We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$217
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lalit Mumbai(Mumbai)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
8
28
23
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
23
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean towelstaj mahal hotelnice staygateindian
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Strand is an OK place to stay if you want to see mumbai and have a base. It is on the same road as the Taj Palace so the location is great. The Gateway of India is about 3 mins walk up the road. The Strand itself is a little worn to be honest. It could do with a lick of paint in the rooms and the shower in my room which was room 209 could do with a new shower cap. I had no issue using the actual tap for my wash but if there is a shower available, why would you need to? Anyhow, for the location/price the strand is as said ok. It did me for 3 nights in Mumbai where I was out majority of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunshine_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

hy go there? Because of the location.
Why not going there?
1. The rooms were very smelly. Every time we put on the AC, which was needed because of the heat, a smell of urine came into our room. As the AC was 30cm from the pillows in our beds, it was awful.
2. The rooms (downstairs) are very noisy. Our room was separated by a thin wall with big cranks. We could see light from the other room coming in. Worst of all our neighbors were having sex. A bit loud, and because of the thin walls it was as if we were in the middle of it.
3. The rooms are expensive (as most rooms in Mumbai). We paid 60 euros per night (discounted price). That was too much.
4. Staff is not professional: ripping us off and begging for tips. The staff tried to pull us of a few times. I asked the man at the reception for the price for a taxi to the airport. It was absurd high and the taxi nothing special. He just wanted to send us to a taxi at the street side. For that service he seemed it was right to put an extra high commission on it for him self. Furthermore: the men at the door beg for tips. For doing what? Nothing. Walking along to our room (10 meters) and walking to the taxi (10 meters).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank krijn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is certainly over priced for what it is, however we have no faults with our stay.

Location is excellent. It is on the same road as the famous Taj Mahal Palace hotel and is in view of the Gateway of India and is on the sea/harbour front, so if you have the front bedrooms, the view is fantastic. However we had a cheaper room at the back.

Rooms are ok sized if not a bit on the small side, clean and have everything you need for a basic nights stay when sight seeing. Room came with bathroom, clean towels, bedding, TV, Room Service, Wake up call, TV, AC and ceiling fan. The room is VERY over priced for what it is but I guess you are paying for the location more than anything.
We ordered room service for breakfast which came reasonably quick and was ok priced. We only had cereal and coffee but it was nice. We also had a free newspaper outside our door in the morning and the staff are more than welcome to help with luggage. Im guessing we were suppose to tip but as budget travellers, we didn't ha oops!

So yeah, for location and a clean room this hotel is fine. Its far from luxury so dont expect a beautiful room and view if you opt for the cheapest room! I cant vouch for what the other rooms looked like!

Had a very good and quiet nights sleep with no disturbance so thats the main thing for us!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HippyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was slightly disappointed. Simple things were missing that should be basics in any hotel. We were told that only 1 towel per room is given. Tea is not served in the room, we need to go to the dining hall for tea. Food was decent, served buffet style in the dining hall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank White D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

On arrival the manger at front desk was very grumpy and unpleasant despite us already having a booking online.
Room was clean enough but for the price of the room (around Rs.3500/night) it could have been much cleaner.
Our shower head had 4 streams coming out of it which i had to fix with a pin.
The basin tap would not turn off. Despite telling service staff this it was not repaired during our stay and therefore flowed the whole time we where there.
Service staff were friendly, however the manager of the service staff told us how much she wanted for a tip and visited our room multiple times just to ask for a tip. We are always happy to tip any good friendly service however we don't appreciate being told how much to tip someone before we get a chance to offer.
The food in the restaurant was ok and the waiter there was very pleasant and helpful.
Rooms were large enough.
Overall: Not worth the amount charged. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingOzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews