We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Mumbai”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #25 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I was in Mumbai for 3-4 days and wanted a place which is close to airport as I hate travelling all the way from town for catching the flaght back home and getting stuck in mad traffic plus all my meetings were also supposed to be in suburbs. Somebody recommended me Sahara Star and my first reaction was is that property functional?
Ya most of us will think that it's still under construction but take my words the moment you step into this awesome place, you feel that you were wrong. Best thingabout Sahara Star is every room faces the central area which houses a nice atrium, collection of restaurants and some amazing stars on dome.
Every room is based on some themes like stars moon earth etc and inside also is done up accordingly eg in stars the moment you switch off all lights you see some starts shining above you. Great efforts are put in in doing a lot on lighting of rooms etc.
You can just relax by lying down on chairs in balcony and looking at activities going down in central area. Food is also amzing and most of the time they have some kind of food festival going on esp sea food etc. They have good mermaids kind of architecture inside and if you are with your family or friends you will definitely love the place.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DeeJay0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,624)
There are newer reviews for Sahara Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,491 - 2,497 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2009

Rooms vary but all reasonable to very good.
Can be noisy when entertainment is on in the central area.
Good choice of food.
Drinks pricey.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
Thank DarrellS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

I was looking forward to my stay immensely in this very popular and highly-rated hotel in Mumbai.
Upon arrival, everything was very impressive. After eating lunch. I decided to have a pedicure in the spa.
Unfortunately the experience was disgusting- the male member of staff proceeded to molest me during the course of the pedicure. After initially feeling very uncomfortable, but not wishing to create a scene, I tolerated it, but as it progressively worsened, I jumped off the chair and started shouting. The hotel staff tried to calm me down and urged me not to tell anybody about this!! The whole handling of the affair was increadible. They tried to offer me compensation by telling me that the pedicure would not be charged!!
I advise anybody staying at this hotel to think twice, especially if you are female!!
Overall disgusting experience, and I will be pursuing this as a formal complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicky55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

A very nice hotel with nice staff, meeting your every need. A lot of events happening, mermaids in the aquarium, laser/music shows every night, weddings etc. Gym and pool. 4 very nice restaurants at reasonable prices with food from all parts of Asia. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. They have a selection of 9 different kinds of pillows, one for every need. It's kinda special, don't you think?

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank compositesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

It is beautiful hotel.We stay there for a corporate confrence via event management group-Kogs n kings.

It a life time experince to stay there .The ambionce and outlook for room is superb.The architect has a view to think a different.

The mermaid and bakery shop is quite good.
I just suggest to improve the quality and quantiy of desserts.

I just enjoy the stay

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cherry05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Coutesy : Good
Value for money: Yes
Quality of the room: not up to 5 star level experience
Room service Food: Substandard & disappointing
Resturant Blue Ocean: services not up to the mark, Thai food was good
Hose keeping : the walls & Bar in the room full of dust, Lobbies poorly maintained

Security Systems : Overall Good, A different floor though restricted via room keys can be acessed via Fire Exit

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TonyM1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

On my business tour to Mumbai, we have a meeting in the Sahara Star Hotel. The Hotels architect was really excellent. We have also enjoyed good food. During our meeting, we urgently require the communication facilities viz. Internet, Fax etc. They have proper arrangements for the same, though they charged little bit more for that and stay & food was also expensive in compare to other hotels.

Overall the stay at Hotel Sahara Star was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SJainBhopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle
#44 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,791 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,875 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,242 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#18 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,124 reviews
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#28 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: £93 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing