We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As luxurious as it can get”
Review of Deccan Odyssey

Deccan Odyssey
Ranked #103 of 495 things to do in Mumbai (Bombay)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each journey on the Deccan Odyssey is an exploration of India's diversity, exotic locales and discovery of her timeless traditions; where you breathe in the vibrancy, sounds and colours of India's cities and her countryside. Mysteries, intrigues unfold as the train snakes her way through royal cities showcasing the opulence and extravagance of the palaces, the traditions and culinary wonders of cities and villages well protected from the sands of time. Where else would you find a UNESCO heritage site, a superlative vineyard, tigers & lions lazing in the sun baked stretches of wild brush, a palace residence, warm dazzling beaches & cool tranquil backwaters… only in amazing India !
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The train is an experience of a life time. You get treated as prince or a princess, right from the time you board till you check out. The interiors are plush, the cabins small but neatly designed with a full view window to admire the landscape outside. 2 restaurants give you choice of Indian or International cuisine, and a bar lets you sit by the window while you enjoy your conversations. A small library and games room are there for entertainment and gym, saloon and spa for adding the extra bit to the holiday. There are on-board surprises that I will not talk about.

4  Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sougata D, Manager at Deccan Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there,

We are thrilled to read about your experience! Glad to know you had a memorable time aboard the train.

We hope to see you on again on another journey!

Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Deccan Odyssey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had been looking forward to this trip and it didnt let us down on any level. Yes the outside paint finish is not the best but you dont see it when travelling and the staff more than make up for dull paintwork! The cabins are comfortable and the shower and bathroom excellent with lovely toiletries. The gifts from the company were lovely and unexpected, the food was delicious and our butler, Harish, was a perfect gentleman and nothing was too much trouble. The beds were firm but an extra duvet on top of the matress sorted that out for me.All in all a real treat and I am happy to add more detail if any travellers want to contact me.

3  Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sougata D, Manager at Deccan Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there,

We are thrilled to read about your experience! Glad to know you had a memorable time aboard the train.

We hope to see you on again on another journey!

Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Traveling on this train is an experience which in some respects takes a lot of forgetting. We traveled from New Delhi to Mumbai and my first impression on seeing the train was one of disappointment. The outside of it is not the gleaming dark blue coachwork as portrayed on the website. It looked as if it had been hand painted and then allowed to fade as its finish was quite matt. Certain areas which had had a few bumps and scratches were painted over and the finish was poor as you could still see the brush strokes. Other than the restaurant cars and bar, which are maintained to a high standard, the sleeping compartments are dated and tired. The train does move around a lot when traveling, but surprisingly, one does get used to the rocking motion and sleeping is not the problem it might first appear. The bunks however are a bit on the firm side. Although the bathroom within the cabin is small, the shower is very good with an endless supply of hot water. There is however very limited hanging space, and we made the decision to use soft holdall type cases which we used as additional storage and just put them under the bunk beds. The plus points however do outweigh the negatives. It would be difficult to find a more attentive staff. Our butler, Kenal was an absolute treasure and kept our cabin spotlessly clean. In similar fashion, the food and service in the restaurant cars was first class. There is no doubt that this train is well managed, its just a pity that the owners are seemingly unwilling to keep the fabric of the train up to an acceptable standard. It could have been truly spectacular, especially if it could have been pulled by a Great Western Castle Class locomotive from the grand age of steam. (But thats another story).

2  Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sougata D, Manager at Deccan Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there,

We are thrilled to read about your experience! Glad to know you had a memorable time aboard the train.

We hope to see you on again on another journey!

Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Deccan Odyssey has received some fantastic reviews on various international travel forums and is already quite popular with luxury travel aficionados. The train has also been nominated for the World Trade Awards in the best Asian Luxury Train category. Deccan Odyssey is a 7 night 8 day journey plying between 7 destinations in Maharashtra and Goa.As far as the feature list is concerned, the train comes absolutely loaded, even by luxury trains’ standards. Pumped with state of the art features for ensuring maximum comfort and convenience for its guests, the train offers services such as Spa and Gym, Electronic Safe, Individual Climate Control for each cabin, Public Address system, Wi-Fi and dedicated services of a personal attendant.

2  Thank Gauravkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sougata D, Manager at Deccan Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there,

We are thrilled to read about your experience! Glad to know you had a memorable time aboard the train.

We hope to see you on again on another journey!

Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We undertook the journey from Delhi to Mumbai having stayed 2 nights in delhi prior to joining the train. On arrival at the station we were seated on the platform awaiting the train's arrival.Entertainment was provided although this was of a rather poor standard and it was rather chilly with no proper waiting room!
On boarding the train our butler,Javed escorted us to our cabin and then offered us a welcome drink. On this occasion the train was about 80% full consisting of a large group from Riviera travel with the remaining few couples like ourselves being independant travellers.Our group consisted of about 7 couples which was nice and small unlike Riviera's which was large .
The cabin itself was adequate with twin beds,desk,small wardrobe,srorage under beds and a decent sized shower room with good shower,considering this was a train!
All the food we had on board was of a high standard, with a choice of international or Indian cuisine.
The staff were all friendly and helpful at all times and the drinks on board were of a reasonable price with a very attentive barman.
Our first night's sleep was somewhat disturbed with passing trains and the motion of the train, however after that we sleapt reasonably well.Some people may find that ear plugs/sleeping pills may useful
All the trips were good although the first 3 days were quite hectic and at times i think we all had "information overload".On some days there were the end of excursion visits to high priced shops selling marble,carpets etc which we felt were a waste of time!
.
The highlights of the tour for us were the Taj Mahal, gala dinner and the 2 game drives where
we were lucky enough to see 4 tigers, a leopard and an eagle capturing a snake!
Overall the trip was a great experience, made better by being in a small group with really nice people.Some previous reveiws compare this trip with Rovos Rail in South Africa, however Rovos Rail is a much more formal trip where one has to dress for dinner and if spread over seven nights would cost considerably more than this trip. Having done both we've enjoyed both equally as much.
The tour can be quite tiring and we had 3 nights chill out in Mumbai which was about right
We would recommend this tour to anyone

7  Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sougata D, Manager at Deccan Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there,

We are thrilled to read about your experience! Glad to know you had a memorable time aboard the train.

We hope to see you on again on another journey!

Happy Travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deccan Odyssey also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Deccan Odyssey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing