We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Ask for a Heater!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bharat Mahal Palace
Ranked #309 of 518 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights, a group of 7. The hotel is quirky and seems very British/Indian. There were a few issues that we noticed like calling a dead Leopard a Cheetah for example. This was what we found when we went to what was called the Trophy room. This room had many other great cats that had been killed over the last 90 years by the family and the skins or bodies where displayed in cabinets.
That is not an Issue, so to speak as it is part of India's history and this was expected as the hotel is from a royal dynasty from the British rule of India. The family name is the Singhji Family and this was the way it was when British rule was occupying India. This was the way, as was explained to us, that the Maharajas showed there strength, by killing large animals and stuffing and hanging them in cabinets or placing on the walls photos of the incident, how you became a man!. But when you look into some of these very historical but a little tatty and incorrectly labelled display cabinets it was sad and not really historical because they were not looked after or historically correct in their labelling of these animals in these cases.
Over all, the hotel was not as friendly as a lot of hotels in india that we had stayed in. The building looks better on the photos then in actuality. The pool was not warm enough to use and was more decorative and used for the public to hold events rather then be available for the guest of the hotel to use, this seemed to happen a lot more when a function was being held.
OH&S is not something that we found to be readily available to the staff or the guests. The management did not seem overly interested in our or their staff members well being (see photos). It seemed that as long as the guest were quiet there was obviously not a problem.
The owner lives next door and did not show any sign of friendliness to us as guests staying at their hotel when they were standing right next to us and we said hello to them.
Our Bathroom was very slippery with no mats or anything to wipe the floor when you had a shower. The restaurant was deserted and slow with its service and did not seem to be able to get an order right. Food was a lower quality Indian food than a lot of other hotels we had been to.

We had an interesting incident whilst we were staying there.

It was the second night and we had a very cold room which also had see-through curtains and the windows faced into a walk way to other rooms, so we had to get dressed in the bathroom or with the lights off in our room for privacy it was cold. So on this night the group asked for heating to heat up the very cold rooms we were all staying in as it was winter and chilly. The others members of our group received their heaters without to much hassle some worked others did not and they excepted this as India. Our heater came with a lovely friendly staff member who arrived at the room with the heater, a blow heater. The staff member then worked out that the power plug did not suit the power point in the room so he went away and came back with another heater this time without a power plug on it. This staff member then stripped the wires and THEN licked the wires and place the three WET wires into the socket (bare, down to the copper). Then he turned on the power point switch and said "it is all fixed" and left the room. Within a couple of minutes, whilst I was taking photos, because it was next to my bed where my head was to lay and i was still dumbfounded that he had licked the wires and then placed them into the socket without dying, the heater went bang and bang again like a gun going off and a large about of smoke and crackling continued to happen from the powerpoint.
My room mate heard this and came running from the bathroom where they had been in the shower and before i could say anything had done a automatic response and with a thong (rubber shoe, flip flop etc) kicked the heater away from the socket so that we did not have a fire.
Management was informed and they laughed and said "that is the Indian way but! all was good now? yes?" we felt rude so we said little and they offered us another heater but we declined and said we will be alright. We then muttered to ourselves and laughed as what else could we do and went to bed loading up our clothes on the top of our beds to keep warm.
I still don't believe that the Hindu way for any manager is to kill your staff and guests thats not what i would call conducive to a good marketing strategy or something you would like to add to your resume, wouldn't you say?
I thinkThe Bharat Mahal Palace could be a good hotel and actually it could deserve its 3 stars if it sorted the issues it has out. If you like experience then please go and try the Bharat Mahal Palace but just be a little more cautious of your own safety and step back if you get a man with a heater and no plug on the end of it.

Room Tip: Be like the indians don't accepted 2nd best and say it, but with tact and a smile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were looking for some cheap options and we came across this one. Obviously it had to be cheap as the management has failed to understand the importance of a Palace.
The rooms are ok. There are horns hanging in the rooms which gives it a very haunted feel. We were two couples and the other couple had 2 children. Comparatively its a decent size property but needs to be maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitnsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a beautiful room, very 'Indian'. Food was great. The first night we had room service. Good service good food. Staff attentive and friendly. Good English spoken. You will probably want your earplugs because of the nearby trains.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahjc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very very beautiful property, lovingly restored and reasonable price. Food is also good, and ambience is great. centrally located. Hosts are true blue blood royal family. Very impressive people and you don't have to go to visit jaipur palace to know what royal class is. . Everything is awesome and it should make 5 stars But there are two major problems that destroys everything.

One is that there is a train railway line which makes building shake but you may take this in your stride and holiday mood.. The second is that the managers (not owners) have poor idea of customer service, not expected in hotel industry.

E.g The manager put us under a noisy water pump that rattled the roof every time someone opened a tap and refused to accept this as their mistake. The owners accepted the error, and offered a token refund (< $10) , as a matter of principle - but the manager did not give it. Couple more items like this and the beautiful experience was spoilt.

Room Tip: Ask the manager. some rooms have serious issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serangulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We only stayed one night as we were on a quickfire tour.
Lovely ambience, just don't expect too much from the kitchen.
Friendly and helpful staff who arranged a half day taxi tour for us at a reasonable rate.
The room was immense and comfortable with lovely furniture.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A royal stay in the pink city is what one can expect here... rooms with all the antiquity of an old and historically important palace and a serene swimming pool set with a perfect ambiance marked our stay. close to the airport with good connectivity and excellent service makes it a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi9082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The manager convinced us that this was a high quality establishment. It was not! Upon arrival we had to wait at least 1 hour for the room. Cleanliness was appauling considering we had paid 3500 Rupees. There were dry feces on the toilet and the duvets were not clean. Dust everywhere. Staff are utterly incompetent. Breakfast was average. The exterior promised much more than the service delivered. The shower and the hotel pets were the only highlights of this very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliverdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Abhay Haveli Jaipur
Hotel Abhay Haveli Jaipur
#271 of 385 in Jaipur
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#109 of 385 in Jaipur
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chirmi Palace
Hotel Chirmi Palace
#147 of 385 in Jaipur
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Natraj
Hotel Natraj
#81 of 385 in Jaipur
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
66 Residency-A Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Orion
Hotel The Orion
#190 of 385 in Jaipur
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bharat Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bharat Mahal Palace

Address: R16 Bharat Mahal Palace Parivahan Marg Near Civil Lines, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 518 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: £20 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bharat Mahal Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bharat Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing