We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excuse of Mumbai Weather”
Review of Royal China

Royal China
Ranked #160 of 14,536 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excuse of Mumbai Weather”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Food - Great.
Overall the place was good, food was good, they even took care of the kids with us, but unfortunately the icing on the cake was experienced below.

While our family was almost done with the food the final last portion of the dish left us with shock and all the goodness of the food was lost, cause we didn't know how many flies we had eaten.

How the situation was handled:-
The manager did come up to us and apologized, which was well managed by the manager, but what happens in most instances was the final reason - Mumbai Weather and climate is the reason for the fly :-(, this reason completely washed away everything, nothing to go against the manager.
The Chef, did even try to give us a desert, which was well prepared but above few things led to an overall Average feeling.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nilesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalchina3, Manager at Royal China, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Nilesh P,

Thank you for your review for Royal China Mumbai.

We strive to give you the best of service every time you dine with us.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    85
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food in a plush setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely experience. We had dinner here with friends and the food was excellent. We ate mainly the fish dishes which was perfection and as good as the best in China. Would definitely return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steppenw0lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalchina3, Manager at Royal China, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear steppenw0lfe,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you had a great dining experience at Royal China Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, nj
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Real Chinese food at Royal China”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My review is based on my experience with an all you can eat special dinner available to members on certain Monday nights. The best part is, for a fixed, bargain price you can order anything off the menu except lobster and whole fish!!

We started off with dumplings which were excellent like prawns with chives and Wasabi prawns. The spring rolls were just okay. The Peking Duck was authentic - which I did not expect in Mumbai. The duck was not as juicy and slightly undercooked. For mains, we had pork spare ribs, crispy seaweed and lamb with spring onions and ginger - all very good. The Basa in black bean sauce was disappointing, and egg fried rice was okay.

Dishes with chili oil are quite hot and the food tends to be salty (I guess to meet Indian taste).

The toffee banana desert with vanilla ice cream was superb - crisp and just sweet enough.
The ambiance is very good with very good noise level. The service was professional - I have often seen Indians "dictate" service rather than being patient to "receive" good service. The recommendations by our waiter were excellent as I described. We asked for small portions so we could try different things and waiter was very accommodating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njG-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalchina3, Manager at Royal China, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear njG-man

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you had a great dining experience at Royal China Mumbai. Appreciate you mentioning the dishes that you enjoyed during your visit.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really/Royally Good.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have been eating here for years now. I am biased towards this location and shun going to their twin restaurant at Bandra, which is closer to my home. Their dimsums are very good....I like the pork ones, though the seafood dimsums should not be ignored. Crispy Duck, available half or whole and shredded at your table, with pancakes and their Flaming Prawns are what I enjoy the most. Ask the steward for the fresh catch of the day and have your fish just steamed with ginger and soy sauce. The desserts are okay. The service is very efficient.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalchina3, Manager at Royal China, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Anil K,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you had a great dining experience at Royal China Mumbai. Appreciate you mentioning the dishes that you enjoyed during your visit.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Normally i don't like chinese food, but this restaurant is fantastic!!! I never ate so well ... We ate meat and fish and everything was very very good .... Fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megaride R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalchina3, Manager at Royal China, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Megaride R,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to know that you had a great dining experience at Royal China Mumbai.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal China also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Royal China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing