights stay when sight seeing. Room came with bathroom, clean towels, bedding, TV, Room Service, Wake up call, TV, AC and ceiling fan. The room is VERY over priced for what it is but I guess you are paying for the location more than anything.
We ordered room service for breakfast which came reasonably quick and was ok priced. We only had cereal and coffee but it was nice. We also had a free newspaper outside our door in the morning and the staff are more than welcome to help with luggage. Im guessing we were suppose to tip but as budget travellers, we didn't ha oops!

So yeah, for location and a clean room this hotel is fine. Its far from luxury so dont expect a beautiful room and view if you opt for the cheapest room! I cant vouch for what the other rooms looked like!

Had a very good and quiet nights sleep with no disturbance so thats the main thing for us!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was slightly disappointed. Simple things were missing that should be basics in any hotel. We were told that only 1 towel per room is given. Tea is not served in the room, we need to go to the dining hall for tea. Food was decent, served buffet style in the dining hall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank White D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

On arrival the manger at front desk was very grumpy and unpleasant despite us already having a booking online.
Room was clean enough but for the price of the room (around Rs.3500/night) it could have been much cleaner.
Our shower head had 4 streams coming out of it which i had to fix with a pin.
The basin tap would not turn off. Despite telling service staff this it was not repaired during our stay and therefore flowed the whole time we where there.
Service staff were friendly, however the manager of the service staff told us how much she wanted for a tip and visited our room multiple times just to ask for a tip. We are always happy to tip any good friendly service however we don't appreciate being told how much to tip someone before we get a chance to offer.
The food in the restaurant was ok and the waiter there was very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms were large enough.
Overall: Not worth the amount charged. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingOzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is a wonderful location to stay at Mumbai, and considering the rates it is not so costly too. ....You are staying a look away from The Taj mahal and Gate way of India. Facilities are vintage and probably the maintenance is just for sustenance. Services are hardly any to offer than the dire necessities. But of course it is a happening place all around.

Room Tip: sea facing
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramesh2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very nice hotel , small rooms but still very clean and well maintained , very good view of gate way of India from luxury & executive rooms , They have transfer service from Airport to Hotel..Staff is old but well mannered.

Good food to eat on good rate..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alok24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We switched from the Apollo Hotel 2 streets down the road to the Strand Hotel. It was better priced then the Apollo Hotel and we had a far better view accross the sea. Staff was decent and we did not have problems with asking for tips etc. Trust me, in the whole of North India they demand tips and money from (caucasian foreigners), so this was an exception.

We made fun of the cockroaches in our room and bathroom *tip* put a towel in the bathtub, because the cockroaches come up through the bathtub. Beds were decent. Indians do not understand the concept of cleaning though, just that you know.

Location is good and the Harbour View Hotel has a nice restaurant on the roof terrace!
Price/quality is decent, because we were staying at the Apollo hotel 2 streets down the road before and it was much worse and by far more expensive. Breakfast is good!

Conclusion: just for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ewansink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Staying at the Strand was the worst decision I made in Mumbai. The man at the reception desk was the most smarmy looking I’ve ever seen and he told me that the price of over 4000 rupees per night (excluding breakfast) included wi-fi. I later found out after checking in that their wi-fi had not worked in months!)

The room itself was of a large size, but the furniture and general décor was last updated about thirty or forty years ago. The walls had water and mould stains which made the room have a strong musty smell.

I was unsure whether the floor had been swept from previous occupations as there
was deeply ingrained dirt in the skirting-boards and corners of the room.

The bathroom was as old-style as the sleeping area and there was very little in the way of toiletries.

There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is outrageous given the inflated nightly charge for the accommodation. I therefore ordered tea from room service and although the tea was brought in less than ten minutes, the tea was in a rather dirty and shabby looking flask, I was in fear of catching the dreaded “delhi belly”. The cup and saucer was brown in colour but that did not disguise the equally old and badly cared for condition of the cup.

On my first night, I came back to the hotel at about 10.00pm tired and hot only to find that the hot water had been turned off sometime that day. My major pre-occupation for the rest of my stay after that was to get back to the hotel early enough before the hot water was turned off!!

However, all was not all bad at the strand. The location is perfect for tourists and if you get a sea-facing room such as I did, the view of the sea is very beautiful... just hold your breath as you open the curtains as they release a blanket of dust when touched not to mention the fact that they seemed to have been last washed in the 20th century!

The owner of the hotel is a middle-aged woman and she was just as unfriendly and smarmy as her male receptionist employee. I quickly found out that the people at the reception desk were not willing to give me back change when I paid for my accommodation. I had to continually ask for my change and it was given to me with such reluctance and bad grace it was as if I was not entitled to my own change! Also watch out for rounding up of costs by the reception, I twice had to stand my ground and refuse to pay the higher amount asked of me (which the lady had rounded up to her advantage)

The Strand seems to have a large number of staff who seemed to be continuously sitting on the stair case waiting for me to appear and then they would ask me to "remember" them when I checked out. The feeling of being continually hounded for tips was especially annoying as I had been charged way over the odds by the management of the hotel yet its staff seemed to be desperately looking for extra money.

All in all, the Strand Hotel has very few positives and those that are there (location, sea-view) are not of the proprietor’s making. I would never recommend the Strand Hotel, not in a million years.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzie052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#189 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#386 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
#312 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#228 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#35 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: Apollo Bunder Prem Ramchandani Marg | near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel is located in city of dreamers, stalwarts and the common man, Mumbai. This is located at the distance of 300 meters from Gateway of India, 2.7 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Train Terminus and nearest airport at 26.3 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. Property provides facilities like Wi-Fi, car rental, laundry, parking service, travel desk and room service. In-house multi-cuisine restaurant dishes out the best of Indian and international delicacies to cajole the taste-buds. In medical emergency one can avail doctor on call facility. The rooms in the hotel are well-furnished, ventilated, clean and come with good quality furniture. The hotel houses simple and sober rooms that offer a homely ambiance to guests. All rooms have attached bathroom with essential bathroom toiletries & linen, Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Airconditioner, LED TV with satellite channels,telephone and many more. It is all about the experience that goes beyond the ordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing