We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patchy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Ranked #11 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Patchy experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A belated review for a trip a few months ago. I suppose I might have set expectations too high, but then again the Four Seasons chain prides itself on its impeccable service. We did see this on our leisure visit - but sadly not consistently enough given the prestige of this brand.

I should say that the room, housekeeping, and reception staff were excellent - the pool area was small but pleasant with good service, and the spa was also great. The first alarm bells sounded when having to wait for 35 minutes to be seated at breakfast on the first day after a late arrival the night before. The staff seemed a bit unsure about how to deal with the situation - we were offered coffee, but not cutlery or crockery, which would have allowed us to eat in the bar area. There was a chaotic system for seating - and it was clear that staff didn't know who had arrived first. Once seated, we were told the buffet would close in 5 minutes - not really what we wanted to hear after waiting for so long to be seated. Breakfast was nice though, and service, once seated, was good.

Another irritation was the rooftop bar, Aer. This is clearly now a "Mumbai hotspot" - so much so that it was impossible to be seated and we were once again in a rather opaque queue for available seating and made to stand in the tiny bar area, when it seemed there was plenty of seating available. Given that the bar is heavily marketed on the website, it does grate on me when as a hotel resident you cannot access it - a case of a destination becoming too popular for its own good (and certainly its own guests!). Fortunately, the Asian restaurant San-Qi has a lovely bar - seemingly barely used - and we also had a very nice meal there with excellent service, and while this was expensive it was reasonable value given its location in this hotel.

Speaking of location - the hotel is slightly awkwardly sited in Worli - half way between the interesting areas of Bandra/Juhu and Colaba. You need a taxi to get to anywhere really, and in the future I would probably stay in or near Colaba/Fort area - where walking around is much easier.

Much to admire, then - but given the esteem in which this chain of hotels is held I confess to being disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for sharing your feedback further to your stay with us. Your compliments in regard to the room accommodations, hotel team and and your dining experience at San-Qi are most appreciated. We have noted your comments regarding your experience at breakfast and at AER and do hope you will visit us again so that we may deliver a true Four Seasons experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    447
    100
    41
    33
See reviews for
261
339
116
829
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent one night for a business function held in the same hotel. Well-appointed rooms, great service, lucky to have a sea-facing room (although in the distance!). Didn't get a chance to sample the breakfast since I left before 6:30 AM, which is when the breakfast opens.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for your positive feedback further to your one night stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, especially the sea view room and that our services lived up to your expectations. We hope you will visit us again and have the opportunity to experience our breakfast service on your next visit. We do look forwarding to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staffs were professionally trained and their service was excellent. This is really a top notch hotel worth your time and stay. i was personally delighted by their services and cleanliness of the hotel.

Room Tip: The room are priced at the reasonable rate. You can get cheaper hotel around but the setup and servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honda37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback further to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found us 'top notch'. We appreciate your recognition of the efforts by the hotel team and it does inspire us to keep raising our levels of service through innovation and understanding our guests even more. Hearing that we have succeeded in making you feel welcome is what keeps us going and what drives us to do better every day.

We hope you will visit us again and look forwarding to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with the most attentive service imaginable. The minute I stepped out of the cab they were there to defog my glasses, escort me right to my room, etc. Staff is plentiful and is always asking what they can do; concierge staff literally runs to open a cab door or assist you in any way they can. The hotel is quiet, beautifully appointed, and has an excellent restaurant (there is a good restaurant inside but an excellent one adjacent to the main hotel entrance). The location is fairly central, but of course Mumbai is a chaotic city and the areas around the hotel are only average, so location is probably the only thing that I wouldn't rate as excellent....but I definitely plan to return to this hotel if I return to Mumbai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for your positive feedback further to your recent stay with us in Mumbai. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the restaurant experiences and the 'most attentive service' by our concierge and hotel team. We have always said that our people are our most important asset, and your favourable comments confirm that belief.

We certainly hope you visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Andrew Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rooms; Nicely done with classy interiors
Service: very good, excellent personal attention given by staff, no issues at all!
Food: Try the AER lounge excellent view with good setting for a perfect evening(One of the best Al Fresco in Mumbai), but always prefer the local eateries
Best Part: The view of the Arabian see and the City which you can keep soaking into for hours.
Worst part: The pool is small and not aesthetically designed.
Verdict: It's a must stay if you are looking for Hotel with best location and view.
Tip: Try to get a room on higher floor; its a massive building rising to 36 floors and should try their chauffeur driven BMW service (5 and 7 series)

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on higher floor with view of Race course and Arabian Sea, preferably above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback further to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us, especially your "room with a view", the service provided by the hotel team and that you had a "perfect evening" at AER. Hearing that we have succeeded in making you feel welcome is what keeps us going and what drives us to do better every day.

We hope you will visit us again and look forwarding to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Will stay there again. It is better four seasons than the one's I stayed in Europe and US. Very nice experience.. Good customer service and great location. Clean rooms and bathrooms.
Good business room and lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent visit to Mumbai. While I am pleased to know that you have stayed at other Four Seasons properties, it is very heartening to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, best of all. Many thanks for your kind compliments regarding the room accommodations and the service provided by our hotel team, which I have enjoyed sharing with them. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am one of the more loyal guests of the Four Seasons and have always chosen to stay here despite the hotel not having any of the typical Hotel loyalty programs. Overall the Hotel is fine but for someone who has been coming here so often the drop in the standards is perceptible.

San Qi is expensive and yet inconsistent with service and food. Aer, the highlight of the hotel remains inexplicably closed (and no it is not because of monsoons), there is no liquor in the 'mini bar' and no one has a clear answer on why and when the policy got changed, the in room dining menu is mostly uninspiring and it is often a struggle to chose what to order. Higher floors have really poor phone network.

The Hotel started impeccable, the rooms are still lovely but while other Hotels continuously try and innovate, this one is slipping

Room Tip: The lower floors even on the sea side look out to the shanties. Higher floors have abysmal network c...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetansachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Greetings from Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai!

Thank you for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comments and really appreciate your feedback on the dining options, it is being reviewed by the team.

The good news is that AER should be opening within the next few days, this is an issue beyond our control due to delays in the renewal of licenses for roof top bars and corresponding restrictions laid by local government authorities.

I look forward to meeting you upon your arrival today!

Best Regards
Andrew Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
5.1 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,967 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,176 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Mumbai
The St. Regis Mumbai
#21 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,123 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,998 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Address: 114 Dr E Moses Road | Worli, Mumbai (Bombay) 400018, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#8 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#8 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek icon to the finest hospitality in India, is set in the emerging Worli district, central to everything in the city once known as Bombay. Spacious quarters, many with views of the Arabian Sea, offer unrivalled comforts and service. Anticipate the most pressing demands of business - or pause for see-and-be-seen dining, poolside recreation or ayurveda in the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Four Season Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing