We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option - I keep coming back”
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #188 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great option - I keep coming back”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

For value for money, this is the best hotel in Colaba. I have stayed many times over the past 10 years or more and keep coming back.

Yes, it is a little old fashioned, but it is homely and the staff (many of whom have worked here for years) very kind and friendly.

Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Good AC units (important in Mumbai), cable TV with hundreds of channels, fridge, excellent rooftop bar / restaurant, reasonable (free) breakfast and reliable wifi. Pay a little extra for a sea facing room, or a side sea facing room. The single beds are very small, so avoid if you need space.

The quality of mattresses and pillows could be improved, but otherwise this is a great base from which to explore Mumbai.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    74
    24
    24
See reviews for
24
67
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

this hotel is in a great location to see the gateway of india, good restaurant, helpful staff, nice neighborhood walking distance to many attractions. rooms are a little older, but clean. Good value for the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholetteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The location, near to TAJ and gateway is only good. The single room provided is very small. Snaps put in.
Morning breakfast Is good. Not taken other food as rates are slightly high.
Wifi rates are awful. Better not to use hotel internet.
No PC available for personal browsing in lobby too.
The open terrace is a good place e to enjoy a party
But head will spin when u see the bill.
JetPrivilege membership: 138339681

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank amaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Our location is indeed very good. We would like to inform you that Wi Fi is complimentary to all our guest.
Besides the points that you have rated positively, the gaps that your feedback has highlighted, regarding the property has been carefully noted by Management and please rest assured the appropriate measures will be taken to ensure we avoid future recurrences.

With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

malapuram
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice location. No pickup/ drop from airport. Single room is very small. No place for sitting inside too. Intercom is also not functional.
If u are getting room in seaside view, it is very good. U can see the sea and boats there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpkutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Besides the points that you have rated positively, the gaps that your feedback has highlighted, carefully noted by Management and please be rest assured the appropriate measures will be taken to ensure we avoid future recurrences.
With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clontarf, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we pulled up to the hotel in the taxi, a first glance at the hotel facade nearly convinced us that the recent negative reviews about the Sea Palace were going to be correct. It is true the look from outside is not good and in need of a good lick of paint. We entered with a state of mind that would need a great stay to alter a bad preconception. That was our last negative thought about the hotel.

Our check in was straight forward and were taken to the fourth floor (top), room 408, a sea view executive room we had booked through Agoda for about $80 US per night including breakfast.
The room was spacious, clean and with an amazing view of Mumbai and the Arabian Sea. There was a fridge, tea & coffee facilities, multi-channel LCD TV, complimentary bottled water, soap, shampoo, sitting area, ceiling fan and a great A/C unit.

The wifi was one of the best we had in India, although it had to be logged on every other day (make sure free wifi is included in your booking). The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit, Indian breakfast and choice of eggs and toast, tea & coffee. The two guys that ran the breakfast room were more than helpful with everything.

We found the front desk very helpful and were given a complimentary newspaper every morning. We used the rooftop restaurant on our last night, it had some nice food on the menu and the view was wonderful.

The position of the Sea Palace was second to none, just a few minutes walk from the Gateway of India and all the restaurants and shops. We were approximately 10 to 15 minutes walk from the tourism action on Mumbai.

For those that are interested I have two tips:
If you are looking to buy some beer or drink for your fridge, turn right out of the hotel, first right and at the end of the road on the left is a liquor store selling ice cold beer (about 100rps a large Kingfisher)
If you are looking for a nice reasonable tour of Mumbai by taxi (approx $50 US for up to four in A/C cab) that lasts about 4 to 5 hours, ask for Kishore or Raul at the Cool Cab rank outside the Taj hotel, or contact me and I will email you more details.

Raul took us on a wonderful trip to places you would not see on regular tours and at a fraction of the cost, which I advise you to do on your first day to orientate with the area. We also booked him for our trip back to the airport, he was always very punctual.

Although some might say an excellent score is too high for this hotel, I fully justify it with the price, the room, the position and the boy who met us every morning outside our room and asked if he could service our room. We couldn't have wished for more. Will return.

Room Tip: For a few more dollars go for a sea facing executive room, the view and the surroundings are well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The room I booked was not available on arrival. They upgraded me to a suite but it didn't have the requested sea view and was not well cleaned. They changed the room the next day and it was much nicer. Good restaurant, if a bit pricey and great location - able to walk to the Gateway of India in minutes and train station not too far. Lovely views over the sea- slightly spoilt by the aircon pipes draped across the Windows! Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanForeignTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Prebooked for 3500IR per night with breakfast included and when I got there at 1 am they said I only had booked for 1 night even after I showed them the printed prepaid booking so they checked me in and took my passport. In morning I got my passport and they asked if I was checking out so I showed them the paper again and he said he had to check with his manager. It was decent after that but paid too much for the smallest room in colaba. My 900IR room at the lawrence hotel was 3x the size and staff were very helpful

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#82 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#138 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#383 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#224 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#64 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Property: Sea Palace Hotel
Address: 26 Sea Palace Prem Ramchandani Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Palace Hotel is located in the heart of Mumbai City having easy accessibility to the commercial, shopping and tourist areas. We are 5 minutes away from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (V.T. Station), and 40 minutes drive from the Domestic/ International Airport. A heritage enchanting the view of Mumbai's beautiful harbour, we are renowned for luxury and comfort maintaining the standards of service and professionalism which caters to the requirements of a high profile business traveler as well as a leisure tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing