We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude manager and staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Red Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Red Palm
Ranked #329 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude manager and staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We booked a four bed room in advance on hotelworld.com and when we got there after a 20 hour bus trip, the room was not available. The manager was extremely rude and unapologetic and we were in a bind as we had a friend arriving from oversea and needed to meet her at the hotel. They ended up saying we could have a three bedroom room, but just put a wholey and disgusting mattress onto the floor and wouldnt lower the price, depsite the room being tiny and quite gross. The manager was unbelievably rude and other staff just walked in and out of our room without knocking. Loud renovations going on next door also and rooms smelt.
Advice to the owner of this hotel.... get a new manager! When you stuff something up - apologise!

Room Tip: Don't expect to get what you booked online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    24
    10
    21
See reviews for
21
12
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good hotel for a 2-3 day stay in Mumbai. The staff is friendly and the owner is around often and very friendly. Room service is prompt, and on request even delivering coffee at 5:30AM.
The restaurant is good, and their focaccia sandwich is very good. We had it on all days of our stay.
The rooms very quiet, and clean, the sheets were clean, and the bathroom was also clean. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajitkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Decent budget hotels are next to impossible to find in Mumbai, esp close to the Airport. This hotel is right next to Khar Railway Station and has a few pubs around as well.

Was not really sure of what I was getting into after going thru countless negative (if not scary) reviews of budget hotels in Andheri. Booking and check in was smooth. Had booked for myself and a friend on the day of check in. Gave the front desk a call and they were pretty chill and just asked my friend to produce the e-voucher on check-in.

The room was clean and the toilet was good. Staff was friendly and the food was ok. Being close to Pali Naka/Bandra you're spoiled for dining/drinking options.

Pleasantly surprised to get all this at very reasonable rates, given my history with scary/pathetic hotels priced > Rs. 3000/-

Would definitely recommend to budget travelers. Scores on cleanliness, helpful staff and ease of accessibility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coldestflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pros: Deluxe room (102) was clean, service was good. Location is convenient for those who are taking the train, or if you want to be close to all the Khar, Bandra, Pali Hill goings on. The attached gym was nice to have available as well. Food at the hotel restaurant was excellent (you can even get super-healthy options from the special menu at the gym front desk). I recommend the Chicken pesto grilled sandwich. From what I gather, this hotel has improved significantly from past reviews- in the US, it is most like a Motel 6. Also worth noting is that I was a solo female traveler and felt safe.

Cons: Bring earplugs if you have a room that faces the street- there are late night clubs very close. I wish that wifi or an ethernet cable was available in the rooms, as I was there on business. I would have paid extra for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Alaina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Ridiculous service. We were a group of 40, taking almost all of their rooms and giving handsome business. However, we were highly appalled by the service provided. The rooms are suffocating , the bathroom irritatingly congested. The hotel management denies you the right to order anything from outside their cafe (which is excessively overpriced). Even after complying with their arbitrary rule, and getting down to the main gate to pick up our stuff, the surprisingly rude manager tried to shoo away the delivery boy.

Once , after coming back wet from the Mumbai rains, the management refused to give us extra towels for "our misconduct". They even argued that we were not allowed to "enter wet" in the hotel.

Besides that one of the managers rang the doorbell and entered our room without permission at 8 in the morning (we were sleeping) to look for a missing bed sheet. ABSOLUTELY INFURIATING us, we decided to shift our hotel and cancel our 6 day stay there, which again turned into an ugly altercation with the owner who came into the lobby shouting out one of our team member's name (the guy who got the booking done). In conversation, the owner started using swear words and refused to give our advance for the next day back, also threatening us to vacate the rooms immediately.

Thankfully we shifted the next day into a much better hotel across the street with a much more courteous staff. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, who wishes to be treated human and expects decent service.

Room Tip: Best of luck finding one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This place is good for individual visitors who interest to spend time explore the Mumbai city. You can feel typical Mumbai culture, city and etc... from near by. You can have access to some shopping and attraction places from this hotel.

There is limited access for WiFi at the restaurant area free of charge. But no WiFi access to your rooms.

Before you take a taxi or tuk tuk from just out side the hotel better to get advice from the hotel staff regarding place that you need to go and the average charges.

During some festival seasons, there are so many group of people moving here and there with some noisy music instrument especially drums... There is no view from the room.

Room is quite ok but the beds are not so comfortable. The staff and the services are good and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirajmorugama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Ahhhh Mumbai! We had a great time here. Got in At 1:30 am from Canada and some young dude put flower wreaths around our necks and welcomed us to the hotel. The night clerk was curled up on a couch nicely snoozling away. The room was OK. Its a budget hotel so who cares about a stain on the wall and a rather small TV? I mean everything worked pretty good and the hot water was not an issue. The staff were really friendly. The front doorman was cool and had no problem with us sitting outside with some beers that we brought from home with us ( at 3:00 am by the way!). Food was good to really good. They have some chef guy that puts together amazing dishes that were very tasty and reasonably priced. He even sat with us and chatted for quite a while. The owner is a somewhat famous international body builder who was most gracious and all around a nice guy. One of the front desk guys was from a small city called Chiplun, south of Mumbai, After we left, we took a bus there and stayed for about 10 days, neat place. We travelled about India for 3 months and they had no problem keeping a bag full of things we had bought that we didn't want to lug around with us. Best wishes to all the staff and owner of the Red Palm and lots of love from Peter and Maggie, Thunder Bay, Canada

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
The UniContinental Hotel
The UniContinental Hotel
#324 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Linkway
Hotel Linkway
#236 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#62 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Cosmo
Hotel Cosmo
#256 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Orchids Executive
Blue Orchids Executive
#372 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#47 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Palm

Property: Hotel Red Palm
Address: Guru Gobind Singh Marg, 3 rd Road | Near Khar Railway Stn., Khar West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Red Palm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Mumbai near Khar railway station and Bombay's shopping mecca of Linking Road, Bandra and the BKC business areas. Free wifi in Rooms, Free breakfast, free Gymnasium Red Gym famous Fitness Centre In Mumbai call us 24X7/ 9619648725 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Red Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing