We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location and Luxurious”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #27 of 486 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had solemnized my sister's wedding ceremony and organized reception at this Hotel and had stayed there for 2 days. This hotel is an excellent location and is located just next to the Mumbai airport. Though hotel rooms do not offer any outside view and all rooms point to central open space which had lagoon, aquarium, shops, conference area and party area, that offered an excellent and amazing view from the room balcony.
The breakfast is one amongst the best, I ever had in any Hotel. It had the best of choices available. However, I could not find any space for children activities inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reet021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear Ms. Reet,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you and your family had a memorable experience and relished the breakfast spread at our global Cuisine restaurant Earth plate. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Warm Regards & Sahara Pranam
Manish Sodhi
Email id:Manish.sodhi@saharastar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nites the rooms were nice and modern they had all the amenities the view of the room is of a huge lobby which had laser shows at nites all rooms in the hotels are desigend in that way
The location is the best as it is near the domestic airport about 10 mins walk
The night club is good but its too small it has a loungue area also

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Warm Regards & Sahara Pranam
Manish Sodhi
Email id:Manish.sodhi@saharastar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel after viewing the pictures but was bit scared after reading the reviews, it was a chance which i took but my experience was very bad.
Moment you enter the hotel, the feeling is that you are in a police station and every one is behind you.
The room which was given to me was ok, moment i entered the bathroom i was surprised as it was not at all clean, not the kind of cleanness expected from a star hotel.
Mattress was crappy, i can feel the spring touching my body, not at all comfortable, 5 star hotels must have beds which take care of guest sleep very well, was not able to sleep properly.
Morning 8 some big sound started coming and it disturbed me, i found that there is some renovation going on in nearby room and the sound was so loud that i guarantee no one can sleep and relax in room. No one informed us that this in advance.
Want to have some drink in high lounge, i called the lounge and he said that entry for Guest staying in hotel in complimentary , i was passing through the ground floor and asked the guys standing on the gate of high lounge about guest entry and he said that no it is not complementry and we will charge Rs 1500, i did not mind this and told him to come after some time as need to go some where, when i reached high lounge the guy said no for entry and said we do not allow single entry, i asked him that just before few minutes you said Rs 1500 and why you are saying no, he answered that we have good rush today because of week end and thus we do not want to entertain singles, i mentioned that i am your guest and staying in this hotel and paying for that and also for entry, he clearly said no, went to duty manager and she said in un friendly way no........
Sahara need to learn a lot on hospitality business, probably they are new in this business sector but as compared to other renowned brands and also some local mumbai hotels, i would rate this hotel as the worst hotel i ever stayed and will never recommend any one to stay, many 5 stars are available in same rate in mumbai...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MKINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed in Sahara Star for two nights and the experience was not great. The rates are high as high as ITC, Hyatt and Leela, but the service and comfort is not! The elevator has no AC, the Indian food was not good and the carpets are dirty! The globe concept is nice but the fact that all the restaurants have individual live performances makes the place very noisy in the evening. The light show was such a flop! Over all experience was ok, didn't feel was in a five star hotel. The exterior is shabby and overall its ok. Please dont compare your rates with the other good 5 star hotels around as you dont deserve.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 448Clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and Entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam
Manish Sodhi
Email:manish.sodhi@saharastar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

What does one expect from a hotel whether it is a business trip or a family vacation ?

Warm Hospitality - At the Sahara Star their entire team is cordial, attentive, efficient, diligent, punctual and they take care of every detail to satisfy the guests' needs. We checked in within minutes of our arrival and all I had to mention was my name at the Reception. I even did not need to produce my booking voucher. They just had all the details on their fingertips including our request for late check out which was promptly confirmed the next evening. My mother fell ill and we liked the hotel so much that we decided to extend our stay from 2 to 3 days and I am confident that they will accommodate our necessity for late check out on the next day equally effectively as well. Every time we asked for something, it was not only delivered to the room but the hotel staff would also call and verify whether we had received whatever we had asked for.

Well Equipped Room - Television, Wi Fi, effective air - conditioning, premium bed, well stocked mini bar etc. are standards with all good hotels. However, the Sahara Star is still "A Step Ahead". We stayed in "Mercury Rooms" which were spotless with lavishly furnished bathrooms having glass partition for the perfect romantic experience with one's beloved as well as motorized curtain for privacy. The universal control panel adds a nice touch of convenience and you can configure the lighting, air - conditioning etc. according to your mood or necessity. The balcony is a marvel with stunning views of the internal pillar - less dome which is supposed to be the largest in the world and the tropical lagoon below with several lounges, restaurants, the pool, the stage etc. aesthetically located at different parts.

Dining Options / Sumptuous Food - The Sahara Star has about 9 dining options including the "Ocean" which is surrounded by the largest marine aquarium in India. The views of the coral, lining the aquarium floor and its diverse inhabitants is a real treat from inside the "Ocean" as well as outside from different parts of the "Earth Plate" which also serves excellent buffet meals. We experienced this when we were joined by a business associate and his family including their two children for dinner. The children were fascinated with the aquarium and so were we adults. Kababs at the "Afreen" are a privilege for the taste buds. There is also an endless collection of liquor and wines to suit all tastes.

Ambience - Read about it to be tantalized - experience it to rejoice. The Sahara Star is more than "A Step Ahead" when it comes to ambience. It is an exquisite combination of tranquility and luxury. As I have said, the balcony accompanying every room is a marvel with stunning views of the internal pillar - less dome and the tropical lagoon below with several lounges, restaurants, the pool, the stage etc. aesthetically located at different parts. One cannot ask for a better spectacle after waking up in the morning or before dozing off at night. The signature laser and fire show in the evenings, along with dance and gazal performances leave no room for boredom. Add to that the delectable food and wine, different soothing yet lavish decors in the different parts, lounges and restaurants, mesmerizing array of statues, fountains, watersheds, meandering lagoon sections, palms and warm hospitality and the result is pure magic. One should experience it first hand. I have stayed at very picturesque hotels such as the Siam Bayshore Hotel in Pattaya which also has a tropical lagoon spread across a huge area but in terms of making every part and corner worth exploring, the Sahara Star has created a genuine attraction. All this is before you land at the "High Lounge" which will definitely be a hot favourite for any avid party lover, with its classy ambience, rocking music and flawless security.

Location - Hotel Sahara Star is located just adjacent to the Chatrapati Shivaji Airport in Mumbai. It is definitely a convenient location specially for business travelers. After all, with the famous / infamous Mumbai traffic, there is always a threat of missing your flight even if you leave for the airport with 2 / 2.5 hours in hand. If you are staying at the Sahara Star, reaching the airport is a cake walk. Someone has rightly commented that it is a hotel with an attached airport. You can literally walk but they still provide you with free transfer to the Domestic Airport and very affordable transfer to the International Airport. So why bother when you are at the Sahara Star which lives up to its motto of "A Step Ahead".

In terms of security, state of the art features from X-Ray scanning of all luggage to access of floors only for residents through room access cards etc. are effectively implemented at the Sahara Star without causing any hassle to the guests.

I was on a business trip and was accompanied by my family and we had a fabulous experience.

Overall, I can confidently say that the Sahara Star is an experience not to be missed by any hotel enthusiast as all hotels in Mumbai and the majority of international hotels will struggle to match the level of overall satisfaction offered by this hotel. It is also reasonable in terms of pricing.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors which are away from the internal elevator lobby have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHIJIT_GHOSH_TALBOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Mr. Gosh,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed the magnificent view of the tropical lagoon, relished the delicious cuisines at our specialty restaurants and appreciated the entire concept of the Hotel.The entire team feels privileged and honored by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi
Email:manish.sodhi@saharastar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Sahara Star is an awesome hotel if you are on a business trip and have a loadful of meetings lined up. The excellent location of the hotel makes every place in a city like Mumbai, close by!! To top it all, the view from each of the rooms is breathtaking! The lagoon and aquarium just make the experience so much more worth it!!

And if that's not all, the food at the Lebanese lounge is out of the world!! Definitely worth every penny and more!!

Room Tip: The higher the better ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just stayed here for 6 nights on business. When I booked I asked for a quiet room with working internet. When I checked in I was told that such room had been allocated and checked for me. Well, if this was a quiet room I would not want to hear the noise levels in a loud room. From 10am to 7pm I could hear constant drilling noise. When I complained I was told it would stop at 7pm. On a good day it stopped by 8pm. Just in time for the cheesy imitation Vegas lazer, fire, and loud music show to start in the circular atrium area which all the rooms overlook. The atrium has the effect of distorting the noise as it echoes around. Once this finishes we are treated to amplified piano music with vocal wailing until 11pm. This 'entertainment' is so loud that you have to turn your TV to full volume to hear it properly in your room. On the plus side the service is sharp and the ridiculously over-priced food is very good. Oh and forget using the internet after 7pm as the system can't cope with demand. This is a shame because it could be a very good hotel. Maybe they should have finished building it before they opened?!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bloke1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 486 in Mumbai
3,095 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 486 in Mumbai
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#18 of 486 in Mumbai
2,464 reviews
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 486 in Mumbai
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Address: | Opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#12 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#23 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: £106 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made by man's greatest strength...Imagination, Sahara Star is yet another masterpiece from Sahara India Pariwar. The hotel's magnificence blended with Indian mysticism epitomizes hospitality & stands deeply rooted in Indian traditions & culture. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases the world largest pillar less clear-to-sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment, offering one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq. ft. Marine Aquarium, abode to the world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium with exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rises in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft. tropical lagoon, Hotel Sahara Star features 348 well-appointed luxurious guestrooms with 25 elegant suites. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. The exclusive, spacious & elegantly designed Business Centre, catering to all your corporate needs, makes it the perfect and the most sought-after business destination. Aces, the Presidential boardroom is one of the city’s largest featuring technologically advanced facilities for the first times in India. The 77 people capacity presidential boardroom comprises four-screen barco projection system, Bosch digital congress network system, Voice-activated cameras, Ceiling mounted visualiser and multimedia documentation of proceeding. Four well-equipped meeting rooms, christened as Clubs, Spades, Hearts and Diamonds, offer state-of-the-art facilities and services available round-the-clock. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external façade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing