We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting "hotel"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strand Hotel
Ranked #305 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
black isle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disgusting "hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were recommended to stay at the Strand by a friend so assumed ti would be decent. We booked well in advance from London but it was very hard to get them to communicate either by phone or email. Having let them know that we would be arriving very early of 2 long-haul flights, we were a bit upset to be told that we couldn't check in for another 2 hours and we could sit in their (dingy) lobby. The manager was extremely rude, we were extremely tired and he kept implying that if we paid him some baksheesh he would let us up to our room. So we did being new to the country. The room was really dirty and unhygienic. The sheets were dirty and the beds (twins not double as we had requested) were uncomfortable. The bathroom was even worse. Things were crumbling and rotting. The paper dispenser kept falling off the wall. the shower didn't work just a drip/ But there was hot water which was a relief which we could fill a bucket with. The room had a "balcony" which was basically some old wooden doors that opened onto a hot and smelly small room with windows that looked onto other windows. We could deal with the room but the staff were another story. They were shockingly rude and made me feel very uncomfortable as a girl. They repeatedly asked for tips and more money. They offered us services, such as booking bus tickets which we later realised they charged triple the prices for. I hated staying at the strand! the only good thing, was that there was a nice bar/restaurant on the roof of the building with good food, beers and nice waiters, but I think, sadly, that this was a separate establishment that the strand hotel itself. The strand looked like it had a restaurant on the ground floor but it was always empty and looked grubby. I in no way recommend this hotel to anyone. But it is conveniently located!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    23
    22
    30
See reviews for
17
35
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived late evening and just wanted the experience of a night in one of the Art Deco mansions. There are probably better examples of this experience for more or less money. If it was cheaper we may have stayed longer, high end hotels much better value for money. The gentleman on reception was frosty, but fine. The porter and waiting staff were very obliging and friendly (two men from Delhi). Had a balcony room overlooking the seafront. The bed was firm, very firm, one of the pillows was solid in fact! But the bed was very clean and the room was large and clean.
It all felt safe and the elderly man outside offering taxis was a gem.
The Harbour View hotel is on the top floors - didn't see what it was like?
The Puri Bhaji for breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked.
The whole experience was worth it to hear the music in the lift, it made us laugh very much.

Room Tip: Haggle harder than I did. The hotel is unlikely to be full! Rooms at the front of the hotel are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here and loved it. It has both modernized rooms and older style rooms. We opted for the older style for the view and space. We loved our stay there the best of all hotels we have stayed in Mumbai. Good value too.

Room Tip: all good. No swimming pool or fitness centre. Close to the Gateway of India
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
307 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was here only for a night on a business visit, so will just write about my brief experience.
The location of the hotel is absolutely fabulous, right next to the Gateway of India. There are plenty of good places around to visit as well.
The staff is courteous and didn't cause me any worries. Infact, they were kind enough to drop the newspaper outside my room in the morning.
The pricing of Rs. 3200 per night for a single AC room is a quite high, but taking into account the expensive real estate around, I'd say it was normal.
The room was clean, AC was very powerful, TV was very small and bathrooms were hygienic enough for a comfortable night's stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHENNAI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

great location
sea front hotel
spacious rooms
medium sized bath room
good indian food
clean rooms
near gate way of india
close to taj
in coloba,city centre
complementery break fast
near radio house
near major banks
near shopping centres
near market
near good food courts
value for money

Room Tip: basic hotel but good location in front of sea shore near gateway of india
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRK64IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is very basic but in a great location, just down the road from India Gate. It isn't a nice hotel, but if you just need a place to sleep then it is ok. I wouldn't want to go back here, but the location was ideal and it was one of the cheapest options. It doesn't seem like good value for money, however hotels are so much more expensive in Mumbai than anywhere else in India.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently returned for a great trip and very nice stay at the Strand Hotel located on the Sea Front. We found the staff and good to deal with. The Wi Fi wasn't setup yet.Hope it gets set up.
The Strand is in the process of renovations. We choose the older room for it's space and charm. Free breakfast which we liked. Priced okay considering the location of the Hotel in a prime area.All in all of all the Colaba Hotels we have stayed in we rate this one the best according to our criteria.

Room Tip: Older rooms have the balcony and the space. The newer rooms don't so much. Depends on the travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harbour View
Hotel Harbour View
#231 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#188 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#123 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#366 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#193 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#67 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Property: Strand Hotel
Address: Apollo Bunder Prem Ramchandani Marg | near Gateway of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel is located in city of dreamers, stalwarts and the common man, Mumbai. This is located at the distance of 300 meters from Gateway of India, 2.7 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Train Terminus and nearest airport at 26.3 km from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. Property provides facilities like Wi-Fi, car rental, laundry, parking service, travel desk and room service. In-house multi-cuisine restaurant dishes out the best of Indian and international delicacies to cajole the taste-buds. In medical emergency one can avail doctor on call facility. The rooms in the hotel are well-furnished, ventilated, clean and come with good quality furniture. The hotel houses simple and sober rooms that offer a homely ambiance to guests. All rooms have attached bathroom with essential bathroom toiletries & linen, Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Airconditioner, LED TV with satellite channels,telephone and many more. It is all about the experience that goes beyond the ordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing