We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent Hotel Colaba
Ranked #176 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Noosaville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“home away from Home”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Regent Hotel for 6 nights in a Suite room.
The front dest management and staff were so very I kind to us and treated us like family, always offering a cup of tea at any opportunity.
Nothing was a problem, even offering a shower prior to our late flight departure.
The room was spacious and comfortable, we were glad to hear from Kirran, that the bathroom is to be remodelled.
Kirran was our floor manager, and attended to all our wishes with kindness and professionalism.
Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, we would recommend that this is the best hotel in Colaba to stay, in its price range.
Rooms alway very quiet.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    58
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
32
53
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Spent two nights at the Regent at the beginning of a 23 day women's tour of India. Our room was average, safe did not work , told staff but nothing was done, the location of the hotel is fantastic but that is about it. Two of the women on the tour were distressed when their rooms were entered by male staff at night supposedly to fix something, one woman had four staff in her room and felt very threatened and distressed.

This was our first trip to India, at no time in the following 21 days did we experience any harassment at all. I would not recommend this hotel for women travellers

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Perth
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had made an advanced booking for 3people at this hotel before traveling to India. On our arrival day the room given to us was a small 2bed room, and the check in process took over 2hours. Basically the hotel had not prepared for our arrival. Bear in mind we arrived at 11pm at night and did not get to a good room till 1am.

After several complains, we were given a suit that was spacious enough for 3 but the AC wasn't working in the room, the room wasn't cleaned,there were small black insects crawling on the bed and pillows, and the flush wasn't working.

We had to argue with the staff to get the room cleaned and someone attempted to fix the AC at 12am with no luck. Being exhausted from a trip, we eventually slept.

We checked out the following morning after letting the morning staff know of the difficulties faced the previous night. This is when the hotel offered us a room that would have been suitable for us. This room was being used by guests that would check out that afternoon.

Having received poor reception and services the night before I opted to decline this offer. It just confirmed that the hotel hadn't prepared for us and there was no point in making an advance booking and paying for it upfront as the management doesn't really take your request into consideration.

I had high expectations of this hotel and was deeply disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razmatazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location just behind the Taj Hotel and in a sideroad without the noise of the large avenues. Very friendly service, we appreciated especially the spontaneous offer to have a shower in the evening before going to the airport, although we had already checked out earlier that day. Large room with a third bed, which was a real bed. Very good value for the reasonable price. A pity that internet is only free with the computer of the reception, but has to be paid for in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogodela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived for one night and were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff. They assisted us with train fares and let us have a shower in the evening when we had already checked out. The rooms are clean and comfortable. As two girls staying here we felt comfortable and relaxed in the hotel environment. Will certainly stay again. Brilliant location to all of the sights as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodfoodfood56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights end of september. Good value for money. Excelent location in colaba. Rooms on second floor best. White bedsheets and towel have had severe beatings at the dhobi. Need soft white linen. The staff are corteous and freindly. The front office staff are very polite and helpful. The internet is cumbersone to use with a pre paid voucher . It should be free as most visitors have smartphones. Internet signal weak inside rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed in this Hotel on a business trip. Hotel is in a Vantage Location very close to Nariman Point, Fort and other prime areas and has excellent commuting facilities. The best part of the hotel is Sunrise view from Gateway of India which is 2 min walk from the Hotel.Please do not forget to carry your sports shoes for an early morning walk across the sea view. The staff is extremely courteous Though the rooms are little small but I find the stay very comfortable with excellent linen and clean washrooms. The only flipside is on the towel and toiletries in the wash room and the breakfast place which is not air-conditioned. There are very good coffee joints like Star Bucks and Coffee day in the walk able vicinity. Though i checked out at 12noon , the reception was extremely cordial and accommodated my baggage till late evening.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would like to come back soon

Room Tip: Please make it a point to carry your own towel and toiletries as I found the same not up to the mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgurazada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#104 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#136 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#80 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#53 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
429 reviews
14.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#103 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel Colaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel Colaba

Property: Regent Hotel Colaba
Address: 8, Best Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel Colaba 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Hotel Colaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbai Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing