We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but can get overwhelming after a while”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #25 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but can get overwhelming after a while”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

The hotel is made with the feel of a resort but proximity to the airport means that most patrons are business travelers..

My stay was very comfortable and I loved the room design- very chic and contemporary. But layout of the rooms means that you always need to shut the curtains to enjoy privacy or risk allowing a glimpse to other rooms..also the lack of natural lighting in rooms got to me after a week's stay and I checked out

But if you are looking for a short stay in the city this hotel is definitely recommended

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank desitraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,484
    666
    236
    85
    102
See reviews for
508
354
181
1,162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I stayed there for one night layover. The hotel provides free pick-up service from the both international and domestic terminals at Mumbai airport. You have to request the pick-up before your arrival. Terminal drop off can be arranged at time of check-out.

The hotel is a circular building. If you have a room at the other end from the hotel entrance, expect a long walk to your room. All rooms have balconies facing the indoor courtyard, which houses the fountain, performance stage and restaurants, and which boosts a fiery light show every night. Think Vegas Mirage volcano: It thrilled in its time, and has been a yawn since disco went out of fashion.

The night I was there, music was played at the stage until 11 pm. The pounding base and thumping tremble echoed the entire hotel and into the rooms, while smell of spice permeated the entire building.

I like loud music. I had been to Vegas partying all night. But when I went back to the hotel room, I wanted crash in the quietude of my own alcohol buzz and the decibel ringing in my ears.

I enjoy the aroma of herb and spice. I just don’t want to smell it before, during, and after the each meal.

I don’t know if that happens every night or if the music is played thorough the day. Otherwise the room was just so-so, a bit dingy, but roomy even, while the courtyard carries the muggy afternoon air into the night.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lariat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The hotel seems to be a 5 star but lacks that refinement in the services and amenity, overall the hotel is good value for money for business travelers on short visit. It's almost inside the airport premises, and have very good pick-up and drop service. The breakfast was 3 star, not upto the mark, but the dinner I ordered in room was very good in preparation and portion. I hope the hotel is finished externally soon, as it looks little ugly from outside but once you steep in, it's good. Specially the center of the hotel is a must see.

Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dr_reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2010

a hotel next to the airport although being a 5star rates are very reasonable a excellent property

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank spml50093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Stayed at Sahara Star Hotel at end of India trip in January 2010, the hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. The only thing negative is that they gave us a room away from the elevators and it was a LONG walk around the hotel. Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators (trust me its quite). Other than that everything was great!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We were only in Mumbai for one night so wanted to stay right next to the airport. The hotel was superb! The rooms have all the latest technology, were spotlessly clean and were so comfortable. Fantastic breakfast and the service was brilliant. We hired a driver for 4 hours to take us to some of the bars in the nearby areas and had a great time!

Could not fault the hotel. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emzo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Good decoration and interior

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Interior
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Umesh_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,768 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,820 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orchid Mumbai
#45 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,724 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#18 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,071 reviews
Taj Santacruz
#6 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Property: Sahara Star Hotel
Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing