We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection but no photography”

Bhau Daji Lad Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great collection but no photography”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great collection of items but totally disappointing as SLR cameras are not allowed inside but any other cameras are.... strange rule ruined my visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Prajeshdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    65
    13
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
658 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and the place to visit in mumbai”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is an astonishing Museum - if you want to get a sense of what the Great Exhibition of 1851 was like, or how the Victoria and Albert Museum originally looked like - this is the place.

After having gone through an extensive renovation the Museum has been re-opened. Walk into soaring hallways, thin metal columns holding up the tiered landings, beautifully painted ironworks complete a magnificent setting. The exhibits themselves are eclectic and give a clear view of Mumbai's history.

They frown on photograph taking unless you pay the fee but dont miss this place - it is far better than the Prince of wales Museum - go for atmosphere and for seeing a genuine jem.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Well maintained”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This museum to my surprise is a well maintained and managed. However they restrict your DSLR but you can click pictures using your mobile camera. The roof is a piece of art and so is the statues inside and outside.
They have a separate art gallery too.
I loved this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI INDIA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing Experience.Stay away if you are a photography enthusiast”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had read a lot about how this museum was restored and the pictures in the newspaper really looked amazing. Recently I had purchased a DSLR camera for myself. I thought this would have been a really good oppotunity for sharpening my photography skills. So I went through their website on how to reach the place and any instructions that I needed to follow.

I landed up at their doorstep and purchased a ticket to enter. After that I went to submit my bag at the baggage counter. Thats when the trouble started. The guard asked me if i had a camera. I said yes, I had assumed that since this is a museum anyone would bring a camera to click pics. He asked me which camera is it. I said it is a DSLR camera. He blankly said that it is not allowed in the museum. I was shocked. I had travelled all the way from the suburbs in the dreaded Mumbai trains to reach this place and now I was being told that "normal" digital cameras are allowed but not "Professional" ones. I asked to speak to the manager. The lady came and repeated the same lines ad verbatim. She said that they have had some previous issues with people coming and reproducing some pics for commercial purposes. Thats why they had brought out this rule. I was like HELLO THIS IS A MUSEUM, NOT A BANK OR A HIGH SECURITY AREA. why would you not want people to reproduce the images???? And plus why was it not explicitly mentioned anywhere on your website that DSLR cameras are not allowed?

Anyways she was not ready to budge and I was really irritated by their rigidity. I asked for a refund and stormed out of the place and into the Prince of Wales Museum, Where they do allow cameras ...ALL types of cameras.

What a waste of time it was to visit this place run by regressive staff. Will never be returning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebelinpree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit this museum”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This a true representation of history of Mumbai.
The displays are very pleasing and it gives a glimpse at the life
in and around Mumbai. They have miniature dolls of all castes and religions in India. It can be seen in 2 hours. The price is right even for the foreigners. It is located at the entrance of the Zoo. Once during a year there is a plants and garden exibition
in front of the museum. The museum is recently renovated. I take all my friends and visitors to this museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shashisathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bhau Daji Lad Museum also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Bhau Daji Lad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing