We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$409
US$217
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$218
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
8
28
23
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
23
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean towelstaj mahal hotelnice staygateindian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location, just a couple of hundred meters from the Gateway of India and the Taj Mahal Hotel.
The rooms are old, dirty and smelly. There are windows but you cannot open them.
Staff was friendly, but you are asked for tips all the time.
You have to pay 110 Rs. for an hour of painfully slow and unreliable wifi (by the way, if you log out after a few minutes you lose the rest of the hour).
There's a restaurant next to the reception, but it's always empty and it looks shady. On the other hand, there a decent rooftop bar/restaurant (which doesn't belong to the hotel).
This hotel would cost 3 or 4 € in any other part of India, instead you'll end up paying ten times that!
We'll definitely not go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Startoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were recommended to stay at the Strand by a friend so assumed ti would be decent. We booked well in advance from London but it was very hard to get them to communicate either by phone or email. Having let them know that we would be arriving very early of 2 long-haul flights, we were a bit upset to be told that we couldn't check in for another 2 hours and we could sit in their (dingy) lobby. The manager was extremely rude, we were extremely tired and he kept implying that if we paid him some baksheesh he would let us up to our room. So we did being new to the country. The room was really dirty and unhygienic. The sheets were dirty and the beds (twins not double as we had requested) were uncomfortable. The bathroom was even worse. Things were crumbling and rotting. The paper dispenser kept falling off the wall. the shower didn't work just a drip/ But there was hot water which was a relief which we could fill a bucket with. The room had a "balcony" which was basically some old wooden doors that opened onto a hot and smelly small room with windows that looked onto other windows. We could deal with the room but the staff were another story. They were shockingly rude and made me feel very uncomfortable as a girl. They repeatedly asked for tips and more money. They offered us services, such as booking bus tickets which we later realised they charged triple the prices for. I hated staying at the strand! the only good thing, was that there was a nice bar/restaurant on the roof of the building with good food, beers and nice waiters, but I think, sadly, that this was a separate establishment that the strand hotel itself. The strand looked like it had a restaurant on the ground floor but it was always empty and looked grubby. I in no way recommend this hotel to anyone. But it is conveniently located!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived late evening and just wanted the experience of a night in one of the Art Deco mansions. There are probably better examples of this experience for more or less money. If it was cheaper we may have stayed longer, high end hotels much better value for money. The gentleman on reception was frosty, but fine. The porter and waiting staff were very obliging and friendly (two men from Delhi). Had a balcony room overlooking the seafront. The bed was firm, very firm, one of the pillows was solid in fact! But the bed was very clean and the room was large and clean.
It all felt safe and the elderly man outside offering taxis was a gem.
The Harbour View hotel is on the top floors - didn't see what it was like?
The Puri Bhaji for breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked.
The whole experience was worth it to hear the music in the lift, it made us laugh very much.

Room Tip: Haggle harder than I did. The hotel is unlikely to be full! Rooms at the front of the hotel are best for the view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here and loved it. It has both modernized rooms and older style rooms. We opted for the older style for the view and space. We loved our stay there the best of all hotels we have stayed in Mumbai. Good value too.

Room Tip: all good. No swimming pool or fitness centre. Close to the Gateway of India
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was here only for a night on a business visit, so will just write about my brief experience.
The location of the hotel is absolutely fabulous, right next to the Gateway of India. There are plenty of good places around to visit as well.
The staff is courteous and didn't cause me any worries. Infact, they were kind enough to drop the newspaper outside my room in the morning.
The pricing of Rs. 3200 per night for a single AC room is a quite high, but taking into account the expensive real estate around, I'd say it was normal.
The room was clean, AC was very powerful, TV was very small and bathrooms were hygienic enough for a comfortable night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews