We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights at Devi Niketan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Ranked #56 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 nights at Devi Niketan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed at Devi Niketan with family (03 members) in end Dec 13. The place has a great ambiance and rooms are spacious. 24-hrs hot water in bathroom and electric tea kettle in room to make tea/ coffee. Room heater provided by staff at no extra charge view prevailing cold weather. Staff very courteous. Place very clean. Breakfast is buffet and had a mixture of Indian and Western dishes - poha, puri-bhaji, wheat flakes, fruit, fruit juice, milk etc. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hrishi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    62
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
89
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A wonderfull hotel for a family rest, not big, quiet, comfortable. The staff was very attentive, the food was good, without many spicies for us (but you can take it separately)
The owner, the admiral, is a man with very high hospitality. The two days tour organized by him for sightseeing of Jaipur was unforgettable.
Vitali Khvesko
Moscow, Russia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmkhvesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

A really disappointing stay at Devi Niketan marked by sullen and rude staff and very poor maintenance.
They pulled the old trick of not cleaning our room because we didn't hand the key in.
The pool was dirty with damaged tiles and the garden looks nothing like the 'management photos'. The patio looks like a bus shelter.
Food was disappointing.
The Admiral takes a nap about 3 times a day and while he's away, nothing gets done.

Only one member of staff seemed to care - the others were downright rude.

Have a look at pics - they don't lie. Especially the pic of the bottles they put your water in!

Avoid!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfytom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viraat, Manager at Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your observations.

“Damage control” measures taken. Most repairs / renovations completed. Others being progressed.

Pleased to report that the Admiral’s “Flagship has weathered the storm and continues to float, to move and to fight” – and that Devi Niketan continues to receive and welcome guests from India and across the oceans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Blair
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Devi Niketan is a great place to stay. We had gone as a group of 10 family members (with ages ranging from 13yrs to 78yrs!), and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The haveli itself was beautiful, with spacious rooms done up in traditional decor, but with all modern amenities. The common room/lounge is cosy with lots of books available for reading. The staff were quite attentive to our requirements. Food was good too. There is a small swimming at the back too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pshailaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitwe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2103 and were very pleased overall. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We felt that we got good value for money and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any budget conscious traveler. The attention paid by the Admiral to all the guests whilst we were there was great. His advice and tips made the trip really memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is very good option to stay near happening city areas of Jaipur. This is small 18+ rooms hotel, giving you feeling of staying in old Haveli type house in city of palaces and forts. Owner is ex Admiral of Indian navy and most kind person. He will ensure- you will get best of services and all your queries/issues are resolved. He attends guests promptly and you will be rest assured to enjoy stay. Hotel is kept very clean and has nice charm. It has small swimming pool and big lawn. It has its own walking track inside. It is big house with 2+ acre area converted into small family hotel. They have small restaurant serving breakfast and lunch/dinner on pre-order only. But don’t worry, best of other city restaurants are hardly 500m away where you can go and enjoy dinner. This hotel is very near to City palace/Market areas for shopping.
Thanks to excellent support from Admiral and with his continuous efforts only this hotel stands apart from other business hotels. I recommend staying here to experience home stay environment in candid manner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinay-gayate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enoguh. Admiral Singh made us feel very welcome. We arrived in the afternoon and already had an excursion booked in an hours time so Admiral Singh's kitchen made us a quick buffet lunch. We had dinner at the hotel one night too and it was excellent - my friend had been ill earlier in the trip and so they made sure that there were dishes that she would be happy to eat for dinner. Breakfast involved eggs, toast, fruit.

The hotel is a lovely building with an outdoor swimming pool. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Suryaa Villa
Suryaa Villa
#30 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugan Niwas Palace
Sugan Niwas Palace
#70 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#52 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#109 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel

Property: Devi Niketan Heritage Hotel
Address: Sardar Patel Road | Near Chomu House Circle, 'C' - Scheme, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devi Niketan is a family owned and operated Heritage Hotel in central Jaipur which was inaugurated on April 2008. It stands on a big plot with large, lush green lawns in front and rear of the building, a large parking area and a swimming pool. A double storied heritage house, it is part of the 140 acre estate of the former ruling family of Chomu. Adjacent to Devi Niketan is "Govind Niwas", the residence of Admiral Madhvendra Singh and his wife Kumu, who own and run "Devi Niketan". Govind Niwas too stands on a big plot with plenty of greenery. Taken together the two properties stand on a two acre estate which gives a feeling of space and tranquility - even though it is surrounded by a bustling city. It is in a "Happening" neighbourhood with plenty of eating places, Ayurvedic massage parlours, shopping malls with food courts and movie theaters, banks & ATMs, gyms - all within one kilometer.While we do not have an a la Carte Restaurant, a Buffet Breakfast is available and Dinner is served if ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devi Niketan Jaipur
Devi Niketan Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing