We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is its location - Just outside airport”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #25 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only good thing is its location - Just outside airport”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Very poor internet speed.
Very poor response time.
Very poor service.
Very poor interior.
AC in rooms is not controllable.
Rooms sometimes stink.
Need to walk a long to get in room.
Only good thing is - Its just outside domestic airport.
Check in and check out may take 30 minutes sometimes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anilkumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    667
    238
    86
    103
See reviews for
514
358
181
1,170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2010

its a very convenient option for people who fly into mumbai for meetings in subarbs. its right next to the airport and the western express highway
the rooms are of various categories
in our first stay we took a regular room which was small but very comfortable.
in the second one we were upgraded to a deluxe room which had an amazing bathroom.
rooms have a nice view of the lobby which has been designed with an 'outdoor' look
the coffee shop is nice n very comfortable for business meetings
overall a nice experience with good privacy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My overall experience at the Sahara Star was brilliant. The 1 night rate I got on Expedia was superb value for a 5 star hotel that included pickup from the international airport & drop off at the domestic airport. The hotel is next to (literally) the domestic airport (but there was absolutely no noise), but if your room rate includes pickup/dropoff from/to the airport, they will pick you up from the international airport as well. My room (and I believe all rooms) face a huge enclosed central atrium with a lot of water bodies & greenery, and had a spacious balcony with good seating arrangements allowing me to enjoy the view & excellent room service. Even though the central atrium is protected from the elements it is much warmer than your room, meaning the balcony may be a bit warm for you (this is India so enjoy the enclosed warmth, especially since you won't find a duplicate view from your luxurious hotel room anywhere else). The room was very well appointed with a lot of lighting features, extremely clean & very well laid out. The bathroom is spacious, extremely clean, features both a tub & a separate shower (the "coolness" does take away some efficiency, since there isn't a lot of counter space to keep your bath stuff like toothbrush, shaver, etc. - but that's a very minor point for a short stay). One aspect could be a killer though - the atrium is used for events, so if there is one going on during your stay the noise will probably keep you awake at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getthefacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

A very Good 5 Star hotel the atrium was breathtaking had an amazing experience. A huge hotel The rooms were well equipt will all requirements. The rooms were nicely decorated the view from the balcony was awesome. The food quality at some of the restaurant was great The Presentation was also up to the mark. The Staff at the hotel were also very helpful and Caring. Prompt Service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemant_harlalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel has a widecircular shape revolving around an immense atrium filled with a swimming pool and multiple restaurants & bars. All rooms have a balcony giving onto this patio.
Every night, shows (laser, music blasting, bad singers etc) start at 8 pm until midnight and in your own room, you will feel like staying in the middle of a (cheap) night club. When you are in India on a business assignment, retreating to your room at the end of the day after the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the last thing you want and expect from your hotel.

To make matters worse, the hotel staff is dishonest about the issue. Around 8 pm, when I first called the reception, I enquired until what time the music would last. I was re-assured that it would stop in 5-10 minutes. In the span of 3.5 hours, I probably called a dozen times and went down to the reception 3 times. Each time to be assured that they would stop the music right away. Getting completely fed up around 11.30 pm, I took the matter in my own hands and went to the bar to ask them to stop the music. I was almost physically abused by one of the patrons with zero intervention from the staff. I thought that as a guest in a hotel, I am entitled to rest & safety - that is not the case in Sahara Star.
At the end of the incident, the GM on duty (at last) appeared and I finally understood from him that shows are on nightly until midnight. This the "positioning of the hotel", I was told. If I had been informed about this when I first called the reception, I would certainly have vowed never to stay in Sahara Star again but I would have accepted my lot and done something else than trying to work or sleep.

So fellow travellers, be warn. I can understand why many people rave about the design of the hotel (I would certainly recommend to have a drink there). But as a hotel for business travellers looking for rest & safety, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GABA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This hotel is simply awesome.. I am from Mumbai, but have been based outside for quite sometime.. I have seen the Sahara Star hotel building on all my mumbai visits, as the building is right outside the domestic airport.. but I never got a chance to get inside.. and from outside, it has a very awkward shape - something like a Globe..

Well, this time I was on a very short trip to Mumbai, and since I reached very late, I wanted to stay close to the airport to catch my next days flight.. and so I decided to inquire room rates at Sahara Star.. and to my surprise, I was given a very decent price which was almost 50% discounted, and I took it immediately.. I was also offered a complimentary dinner, which was simply exquisite.. but the best part about the hotel is its interiors.. once you are inside, you feel as if you are in some sort of water-world, with fountains all around.. and a big aquarium right at the center.. and they also have a wonderful laser show late in the evening..

The rooms were huge, and the architecture was simply amazing.. I think there were very few people staying in the hotel when I was there, and so there was plenty of staff to assist me whenever I needed them..

I was there only for 1 day, but felt as if I should have stayed more.. there was much more to explore in the hotel, but I simply didn't have enough time.. but will surely visit this place again, and stay there for 3-4 days and explore

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The outside of the hotel is hideous - It looks like a disused sports stadium. However, once inside it is truly superb. All the rooms face onto the central covered "lagoon" where the swimming pool and restaurants are situated surrounded by palm trees - So much nicer than looking out over the Mumbai skyline.

The staff were eager to help and ensure that my stay was as good as possible. Despite arriving late there was no problem having a shirt ironed for early the next morning.

The Hotel is situated right next to the domestic airport (though never heard any planes) and only 20 minutes to the International airport.

A calm, tranquil hotel with superb, clean, well maintained rooms and facilities.

Only con is the exterior look of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopherH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,846 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,801 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai
#45 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,215 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#17 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,083 reviews
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#28 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Property: Sahara Star Hotel
Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing