We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Ranked #33 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was the best hotel experience we had in all of India, even better than the Taj we stayed in in Hyderabad. It doesn't look very promising when you pull up to the entrance, but the minute you walk into the small but very nice lobby, you know you're staying in a nice place. The staff is excellent, with special thanks to Suryakant, Anjali, and Prathames. They made us feel as if there were no other guests in the hotel. We were given bottles of water as we left for the day, umbrellas to borrow (monsoon season), and they arranged cabs for us almost instantly it seemed. They are attentive, helpful and willing to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They were so great with all the children, giving each one (we had 5 kids in our party) little gifts. The rooms were clean, tidy, well equipped, modern and artfully decorated. No two are alike, and each room we saw was cozy and inviting. We had a little trouble with consistent hot water, and occasionally the power would go out. There was a lot of construction going on in the neighborhood, so that could have been a factor. We didn't need to leave for the airport on our last day until around 10:00pm. They let us keep our room at no extra charge until 6:30 pm, and told us if we wanted to come back after dinner to shower before our flight, they would provide a room for us to use for 30 minutes. What hotel does that?? Also complimentary with our stay was a copy of the art featured in our room. The restaurant attached to the hotel, Out of the Blue, is one of the best places to eat in Bandra according to the locals, and we found the food to be well priced and tasty, the room service took forever though, so order way before the kids get hungry! If we ever visit Mumbai again, we would choose Le Sutra over the Taj hotels without a doubt.
Thanks,
The woods family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear Lauren W,

Greetings from Le Sutra!

On behalf of the Le Sutra Hotel team & myself, I would just like to take the chance to thank you for choosing us!

I trust you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Muddassar Nirban
Guest Services Manager
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    105
    31
    5
    13
See reviews for
39
83
56
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I loved and enjoyed stay there! Very nice people and excellent service and provide all experience to relax, art, massage/spa and nice food. So much inspiration about room design. Also, I already had great experience better than as usual hostel. Namaste

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felipespina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear felipespina,

Greetings from Le Sutra!

On behalf of the Le Sutra Hotel team & myself, I would just like to take the chance to thank you for choosing us!

I trust you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Muddassar Nirban
Guest Services Manager
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a spa & it was disappointment all through

Security guard @ entrance wasn't bothered even to welcome

Valet was not groomed, hadn't shaved & was having bad body odour

At spa receptionist & 2 therapist were busy on mobiles

Wash basin had fungus

Room smelt of food instead of aroma as therapist said that they get their tiffin from Out Of The Blue there. I requested her to remove the tiffin box to which she promptly obliged

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Front Office Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings form Le Sutra!

Thank you for contacting us for the enclosed matter below. First, we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that hotel did not satisfy you. and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.
We value your business and we would like to retain you as a customer. Please accept our apologies. Thank you for your understanding in this unfortunate matter.
Best regards,
LaikaJoseph
Team Leader
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Love the service... VIP treatment all the way .... A must stay if you r visiting Mumbai. Check in was quick. Rooms are tastefully designed, everyone having their own seperate design and theme based on hindu mythology and culture.

Clean and well maintained .... Five Stars All the way !!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear Rohit M,

Greetings from Le Sutra!

On behalf of the Le Sutra Hotel team & myself, I would just like to take the chance to thank you for choosing us!

I trust you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Muddassar Nirban
Guest Services Manager
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms are very nice - if a bit small. Staff are excellent. Restaurant is OK without being special in any way. It's also convenient for the airport. There is a small number of reasonable restaurants in the vicinity.

I wouldn't recommend Le Sutra if you want to see Mumbai. Downtown is well over an hour away - whether by taxi or autorickshaw to Khar Rd station and then train to VT (which is a better journey than the taxi).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear rstoat,

Greetings from Le Sutra!

On behalf of the Le Sutra Hotel team & myself, I would just like to take the chance to thank you for choosing us!

I trust you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Muddassar Nirban
Guest Services Manager
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Le Sutra is an absolute must if you are coming to Bombay and especially if you are staying in Bandra. The concept of individualized rooms is genius. My room was absolutely gorgeous, quiet, and comfortable. It was the perfect space after two days of flying. The staff was gracious, courteous, and always ready to answer questions, help me hail an auto, or get my bags. With so many hotels in Bombay, it is easy for places like Le Sutra to get overlooked in favor of some of the big names. However, you can get all of the pampering and luxury of the resort style hotels for a fraction of the price, with better service, and much more personality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BACH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Le Sutra , Mumbai and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to note that you had wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your stay

Your generous praise of our service and especially our team members is very rewarding.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Sunil Potey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been staying with Le Sutra for over 4 years now and have used both their hotel and apartments. The hotel rooms are based on philosophy, myth, art form, and history which lends a very unique vibe to the hotel.
In recent past, I have used their apartments which are basically a 3 bedroom apartment converted into rooms. All rooms comes with a main door and room key .The rooms and bathrooms are small but cozy and fitted with all amenities like a blow dryer, mini refrigerator. Room service is also available. Buffet Breakfast (Eggs to order, South Indian, bread basket)is available in their restaurant inside the hotel amongst others. The staff is extremely courteous but a little slow.

Fab location - Olive, Nido and Big Nasty (fine dining restaurants and bars) are few steps away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noobietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LeSutra, General Manager at Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Le Sutra , Mumbai and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to note that you had wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your stay as we were sold out for the hotel hence we had given a apartment for your stay .

Your generous praise of our service and especially our team members is very rewarding.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Sunil Potey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Oriental Residency
#59 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#79 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced...
#120 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regal Enclave
#62 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Hotel Shubhangan
#119 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bo...
#27 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel

Property: Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Address: 14 Union Park | Off Carter Road, Between Olive and Out of the Blue restaurant,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sutra is the thread that blends aesthetics, hospitality and mind space…effortlessly. Interestingly, Le Sutra is the only Hotel in the world based on the Indian philosophy and narrated through contemporary art! The hotel wins admiration for the intricately crafted inlays and artifacts, uncompromising comfort, its living-up-to-the-hype restaurants (Out of the Blue, Olive) and the fabulous location (Bandra is touted as the queen of suburbs of Mumbai). With 14 uniquely individually-themed Indian Art rooms at Le Sutra and 8 comfortably stylish apartments at Sutra D’Onyx, the guests are literally spoilt for choice. Our client base consists of 40% foreign internationals who find the exciting packages such as Senorita (single lady), the Weekend special (it doesn’t get lower than this), the Celebrations (they make it unique) and the Experience (adored by couples) really difficult to resist. Our Yoga and Art tour packages have further enhanced the Indian Art image of the Hotel. Every guest is pampered to the core and the surprise room-theme-based gift on check-out is an absolute clincher! Le Sutra indeed has a unique product to offer to their guests, who are often heard stating that the pampering offered at Le Sutra, Mumbai, is grossly missed by them when they go visiting other locations in India. The Le Sutra team is extremely open to constructive feedback and are solely committed to make the Le Sutra Hospitality experience the best and one of a kind.Come..visit us..and we assure you it would be worth the time spent in knowing about a Hotel which breathes Indian philosophy for its very existence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing