We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms are clean, staff are helpful”
Review of Hotel Kumkum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kumkum
Ranked #64 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed 12 March 2014

the rooms were very clean and the water was hot! there is a water heater in the room, so you control your water! the rooms were cleaned nicely whenever we asked. BUT the rooms are VERY small. we had no window. on the other hand, we often had wifi due to the rooms location near the reception. the staff is VERY helpful!!!! we never ate in the restaurant- so we can't comment. towels are very thin, but we had our own- which we left them as it was our last stop in India.

Room Tip: rooms closer to reception have chance of wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaTadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Linda

Thank you for the great review. We do have the smaller cheaper rooms and bigger rooms also available and hope you would try them on your next visit with us.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We checked into Hotel Kumkum as a 12 hour stopover – after a long train trip and before an international flight home. My email communication with them prior to booking was simple and easy. The staff when we arrived were efficient and friendly (and spoke English well!) The room and ensuite clean and tidy.
We ate at their in-house café and had a great selection of light meals, snacks and drinks to choose from.
The staff had a good knowledge of the local area /pricing / and taxi route times so we could venture forth to explore in our limited time with greater confidence. We also wanted to buy a sitar and the owner researched and pointed us successfully in the right direction.
We enjoyed our brief time with you Hotel Kumkum !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyLynn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Wendy

Thank you for the great review. We're always happy to go that extra step to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I recently stayed for 1 night in the hotel and found good services with delicious food available on roof top. The staff are customer friendly. One can go for rooms according to their choices but ask for split AC room as the window AC room had noise of AC compressor.

I would stay in future too.

Room Tip: Go for the Split AC room and make advance booking at least 1 week in advance as the hotel goes full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManishSarraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Manish

Thank you for the good review. See you again soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Not a good experience, had to wait for some 2 hours in the lounge for my room. The hotel allows guests to smoke cigarettes in the apartments, they have a "device" to clear the smoke which does not work at all. I felt like sleeping in an ashtray.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Rui

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay.
Our check in time is 11am as it was clearly mentioned in your booking. You arrived at the hotel at 7:20 am and by your own account got the room in 2 hours. So we gave you your room by 9:30 am which is 1.5 hours before the check in time anyway. I believe we should be appreciated for that not complained about that you had to wait 2 hours. I believe that is unfair.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was a good value for the money, very friendly and helpful staff. WiFi is only in lobby and rooftop cafe, though. Neighborhood isn't the best, but we didn't feel unsafe. Would reccomend to friends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank brianpritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Brian

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you and your friends soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Only £16 a night for a clean tidy hotel with friendly staff, who can complain. I have no complaints at all. The staff were very helpful, the food was excelent. If you have a problem or need help just ask the staff they will do their best to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Princeginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

We definitely hope to see you again.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in February 2014. As others have mentioned, the outside of the hotel and its location can be a bit outputting. However, upon entry, I found that the room, lobby, and interior exceeded expectations. In my experience, lodging costs in Mumbai are more expensive than the rest of India, so for about 20 US dollars/night not sure how much I expected beyond a clean single bed and perhaps some hot water. My room at the KumKum met my needs and the roof top restaurant and the free wi-fi (although not available in the room) were certainly pluses. Yet I probably would not stay here again since getting a taxi (and a taxi is really the only way to get to the tourist places: Museum, Gateway, etc) was more of a hassle (many/most taxi drivers didn't know the hotel's location?) than expected. Simply put, if its only about saving money then KumKum is a great choice but if its location then perhaps their are better options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamecock95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

I'm very sorry for the trouble you had finding the hotel. I agree with you that most taxi drivers would not know the hotel by name. Again in a huge city like Mumbai it's really not possible for taxi drivers to know every hotel especially budget ones. The larger 5 star ones most of the taxi drivers would know.

I wish you had just asked the staff and they would surely guide you as to what to tell the taxi driver so that they find the hotel very easily because we are located in a very central area and on the main road itself.

I hope you give us another try and I'm sure that your problem of finding the hotel will be resolved very easily.

Regards

Chirag Mody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#74 of 489 in Mumbai
668 reviews
Hotel Orient
#296 of 489 in Mumbai
6 reviews
Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Hotel Royal Castle
Hotel Royal Castle
#141 of 489 in Mumbai
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mogul Palace
#349 of 489 in Mumbai
34 reviews
Hotel Accord
#68 of 489 in Mumbai
234 reviews
Kalpana Palace Hotel
#334 of 489 in Mumbai
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumkum

Address: 165 Lamington Road, Mumbai 400007, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Malabar Hill/Peddar Road
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: £24 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kumkum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kumkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing