We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and best view from the sea facing room”
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #175 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
354 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and best view from the sea facing room”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Reached early in morning around 5 am and checked in room. Nicely maintained big rooms, prefer specially when in group or with family. When you are in sea facing room, you can get the best view of the sunrise and sweet noise of birds. I really had a nice experience. Nice view of gate way and all small boats anchored in the sea. Varandha behind the main building is too coze and nice place. Good option to stay.

Room Tip: Prefer sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NayanKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are happy to know that you liked our sea view rooms. It is indeed a beautiful and a mesmerizing view you see during sun rise. Please give us an opportunity to serve you again.

With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    73
    23
    23
See reviews for
24
65
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sea Palace Hotel is located in a perfect area, walking distance from nearly everything that you would want to be around in Bombay. Some touristy spots are a bit further away but the abundance of taxis, buses and access to the railway network sorts that out. The room we had was exceptionally clean, I was walking around barefoot without even the slightest hint of dust, grime or dirt on the floors. We chose the sea facing room which was extremely spacious for two with everything we needed. The free Wifi was super fast as well. Even the linens were perfect, smelt good and were replaced daily. Every member of staff from housekeeping to breakfast chef to reception staff wore a smile and helped out instantly when required. The only minor downside was a slightly weak shower but the water was clean and odour free. Also, avoid room service because it's overpriced. Also, a million food options within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is a must. The harbour at night is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and being associated with us for so many years. It means a lot to us.
We appreciate you like the homely atmosphere here and also agree with you that the size of our sea view rooms are bigger than the size of our standard rooms.
We have taken your suggestion to improve quality of mattresses and pillows and will surely work on the same.

looking forward to see you soon.........

With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

For value for money, this is the best hotel in Colaba. I have stayed many times over the past 10 years or more and keep coming back.

Yes, it is a little old fashioned, but it is homely and the staff (many of whom have worked here for years) very kind and friendly.

Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Good AC units (important in Mumbai), cable TV with hundreds of channels, fridge, excellent rooftop bar / restaurant, reasonable (free) breakfast and reliable wifi. Pay a little extra for a sea facing room, or a side sea facing room. The single beds are very small, so avoid if you need space.

The quality of mattresses and pillows could be improved, but otherwise this is a great base from which to explore Mumbai.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

this hotel is in a great location to see the gateway of india, good restaurant, helpful staff, nice neighborhood walking distance to many attractions. rooms are a little older, but clean. Good value for the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholetteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The location, near to TAJ and gateway is only good. The single room provided is very small. Snaps put in.
Morning breakfast Is good. Not taken other food as rates are slightly high.
Wifi rates are awful. Better not to use hotel internet.
No PC available for personal browsing in lobby too.
The open terrace is a good place e to enjoy a party
But head will spin when u see the bill.
JetPrivilege membership: 138339681

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank amaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Our location is indeed very good. We would like to inform you that Wi Fi is complimentary to all our guest.
Besides the points that you have rated positively, the gaps that your feedback has highlighted, regarding the property has been carefully noted by Management and please rest assured the appropriate measures will be taken to ensure we avoid future recurrences.

With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

malapuram
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice location. No pickup/ drop from airport. Single room is very small. No place for sitting inside too. Intercom is also not functional.
If u are getting room in seaside view, it is very good. U can see the sea and boats there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpkutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balques_Shaikh, Front Office Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sea Palace Hotel !
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
Besides the points that you have rated positively, the gaps that your feedback has highlighted, carefully noted by Management and please be rest assured the appropriate measures will be taken to ensure we avoid future recurrences.
With warm regards,
Balques Shaikh
Front Office Manager
Sea Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
312 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we pulled up to the hotel in the taxi, a first glance at the hotel facade nearly convinced us that the recent negative reviews about the Sea Palace were going to be correct. It is true the look from outside is not good and in need of a good lick of paint. We entered with a state of mind that would need a great stay to alter a bad preconception. That was our last negative thought about the hotel.

Our check in was straight forward and were taken to the fourth floor (top), room 408, a sea view executive room we had booked through Agoda for about $80 US per night including breakfast.
The room was spacious, clean and with an amazing view of Mumbai and the Arabian Sea. There was a fridge, tea & coffee facilities, multi-channel LCD TV, complimentary bottled water, soap, shampoo, sitting area, ceiling fan and a great A/C unit.

The wifi was one of the best we had in India, although it had to be logged on every other day (make sure free wifi is included in your booking). The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit, Indian breakfast and choice of eggs and toast, tea & coffee. The two guys that ran the breakfast room were more than helpful with everything.

We found the front desk very helpful and were given a complimentary newspaper every morning. We used the rooftop restaurant on our last night, it had some nice food on the menu and the view was wonderful.

The position of the Sea Palace was second to none, just a few minutes walk from the Gateway of India and all the restaurants and shops. We were approximately 10 to 15 minutes walk from the tourism action on Mumbai.

For those that are interested I have two tips:
If you are looking to buy some beer or drink for your fridge, turn right out of the hotel, first right and at the end of the road on the left is a liquor store selling ice cold beer (about 100rps a large Kingfisher)
If you are looking for a nice reasonable tour of Mumbai by taxi (approx $50 US for up to four in A/C cab) that lasts about 4 to 5 hours, ask for Kishore or Raul at the Cool Cab rank outside the Taj hotel, or contact me and I will email you more details.

Raul took us on a wonderful trip to places you would not see on regular tours and at a fraction of the cost, which I advise you to do on your first day to orientate with the area. We also booked him for our trip back to the airport, he was always very punctual.

Although some might say an excellent score is too high for this hotel, I fully justify it with the price, the room, the position and the boy who met us every morning outside our room and asked if he could service our room. We couldn't have wished for more. Will return.

Room Tip: For a few more dollars go for a sea facing executive room, the view and the surroundings are well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#129 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harbour View
Hotel Harbour View
#241 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#212 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#367 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#48 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#156 of 447 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Property: Sea Palace Hotel
Address: 26 Sea Palace Prem Ramchandani Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 447 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Palace Hotel is located in the heart of Mumbai City having easy accessibility to the commercial, shopping and tourist areas. We are 5 minutes away from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (V.T. Station), and 40 minutes drive from the Domestic/ International Airport. A heritage enchanting the view of Mumbai's beautiful harbour, we are renowned for luxury and comfort maintaining the standards of service and professionalism which caters to the requirements of a high profile business traveler as well as a leisure tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing