We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel for family vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Green South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Green South Hotel
Ranked #138 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Noida, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is located near to Girgaon Chaupatty and Wankhede Stadium. If you are travelling to down town, this hotel is best option on reasonable tarrif. Rooms are very spacious but bulit old style and need rennovation. Staff members are very polite from front desk to room service. There is no restaurent in the hotel and served only continental breakfast in the room. But if you are lucky and get sea view room it gives you best of experience of Mumbai. You can enjoy roaming around Marine drive till late night.

Room Tip: Please ask for Sea Facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashishmittal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
22
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

When I looked at the hotel from outside, I did not find it attractive. But the location was absolutely amazing - facing the majestic Arabian Sea. In the same vicinity, there are two hotels with same name, this one differs as it has South added to its name. The pictures posted on internet are fantastic.

The good part ends here. When you walk in the hotel, you are met with manual entry and guest registration with same old Guest Register. I asked for sea facing room and it was gladly given to me. When you walk up the stairs and taken through dingy corridors, you get another feeling. You find basic facilities in the hotel with old furniture and not so comfortable beds.

There is no room service. I was told that I will have to order food from outside. I was handed over some menu cards. I realised that I have made a mistake. I called up Reception and shockingly I was told that the hotel is one star. On the reviews, this hotel has more than 3 stars.

Stay only if you are looking for a hostel accommodation at not so basic price. I had to look for alternatives as this Hotel does not have any facility worth the name. Don't be deceived with location, the hotel has nothing to offer.

My advice : Stay away or else you will regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish_Makhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on Marine drive and a bit dearer on the price as compared to the rooms but ideally a great place to put up if you're visiting Mumbai.

You pay about USD 65 inclusive of taxes for a night but this does not include breakfast. You'll probably get 2 single beds on the room rather than a big bed if you're alone.

Its location is great because most tourist attractions are close by especially the Colaba district, it is 15 to 20 minute walk from there. A taxi fare wouldn't be more than 30 INR.

Overall my stay was pleasant, the guys at the reception were very helpful as well as the maintenance staff as they would go out of their way to ensure they carry all your luggage, shopping bags when you enter the hotel.

I will definitely visit again if I was to go to Mumbai alone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Imran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for New Year's Eve so it was noisy but I do not blame the hotel for this. The rooms are very very basic and the beds uncomfortable. Breakfast was ok and well priced. It is expensive for what you get. The location is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, London UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Marine Drive is the only place to stay when arriving in the culture shock that Mumbai will be for most (especially after a long flight).
Yes it's dated, not terribly cheap, has the noisiest AC in India, and there is no restaurant (go to Stadium around the corner for excellent cheap eats, Chowpatty a stroll away, or a city full of restaurants is also available). But the location and the view can't be beaten.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location however right next to the main rd, marine parade. We had two rooms, one on the side of the building and one at the front. The side room wasn't to bad however there is constant noise from the rd. the front room which I swapped to half way through our 4 day stay was very noisy. I was unable to sleep for the two days. The rooms are tired and lacking character or comfort and the doors and windows are not insulated so let in all the noise. For the price, it was not worth it. Book ahead and have a look...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This was my fourth time staying at the SGS Hotel and this time I probably had the best room. Coming from the airport, I asked the man checking us in if he had any sea-facing rooms. He politely gave us 412. The view from here is incredible, even while having a shower! The hotel is cheap for Marine Drive and the guys who work there are incredible! Thanks again SGS!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank themarinelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Sea Green Hotel
#208 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#57 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
West End Hotel
#106 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Astoria Hotel
#105 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Gateway of India
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#117 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Oasis
#240 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Green South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Green South Hotel

Property: Sea Green South Hotel
Address: 145 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Green South Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 large, air conditioned rooms along with an unrivaled location, makes Sea Green South Hotel one of the most ideal places to stay in Mumbai. Guests are treated to stunning views of Marine Drive overlooking the Arabian Sea while at the same time enjoy easy access to a selection of nearby restaurants, shops and tourist attractions. Sea Green South Hotel prides itself on offering gracious, personal attention and service to all its guests. The hotel has been attracting guests from all over the world for over 50 years. Reservations are only a click away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Green South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing