We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deccan Delight”
Review of Deccan Odyssey

Deccan Odyssey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This luxury train goes on an 8-day roundtrip around the country from Mumbai.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deccan Delight”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

February 2014. Travelled from Mumbai to Delhi on the Deccan Odyssey. The cabin was small with little storage space but very comfortable beds and the bathroom was fully equipped with good toiletries. All the staff were cheerful, unfailingly helpful and well trained. The food was of good quality and variety. The site-seeing trips were undertaken in air conditioned coaches with excellent local guides accompanied by a member of the train staff. Water and fruit or other snacks were provided en route. Comfort breaks were arranged with a staff member providing wet wipes,paper and hand gel. On our return to the train after days out we often found the staff had arranged a surprise for us and we also received some small gifts. This must be the best way to see the maximum number of sites in a short visit to India!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deccan Disaster”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a Deccan Odyssey vacation after having a pleasant time last December with the Palace on Wheels ( Northern India)

Our Travel Agency in Mumbai.. booked through Palace Tours in NJ, BuzzTours in Mumbai did an outstanding job with city travel arrangements-- we were always picked up promptly in very nice transportation, with conscientious drivers and guides.

Two of our cityguides were absolutely outstanding.. Vinita Shahani ( for our Mumbai City Tour on our first day) and Waled ( for our return to the airport on the last day) were so knowledgeable, wonderful coordinators, very caring and just fantastic! Thank you for providing them!!

2. TheTaj Palace was, of course, beautiful, the service flawless and the staff extremely accomodating... we would fly to Mumbai from California just to stay there!!
Thank you for arranging this.

3. The Deccan Odyssey was 30% successful, 70% a disaster. After botched meals, uncaring tour guides, schedule confusion, being left in railroad stations to figure things out for ourselves, part of our group left behind when the bus pulled away ( this happened several times) 12-hour days (many times without any water provided), and general chaos we attempted to deal with our cabin attendent, who aimed to please but had so little grasp of English our train car was always running for events, missing events etc.

During one long tour day, several of the "day" guides" sat behind us, continually conducting business by phone, spitting on the bus floor... not anyone's idea of a restful vacation day.

I approached the "manager," Prim. We had a very nice conversation, where he explained that this was a " test run" and that it was the first time most of the staff was on the train (!). He also explained that he was re-vamping the "whole thing" with lots of improvements.. that he would never use the existing tour schedule or tour staff (!).
He said that our trip was just a " trial run" for his staff, that he was not going to run another trip until February and would spend the month selecting staff and training them.

Very reassuring... except that we paid full price and planned our vacation far in advance.. not to be part of an "experiment." Unforgiveable.

I'll also mention that, even with six tour staff attached to our group, I was left alone at a fort on our third day, as I had twisted my ankle and could not keep up with the group. Having done a lot of traveling, I was not aware that this would be a safety issue. After our group proceeded, I was accosted by groups of young men, pulling at my hair and clothing, screaming, and generally having a good time with the tourist.

Fortunately, two kind-hearted pilgrims came to my rescue, chased away the crowd and stayed with me until our group returned.

I was not injured, but was certainly upset. When I informed our guide, the response was " oh, just ignore them, that's the best thing to do."

The Deccan Odyssey should be ashamed of themselves... they have financially ripped off a group of customers and put them in danger on several occasions.


We have contacted our tour company about our experience, but after two weeks have not received a reply.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

In July 2012 we booked and paid for a 43 day trip to India. The first seven days were to be on the Deccan Odyssey departing from Mumbai January 16/13. We arranged the entire trip through Compass India (an EXCELLENT company btw).
On January 9/13 (seven days before the departure) Compass India was advised that the trip had been cancelled in a very curt message..."We regret to inform you that Deccan Odyssey is not operating on 16th Jan 2013 , due to low occupancy."
Through the wonderful work of Compass India and our local travel agent, we were able to substitute other flights and hotels to make the first seven days very memorable.
The issue is cancelling an entire trip on seven days notice! We could have been in India and out of contact.
Beware...any company who pulls this kind of stunt!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
341 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“As luxurious as it can get”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The train is an experience of a life time. You get treated as prince or a princess, right from the time you board till you check out. The interiors are plush, the cabins small but neatly designed with a full view window to admire the landscape outside. 2 restaurants give you choice of Indian or International cuisine, and a bar lets you sit by the window while you enjoy your conversations. A small library and games room are there for entertainment and gym, saloon and spa for adding the extra bit to the holiday. There are on-board surprises that I will not talk about.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“What an adventure!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had been looking forward to this trip and it didnt let us down on any level. Yes the outside paint finish is not the best but you dont see it when travelling and the staff more than make up for dull paintwork! The cabins are comfortable and the shower and bathroom excellent with lovely toiletries. The gifts from the company were lovely and unexpected, the food was delicious and our butler, Harish, was a perfect gentleman and nothing was too much trouble. The beds were firm but an extra duvet on top of the matress sorted that out for me.All in all a real treat and I am happy to add more detail if any travellers want to contact me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deccan Odyssey also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Deccan Odyssey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing