We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth and Hospitality at its Best!”
Review of Sugan Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugan Niwas Palace
Ranked #78 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warmth and Hospitality at its Best!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed three nights at Sugan Niwas, recommended by Trip Advisor. Loved it! The owner, Thakur Arun Singh has 40 long years of experience with the Oberoi Group and he and his son Vijay have really transformed their ancestral home into a class heritage hotel. There is a mystique about the layout - there no straight lines or corridors like a contemporary property. Steps leading to terraces, banisters and railings of the 1940s, sit outs that suddenly emerge as you climb up and walk on. I visited four double rooms, and each had a different layout and decor. Some rooms are long, like mine, some have split levels and one had a flight of steps going up to the wash room. But the decor is amazingly classy -vintage curios and decoration pieces. The lobby and the ante room are best- actually very regal!. The family’s photographs and awards are elegantly displayed in the verandah. The staff are very courteous and caring, Vijay answers the phone day or night. I took my breakfast on the porch of the restaurant and the morning sun filtering through the greenery of the garden was an awesome experience. The garden was beautiful, with statues, creepers and arches. The food is like home cooked stuff but was a tad expensive. Couldn't use the pool much to my chagrin as I was on business but it's Madagascar blue water was very tempting. Good job Arun Sahab and Vijay, your hotel is great value for money!!

Room Tip: I found all the rooms to be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajdeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    59
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
64
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I visited Sugan Niwas Palace and had the most awesome time there. The Manager/ Owner Vijay and his father looked after us extremely well. Coming from a family of hoteliers it was but apt for them to convert their ancestral home into a lovely heritage hotel

The rooms are well laid out and the service was super. All in all we had a memorable time and were looked after with a lot of love and affection. Each morning we delved into our breakfast and were served as family members rather than normal guests. The restaurant also has a lovely assortment of Indian dishes and delicacies on offer

I would recommend this hotel to friend groups/ couples who are looking for a lovely laid back and relaxed holiday a midst the diverse and enchanting sites and sounds which Jaipur has on offer.

Room Tip: the Maharaja suite is super :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Elegance,Hospitality,luxury,affordability and Comfort...Suganiwas is a blend of all 5 qualities....I visited Jaipur along with my family....This place was highly recommended by my colleague.....I chose this hotel because it had pleased my friend who being a senior bureaurcrat is hardly Pleased with services and when i visited this place this place turned out to be exactly same.....Mr. Vijay is highly efficient....best time of my vacations were when i was in the hotel itself.....being a heritage hotel it has well preserved the legacy of Rajputana history...u can see all sorts of swords of Vijay's family who themselves have a royal lineage but are extremely warm people..(Once they told me the bus station was once their propert but government took it from them for bus station)...Its totally worth of money....With all the services they provide the tarrifs are extremely low...The moment you arrive Jaipur,they take care the rest of your tour and make it as pleasant as possible....I was reading some of the reviews,I didn't find any problem in bathrooms and in any kind of services.....Overall its a must visist place and "highly RECOMMENDED"....o yess if you are a game lover,you will find a heaven in this place as you can have PSPS on request along with countless CDs.......Dont listen to BUGGERs who are posting bad reviews,I think they havent visited this palce but just bad mouthing about it....Its a really pleasant place to stay....

Room Tip: Maharaja suite is what i'll recoomend since it offersluxury of a 5 star room but comes at very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rannjaysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I travelled to Jaipur from Cape Town, South Africa (my first visit to India - and on my own [I'm female]) specifically to attend the 2012 Jaipur Literary Festival at the end of January (a MUST for anyone interested in literature from that region!!!!!) and stayed at Sugan Niwas Palace, which I'd found on this site, for the week of the festival. And right from the start - when I began enquiring via email about accommodation there, Vijay was heart-warmingly helpful and patient. And this continued right through to my arrival and my entire stay there. I could ask Vijay for advice about anything from banks, transport, sights to buying small supplies - and, one of my highlights there - discuss each day at the festival with him in the evenings, during which Vijay gave me insights into literature and life in India and in general (with many a philosophical wisdom sprinkled in between). Vijay's father, Mr Singh Senior, added to the warmth, especially with his stories of an older India and his inviting me to view their personal photos. What a way to learn a little more about India's history! And service was ALWAYS excellent, as was the food - yum. Family-run accommodation that made me feel safe, welcome and - well - cossetted.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Was tempted to stay in this hotel due to the positive reviews but was really disppointed with the experience. They really need to work on their cleanliness standards. Food was also not that great. Please don't get carried away just by the reviews.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank harris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This lovely palace, run by its friendly owners, is a real Indian jewel. I had a large and comfortable suite at the front. The very personal decoration suits this place. The bathroom might not be state of art, but I think it is just the way it should be. Modernization would disturb the experience. The served meals are good. The palace has a nice garden and swimming pool. The internet connection is a bit poor. Best to go to the reception area.
I definitely recommend to stay in this palace if you visit Jaipur. It ads something!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. Personal and efficient service. Great location - a quick auto ride to all the major sights and markets.
Vijay who looks after the property with his father, made us feel very welcome. He had great recommendations for places to see, places to shop and what to eat.
It's also great value for money. All-in-all, an excellent choice when you're visiting Jaipur.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#97 of 380 in Jaipur
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#102 of 380 in Jaipur
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#19 of 380 in Jaipur
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Khandela Haveli
Khandela Haveli
#41 of 380 in Jaipur
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#36 of 380 in Jaipur
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugan Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugan Niwas Palace

Property: Sugan Niwas Palace
Address: Vijay Path,Behind Sindhi Camp, | Bani Park, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugan Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugan Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing