We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”
Review of Sugan Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugan Niwas Palace
Ranked #93 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice hotel which has been run by the same family since it was built. They welcomed us warmly and provided useful info when we checked in.

The room was large, had plenty of rustic charm and was comfortable. The free wifi works well in the room (#305) as the router was outside. The TV, however, looks almost as old as the hotel.

Breakfast was a choice of omelettes, toast and jam. We also had dinner which was good (order in advance; it takes over an hour).

The swimming pool is a nice extra for when you're done with sightseeing and ready to relax.

A bit rough around the edges, but can't fault it for the price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BritTravellingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Across all my travels, I always look for the perfect match of price, experience, location and comfort. Sugan Niwas is one of the places that comes as close as possible for the formula. Now I know that calling it a palace is a bit of stretch. And even I was worried with all negative reviews here. But I guess one should look beyond the obvious temptation of squeezing every penny and being a boorish demand-baby. (please go pay a months salary and stay at the rambagh then)

The service is homely and does'nt feel antispetic or artificial like that of the luxury chains. The glam and polish is lacking, but what you get much more than what the room tariff would get you anywhere in India. Stick to the standard indian dishes in the restaurant and you wont go wrong. I guess most of the bad reviews are from people who came in expecting a Miechlin star here. But most of all, it is hard to imagine that a genuine blue-blooded owner of a heritage property receives you personally when you arrive and calls you daily to ask if everything is good. None of the other palaces in Rajasthan offer that. This is pretty much like staying with that friend of yours who married into a rich aristocratic family (i have one btw) and now spoils you every time you go meet him.

The rooms are authentic old-school and not something of RCC with a few chattris put in to con you. Some lose ends in the furnishings, but it is a lottery ticket experience for the price you pay. Come to think of it, taking the Volvo down from Delhi and staying here is the best weekend plan you can ever make. Just enough distance from Sindhi Camp to give you a nice sleep, unlike the all pigeonholes around the bus stand. The hotels near Jal Mahal are too much of a pain to reach anyway. My fav place in Jaipur now.

Room Tip: Vijay will anyway take great care of you. We didnt even have to ask for an upgrade. Ask for a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadasmi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The manager of the hotel is very nice.
The rest of the staff too but one of them was very insistent on having us for dinner at night.
The hotel is very difficult to find. Our driver didn't know it and we spend 30 min the locate the hotel. Print a map !
The exterior of the hotel is cute with a pretty little garden.
The rooms are very big but the furniture is a bit old. It would need to be freshen up.
The breakfast was standard but good.
The hotel is a short drive outside on the of the gate of Old Jaipur.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

During the booking process, the owner Vijay was quick and detailed in communication. He provided detailed driving directions to our driver and was personally there to greet us, even though we arrived at late 9pm. We were upgraded to a very nice and spacious suite over looking the pool. However, we had to switch rooms due some trouble with the air-conditioning. Our room was spacious and well appointed including a fridge. Bedding was comfortable and air-conditioning effective. Management and staff were very customer service oriented and helpful. Vijay was nice enough to provide guidance on restaurants and shopping too.

Room Tip: Every room is unique in its own way. Since the hotel is on a quite street, most rooms will be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sugan Niwas Palace. Starting from our phone call to Vijay Aditya, owner of the hotel, we had a very pleasant experience. The amount of personal attention Vijay provides to his guests is remarkable. The rooms are great, the open space is excellent for kids and family alike. Great and very well done interior decorations in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavinSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A pity I was limited to one night only,beautiful suite,friendly people and close to everything.A bonus was the quality of my room service meal,excellent,would happily return.Great value for money,also has a pool which given more time I would certainly have used given the Rajasthan climate.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank johnnol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I had a wonnnderful stay at Sugan Niwas Palace. This was my third time in Jaipur and I can say that this was the best stay ever in Jaipur. The host (Vijay - owner of the property) was super gracious and helpful. They have taken utmost care of us right from the time we landed in Jaipur. Felt comfortable. Felt at home. Felt pampered. The cook made amazing Parathas for breakfast. Had booked a Superior room and was upgraded to the Maharani Suite - how does it get any better! It does. The staff is amazingly helpful giving us space and local advice when needed. The food was also great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to all my friends. Liked the location - far enough to be away from the noise, Close enough to be ready to go anywhere in and around Jaipur. Easy access to public transport. Overall - a FANTASTIC experience. Totallly totallly worth it. Thanks Vijay for being such a wonderful host.

Room Tip: The Maharani Suite totally rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VibsGosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#21 of 385 in Jaipur
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laxmi Palace - A Heritage Home
1.9 mi away
Naila Bagh Palace
Naila Bagh Palace
#108 of 385 in Jaipur
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#70 of 385 in Jaipur
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 385 in Jaipur
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natraj
Hotel Natraj
#89 of 385 in Jaipur
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugan Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugan Niwas Palace

Address: Vijay Path,Behind Sindhi Camp, | Bani Park, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugan Niwas Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugan Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing