We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience excellent service”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at The Sahara Star when I visit Mumbai on work. It is a strange circular hotel which means a long walk to your room many a times. The rooms face indoors over a large atrium and it can be quite noisy at times. The lights are kept on till 3am at night and this is not conducive to a good night sleep. The Earth Rooms have bathrooms with tubs and when you have a shower, the whole bathroom gets flooded. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly and recognise repeat customers by name. The food is very good - the breakfast spread is one of the best I have experienced. All the restaurants serve good food, but since they are in the atrium, you can listen to different music at the same time - very chaotic. Its sad that Mabruk the Lebanese restaurant is no longer operational. The lobby is quite impressive. The car park is far and it takes the valet 20 minutes to get your car. For the price they charge, it is an average hotel. The location is excellent as the domestic and international airports are very close to it.

Room Tip: Request for a room near the elevator to avoid a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShobhaDalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

At Hotel Sahara Star, we take pride in ensuring our guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations this time.

Upon thorough investigation of the situation, we have narrowed the cause and corrective measures have been initiated in respective department.

Please pardon our current appearance as we work towards shaping the future and humbly request you to accept our sincere apologies.

We are extremely delighted to know that you relished the breakfast spread at The Earth plate – global cuisine restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services and a commitment of providing you the highest level of service because your feedback is valuable to us.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I have been staying in this hotel for the last 7 to 8 years,and have reviewed this hotel with lots of positives before, but my stay during this trip of mine was awful, the rooms are run down, the toilets equally bad, the experience right from reception to room service and housekeeping was not worth a mention, though the staff wasn't bad mannered, however they all seemed to be amateurs and running all around the place, the deal for the rooms used to be with complimentary breakfast which has been withdrawn now, I think I will have to look at options now in Mumbai as Sahara star seems to be taking the wrong route

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

I have noted the content of your valuable feedback with extreme care and concern.

I am personally looking into your experience and requisite measures will be taken to ensure that we correct our flaws.

As one of our valued guest, your satisfaction is our primary concern and on behalf of my entire Team, I extend my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to your good self.

We truly believe that improvement is a continuous process and I assure you my personal attention to all areas of concern, highlighted by your good self.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

WiFi didn't work inside my room at all and they were not able to fix it. I had to go to the lobby to get it working, yes I'm disappointed about this part.

+ Staff was attentive, caring
+ Very good location

Mine was only a one night stay, so I don't think I have more to say.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTK_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

I have noted the content of your valuable feedback with extreme care and concern.

I am personally looking into your experience and requisite measures will be taken to ensure that we correct our flaws.

As one of our valued guest, your satisfaction is our primary concern and on behalf of my entire Team, I extend my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to your good self.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent...muc awaited wait is over...its awesome...a huge banquet vit no pillars yet alll......6 Elevators & 1PRODUCT Elevator...WOW...we can hv lotsa n lotsa events n product launches the intn'l way...thnk u SAHARA GRP.....lol

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Chand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to receive such appreciation for our event hall – Sahara Sapphire, ideal for corporate gala parties and cocktail receptions, its architectural features demonstrates a fine blend of Indian sensibilities and contemporary design in its majestic environment.

The entire team feels privileged and honored by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel with an attach airport very conient for both new t2 interntional and domestic terminal

The ambience is stunning at the mangnificant tropical lagoon underneath worlds largest pillar less clear to sky dome

I particularly like private dining room inside marine equirium which is only of its kind in the world with scuba divers and mermaids

Rhe 40,000 sqft sapphire event hall is mumbais best

Thanks to ms Ushma for taking care of all my bookings

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Utkarsh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the magnificent view of the tropical lagoon and appraised the entire concept of the Hotel including the Private Dining room set amidst India’s largest marine aquarium and Sahara Sapphire -event hall.

The entire team feels privileged and honored by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my 5th or 6th time stay at this place but still faced a problem. I like this hotel because it is in a walking distance to domestic airport and close to international. Has a good variety of restaurants but never ending renovation in the hotel is very annoying. In the meantime, they gave me a room in one of the renovated floors and the room has so much noise from the fan that I needed to leave early. Also, I took the elevator to go to the lobby. Elevator reached its destination, doors opened and night shift manager rushed in without letting the customer leaving the elevator. This is a very small thing but hotel management is all about the details. Right?

Room Tip: Definitely go and check your room before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

As one of our valued Guest, your satisfaction is our primary concern and on behalf of my entire Team, I extend my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to your good self.

We truly believe that improvement is a continuous process and I assure you my personal attention to all areas of concern, highlighted by your good self.

Our ongoing renovation is due to be completed within the next few months and we assure you of a better product in every aspect.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.


Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is not worth the money. The location is very convenient as it is located right next to Mumbai domestic airport. The service is pretty poor compared to the kind of hotel it is. It is very costly. The food also is average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

I have noted the content of your valuable feedback with extreme care and concern.

I am personally looking into your experience and requisite measures will be taken to ensure that we correct our flaws.

As one of our valued guest, your satisfaction is our primary concern and on behalf of my entire Team, I extend my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to your good self.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle
#44 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,820 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,307 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#18 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,152 reviews
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Address: | Opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#21 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £98 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai
Sahara Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing