We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Ranked #23 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
India....
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A lovely place with lovely themed rooms and artistic touch. Not for the regular boring box hotel travellers.
A unique place with a happening restaurant downstairs and next to the hotel, location wise very good as well.
Good service and helpful staff.

A memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iva_mehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Guest

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you so much for your feedback further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team feels motivated. We are glad you liked the entire hotel especially the decor, the team, the spacious rooms, and the services we provide.

I and my team look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    111
    33
    6
    13
See reviews for
51
93
62
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I am all for boutique hotels provided the service is of a good standard. This hotel ticks the box on being artistic but is deeply disappointing on almost all other aspects of what a hotel should be. The hotel location is close to linking road, which is a shopping street and also not far from the airport. The neighbourhood is quite green which is unlike most of Mumbai. Its also quite noisy like the rest of the city !

The breakfast in "out of the blue' is a huge letdown. The buffet is almost laughable. Since I was on a breakfast package, I could order food from the menu at no extra cost. I ordered 'Idlis' which are like rice dumplings. They came lukewarm, very thick & rubbery and with absolutely no presentation. The dips and chutneys were average quality and the waiters seemed be to be in tearing hurry to get somewhere. I went to the nearby Taj Land's End for a good breakfast the next day.

The air conditioning in the room is quite good and noiseless but they need to install double glazed windows at the minimum as its very noisy outside and I was woken up more by the street noise and not by the alarm. Oh, there is no alarm on the bedside table and one needs to ask the front desk to give a wake-up call.

The bathroom is an odd V-shape in the 'Mandala' room I was staying in. Nothing wrong with the odd shape but without a shower curtain, the water was splashing everywhere. Hot water is very inconsistent as other reviewers have also mentioned. I got hot water only in the morning. The toilet bowl leaks and the tap in the washbasin is barely holding on. When I pointed this out, it elicited an apology with the promise that it would be fixed. Luckily I checked out soon after so I didn't wait to see whether they followed up. I had some valuables with me but oddly enough I found that taking the key out of the key holder would disable the 'do not disturb' sign. I was lucky to realize this so had to lock up the valuables in my bag before I left the room. Its perhaps a small thing but like so many other things with this hotel it adds up to an overall unsatisfactory experience.

I like the art in the hotel but I want all the basic stuff to be taken care of first. There are cheaper and better places in Mumbai and I wouldn't go back. An Ibis or a Novotel is way better than spending money on a hotel with some art but poor service.

I would've given a 2 star rating but the lady on the front desk- Anjali - was extremely professional and helpful. She earns the extra star not the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Mandala as it is next to a large function hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you for contacting us for the enclosed matter below. First, we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that hotel did not satisfy you. and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.
We value your business and we would like to retain you as a customer. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for your understanding in this unfortunate matter.
Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The concept rooms and decor of the whole hotel are top notch. The explanation behind the different inspiration of every room is very interesting and the room is equipped with accompanying literature and a movie to inform the guest further. The whole places is very stylish.

Unfortunately, my original explanation of my room consisted of only: "This is Maya. It is everything, and nothing" before the receptionist left me without telling me about any of the meal times or about any of the room's basic features (Aircon, laundry, tv etc.). This was after my pre-booked airport pick-up didn't happen and after calling them and waiting for 20 minutes, I called them back - they told me to get a taxi. I was woken up at several points by the traffic outside (this is not Le Sutra's fault, it's almost inescapable in Mumbai), shouting outside my room in the early hours and my housekeeper banging away at my door every morning, sometimes before 8AM.

I feel like Le Sutra was designed and built by someone who really knew what a customer would want… but then left it in the hands of poorly trained staff. Perhaps a shake up in training and management could really make this a quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you for contacting us for the enclosed matter below. First, we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that hotel did not satisfy you. and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.
We value your business and we would like to retain you as a customer. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for your understanding in this unfortunate matter.
Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great little boutique hotel near beach in a leafy suburban area of Mumbai. Stayed here five days and found it much nicer than staying in a more conventional big chain hotel closer to the city center. Rooms are decorated to highlight different artistic/cultural themes (details on their website), and breakfast (included in room rate) featured both western and India fare - hearty and good. Area around the hotel is great for walking and exploring - interesting restaurants abound just blocks away, and there is nice beach boardwalk that runs south to Bandra (just 1km south along the beach boardwalk is a terrific little jogging park - great place to walk/jog early in the mornings with the locals). Getting into South Mumbai to see tourist attractions is an easy cab ride.

The hotel doesn't receive a full five stars primarily because of the noise - while most nights were fine, Thursday night there was what is apparently (according to staff) a weekly party event at the Olive restaurant downstairs. While we are not particularly fussy sleepers, the thumping bass made it nearly impossible to sleep - and it continued until 1am. Party noise was also evident on Friday and Saturday nights - staff were helpful when I called down; they actually seemed to be effective in asking the partygoers to turn down the volume a bit (at least temporarily) - and even offered to send us up a free dessert (albeit after midnight!) as compensation. These noisy festivities may be more audible from some rooms than others - might be worth inquiring when you book.
A "do not disturb" door hanger was conspicuously absent from our room - this would have come in handy as when we arrived from the U.S. we were still quite jet-lagged, and received frequent visits from staff (asking if we had laundry to do, turn down service, etc.) that we would have preferred to forego during our first few days. Also, we were told that we'd be receiving a gift (see note above on this site) - but did not upon check-out.
Overall, though, this is a great little hotel - I would stay here again, and would recommend it for anyone who enjoys smaller boutique hotels with character.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Guest

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you so much for your feedback further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team feels motivated. We are glad you liked the entire hotel especially the decor, the team, the spacious rooms, and the services we provide.

I and my team look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

From rooms to service, this boutique hotel was amazing. Do not expect a room with a view: outside isn't pretty! However, the perfect service and cleanliness of the hotel made our day! The olive restaurant next door also serves superb food.
Really enjoyed our stay and we will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pelote1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Guest

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you so much for your feedback further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team feels motivated. We are glad you liked the entire hotel especially the decor, the team, the spacious rooms, and the services we provide.

I and my team look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is my favorite hotel when ever I am in Mumbai. It's very conveniently located and walking distance to most of the famous film production companies. It's expensive but food is excellent. Complementary breakfast is great, it has fresh food options as well. But limited. Rooms are great, each room is different to the other. I had hot water issue during my stay over 5 days and I was telling them to fix it but they never did until I checked out. this is the first time they disappointed me, but I hoped they will learn something from that mistake.

Room Tip: get a room away from the nightclub next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PriyangaCFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you for contacting us for the enclosed matter below. First, we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that hotel did not satisfy you. and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.
We value your business and we would like to retain you as a customer. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for your understanding in this unfortunate matter.
Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I often choose to stay at Le Sutra for business trips. Their themed rooms ensure I don't get bored no matter how many times I stay here. Each room has very interesting, arty decor. Plus, the location is just fantactic. You step out and you're right in the heart of Bandra, two steps away from some lovely restaurants. The hotel staff always takes good care of me and I have no complaints about their service.

Room Tip: If you prefer light, airy rooms, ask for a room on the Satvic floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kapuradhika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
Dear Guest

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you so much for your feedback further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team feels motivated. We are glad you liked the entire hotel especially the decor, the team, the spacious rooms, and the services we provide.

I and my team look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#83 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
338 reviews
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bo...
#33 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
472 reviews
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oriental Residency
#53 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
351 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,731 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#71 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel

Property: Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Address: 14 Union Park | Off Carter Road, Between Olive and Out of the Blue restaurant,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sutra is the thread that blends aesthetics, hospitality and mind space…effortlessly. Interestingly, Le Sutra is the only Hotel in the world based on the Indian philosophy and narrated through contemporary art! The hotel wins admiration for the intricately crafted inlays and artifacts, uncompromising comfort, its living-up-to-the-hype restaurants (Out of the Blue, Olive) and the fabulous location (Bandra is touted as the queen of suburbs of Mumbai). With 14 uniquely individually-themed Indian Art rooms at Le Sutra and 8 comfortably stylish apartments at Sutra D’Onyx, the guests are literally spoilt for choice. Our client base consists of 40% foreign internationals who find the exciting packages such as Senorita (single lady), the Weekend special (it doesn’t get lower than this), the Celebrations (they make it unique) and the Experience (adored by couples) really difficult to resist. Our Yoga and Art tour packages have further enhanced the Indian Art image of the Hotel. Every guest is pampered to the core and the surprise room-theme-based gift on check-out is an absolute clincher! Le Sutra indeed has a unique product to offer to their guests, who are often heard stating that the pampering offered at Le Sutra, Mumbai, is grossly missed by them when they go visiting other locations in India. The Le Sutra team is extremely open to constructive feedback and are solely committed to make the Le Sutra Hospitality experience the best and one of a kind.Come..visit us..and we assure you it would be worth the time spent in knowing about a Hotel which breathes Indian philosophy for its very existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing