We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soul Fry

Soul Fry
Ranked #827 of 14,477 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Bandra West
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food !”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I was a long stayer at Taj Lands End and was trotting the bylanes of Pali hill one evening. Saw the place and went inside for a quick bite. Had a pint of beer and 'Tamdi Komdi' with Roti. I had actually left the order to the staff. Probably the best 'Chicken Preparation i ever had. It was toooo good. Bursting with goan flavours. Thinly sliced chicken picattas in Red chilli n vinegar paste. Absolutely rustic flavours. I could never go back to the place but just because of this one dish, have recommended Soul Fry to atleast 20 friends. And i will definitely go back there whenever I am in mumbai next. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash_Nair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bhandra Brilliante!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Absolute corker of a small place. Great food, been going here for YEARS. Good bar, nice vibe, pretty decent service. But the food is truly truly top notch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghostkamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The bait? Fish Thali!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Small, crowded tables close together, looks shabby, wonder why the lampshades are rarely cleaned. We were looking for a seafood place in Bandra, surprisingly very few, and someone suggested this little eatery opposite the vegetable and fish market in Pali Hill. Dim lighting, and it was lunch time, and dim lighting makes me suspicious that there is something to hide. What made up for all this was the fish thali. Actually, it started with the starter of fried rawa bombil, delicious. Snail service, wonder why, there seemed to be enough staff, and after the starter it seemed they were hoping we would be happy and ready to wait. The fish thali was worth waiting for. Generous portions of freshly made surmai flish curry, masala clams, rice, roti, fried bombil, a vegetable, authentic, spicy goan style, the cocunut curry was smooth and flavourful, the clams masala was awesome. For Rs 350, worth the gorging. But sadly, the management should spruce it up, like its related restaurant in South Mumbai, opposite the Mumbai University, which has a lovely interior, great service too, and good food. Some suggestions, the naked fried pomfret we ordered was a sad testimony to our fish markets teeming with this speciality, it was tiny, not well cooked. Please expect prices that do not match the decor, we paid three thousand for three thalis, a fish curry rice, a fried pomfret and three beers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Had been there twice in early 2012. Nice Food and decent ambience. Value for Money. The only flip side was service, which was extermly slow even at non-crowded time. Everything else was good. Recommended

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ankursu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This is the best value in Mumbai that I ate at”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Came here 3 times on a 3 week trip because the food was go good and the prices were so low!

The Goan style prawns in gravy are a must have. Huge prawns in the creamiest Goan gravy you will ever taste. Get some bread to soak it up.

We ate that prawn dish every time but mixed it up with some paneers and chickens dishes as well that were all good. Best part of all is they take credit cards and are very cheap. Dinner for 2-3 was always around 20-30 US bucks -- with alcohol.

Friendly service. Ambiance is chill, indoor and outdoor section -- but certainly nothing fancy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soul Fry also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Soul Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing