We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEVOURING FOOD”
Review of Masala Bay

Masala Bay
Ranked #97 of 14,768 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$77
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bandra West
Description: Savour the new wave of contemporary Indian cuisine over a glass of wine. Blending aromatic Indian spices with modern cooking techniques, Masala Bay produces flavours that add a new dimension to the experience of dining. With a selection of traditional Indian favourites cooked in minimal oil and with just the right blend of spices, the restaurant shows that light and flavourful are not culinary opposites. The extensive cuisine spread features traditional Indian food with an accent on seafood from coastal regions of India.Masala Bay features an interactive theatre kitchen, a separate bar area and three private dining rooms. A harmonious composition of forms varying in texture, material and colour, the interiors of the restaurant are enhanced by the pleasing use of light and contrast that creates a sense of intimacy in the open, large space. Warm silver tones and occasional flashes of colour along with polished granite floors, lend a clean and contemporary look. The dramatic decor is the perfect setting for the progressive cuisine. Complement your meal with a selection from the The Lounge Bar. You can choose from spirits from around the world including a variety of over 500 different wines, ranging from New World vintages to all time favourite like French Bordeaux.Cuisine: Indian Location: Lobby Level 1 Hours: Lunch from 12:30 p.m. to 2:45 p.m., Dinner from 7:30 p.m. to 11:45 p.m. Reservations: Recommended Attire: Smart Casual
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We devoured the Indian vegetarian food served to us. All the preparations were rightly prepared to suit our tatses. In the end we had no place to take up the desert. The condiments and crudites further enhanced the dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KANKARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit Z, General Manager at Masala Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn that you found our location convenient and could use it as per your advantage. It also pleases us to learn that you were impressed with our service areas and facilities offered at Masala Bay.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of the food and service at the restaurant and we are so glad that match your tastes and preferences. Your appreciation will definitely be conveyed to the teams and I'm sure they will have a big smile upon reading your feedback.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again at the Taj Lands Ends, Mumbai! If in the meantime there is anything I can do for you please feel free to let me know directly.
My e-mail address for easy reference is birgit.zorniger@tajhotels.com.

Warm wishes
Birgit Zorniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here in august. We found the food to be amazing. The service level was great to. Staff very attentive to client. We ordered a biryani in between our lunch and it was bought in time we did not have to wait.
We found the taste of some of the food to be very homely. Once again their main items on the menu are Marwari food and they tasted really nice. The paan offered at the end of lunch was a great touch and of good quality.

Thank router1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit Z, General Manager at Masala Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lands End, Mumbai!

We thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback for Masala Bay, our award winning signature Indian restaurant.

At Masala Bay, we offer our guests the best of authentic Indian cuisine .We are further delighted that there was no waiting time and quality of service and food was well appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of serving you again at Taj Lands End, Mumbai! If in the meantime there is anything I can do for you please feel free to let me know directly. My e-mail address for easy reference is birgit.zorniger@tajhotels.com.

Warm wishes
Birgit Zorniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice Authentic Indian Food. Should definitely try this restaurant during anyone's stay in Taj Lands End.

1  Thank vikkyhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit Z, General Manager at Masala Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lands End, Mumbai!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the meal experience at Masala Bay. The team and chefs will have a big smile when they see your feedback! We really look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

If in the meantime there is anything I can do for you please feel free to let me know directly.
My e-mail address for easy reference is birgit.zorniger@tajhotels.com.

Warm wishes
Birgit Zorniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Amazing fresh dishes, watch the chef's prepare the meal in front of your eyes! Really worth a visit and you have to try the chicken

1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit Z, General Manager at Masala Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lands End, Mumbai!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the food and service experience at Masala Bay. The team will have a big smile when they see your feedback! We really look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
If in the meantime there is anything I can do for you please feel free to let me know directly.
My e-mail address for easy reference is birgit.zorniger@tajhotels.com.

Warm wishes
Birgit Zorniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm staying at the Taj hotel in Mumbai and decided to eat in at the hotel at the Masala Bay (when in Rome....) what. A good choice. Shared a lamb and chicken starter and main meal and both courses were just superb, the breads were just divine (we had a choice offered by the staff). I haven't enough space to say all the good things about this meal so i'm not going to waste my words, but if you are visiting Mumbai just try it for yourself!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit Z, General Manager at Masala Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Lands End, Mumbai!

We thank you for your detailed and appreciative feedback and are glad that you had a pleasurable stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a great time with us and were impressed with our food and menu selection and service experience at Masala Bay. Our associates are our biggest assets and we are glad that they could make helpful recommendations & meet your desired expectations by way of their warm, hospitable and amicable behaviour.

They are empowered to provide intuitive and personalized services to our patrons and we are happy to learn that they could take care of all your requirements with utmost courtesy and professionalism. Taj Lands End, Mumbai offers a total of Six food and beverage venues, each offering a unique dining experience. Whatever cuisine may interest you we at Taj Lands End have something to offer.

Our popular dining venues include Maritime By San Lorenzo, our Italian restaurant, Ming Yang, our Indian cuisine dining venue and Vista, our multi-cuisine restaurant. Apart from the regular spread at the dining venues, we regularly host food & beverage festivals for our guests, offering them the authentic flavors of the world.

The team will have a big smile when they see your feedback! We really look forward to welcoming you back very soon! If in the meantime there is anything I can do for you please feel free to let me know directly. My e-mail address for easy reference is birgit.zorniger@tajhotels.com.

Warm wishes
Birgit Zorniger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Bay also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Masala Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing