We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chitra Katha
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$82
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Krishna Palace(Jaipur)(Great Value!)
US$14
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$40
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umaid Mahal(Jaipur)
US$75
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
184
103
39
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
103
39
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshathroi fortrooftop restaurantfort viewrikshaw drivershot waterpearl palacetuk tukbudget hoteldouble roomhotel ownerpeaceful staynice personvalue for moneyindian hotelsroom servicehotel is locatedmi road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel location is away from routine city traffic, quite & noise free. Service is also very good. Rooms were crystal clean, especially beds & wash rooms. Staff is also friendly, supportive. Rates are quite reasonable. Good choice to stay in Jaipur ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bKunkerkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking out time to write this review. We are glad that you liked the rooms, view, restaurant, service and staff. We are trying to make this better with each passing day so don't you forget to stay with us on your next visit. We'll surprise you. All the best for all the travel you have planned for rest of the year. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We changed our travel plans to go to Jaipur and this hotel was recommended to us by other travellers. They had a good experience here. We had the complete opposite. We checked in very early in the morning (5am) so although we booked for one night we were expecting to pay for two nights. When we arrived, there was an arguement in recepiton between a member of staff and a guest who was trying to depart. We were quickly booked in and went to bed for a couple of hours. All seemed well at this point.

The room was decent with a comfortable bed and clean bed linen. The room and the en suite were also clean so there's no complaints here.

Things started to go down hill form here. The hotel has a roof top restaurant where service was very slow when we ordered breakfast. The chai had to go back to the kitchen becasue it had floaty bits in it. We laughed this off becasue it appear to be a relativly new hotel and these things can happen.

However the dinner experience at the hotel was no better and became indicative of the way this hotel is working. We waited a while to be served drinks and then also had to wait to order food and the food took considerable time to come to the table. I ordered a vegatable rice byriani so imagine my suprise when I found a chicken leg in it. When I called the waiter over, his reponse was 'yes this is a veg byriani' even thought I had the chicken out on the plate. Another member of staff also came over and was questioning me. It was very off putting and a little intimidating.

I eventually had the correct order although they forgot the rice for our friends and then proceeded to add 20% on to the bill along with 120 rupees for a bottle of water. As a rule, the hotel does not supply bottled water free of charge in it's rooms.

This was not an experience we could not laugh off.

To finish off this bad experience, when we went to check out the hotel disputed they had recieved the first payment and so we had to pay for two nights stay. This was done at a time when we were leaving to catch our train and where there is no wifi to access any accounts to show payment. Again, it was also quite intimidating with around 4 members of staff in the reception pointing and talking at us. In the end we paid for the two nights just so we could leave and get to our train.

We have since checked our account and money has been taken from our account so we have paid for three nights in total in a sub standard hotel. It is very reminiscient of the guest who was trying to catch his train and was being pursued for more money and it makes you wonder whether this is a regular ploy by the hotel.

The whole sorry story is a real shame becasue the hotel is located in a nice area and when they are being helpful, they are really helpful. I would not recommend this hotel based on our experience

Room Tip: Don't go here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

What an irony. It cannot be worse than this for us. It breaks our heart to know that you came to stay with us because our guests recommended us. And we failed to deliver on so many aspects. These guests were happy and satisfied with our property and services. We are really thankful that they recommended us and disappointed with ourselves. The fact that your room was made nicely and cleanliness was taken care of is really the saving grace for us. We apologize for the mishap that happened in the restaurant but that is still a mistake that can happen. It is ghastly but still a human error. Such absentmindedness can happen if the work load is too much. It can be ignored and forgiven with a promise to never repeat it again but what happened at the check-out is unacceptable to us. The manager who asked you to wait at the reception and pay for an extra day instead of catching your train has been asked to leave. Such inhuman people have no place in our premise. However, we checked your bill and you have been charged only for 2 days, not 3. This as per the rule is correct. As you checked-in at 5am and checked out the next day at 9am, while check-in and check-out time is 12 noon. I agree that you occupied the room only for some 28 hours only but your timing was such that we could not help. Yes! we could have considered it as a special case and offered you discount which we actually do for a lot of our guests but then the man (the manager on duty) wasn’t human enough right? And that is why he got fired. As far as free water bottles are concerned, please note that we are a budget hotel and we don’t operate on such fat margins that we can provide free water bottles every day. The 1ltr water bottle is available at a reasonable price of 28 rupees and not 120 like you mentioned in your review. A water cooler with RO purifier is also located at the rooftop to fill free water. And we do provide free pick-up from railway station, free Wi-fi, free toiletries, free towels etc. for all guests. We thank you once again for considering us on others recommendation and we hope that when you are here next, you will give us another chance, to redeem our reputation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Alright, the hotel itself wasn't anything extravagant... although it did have a rooftop restaurant that's pretty stellar, and the prices weren't amazing... though there's the dorm option which was nice. But, what sets this place apart is the staff... all-too-willing to be as helpful as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Step_Up-Dive_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much. Really. It is so nice that know that our staff is being appreciated for such basic qualities and values like; willing to listen, being helpful etc. This is what is expected out of them. Thank you once again for appriciating the rooftop view and the food at the restaurant. We will be hoping to see you soon. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Recently stayed here in Chitra Katha and keeping in mind the price, the hotel was nice and well located too. The restaurant upstairs was good and food too. There are also lot of TUK-TUK's outside the hotel which takes you around for city, just take care with the price thing, sometimes they overcharge. The room was upto the expection, clean and with a private bathroom. Had Free Wifi.........that was the best part....!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor with a view and a small balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpertIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for remembering us. To review us after your stay. We really wait for these. We are glad that you have nice things to say about our price, restaurant, food and services. As far as tuk-tuk fair is concerned, we suggest all our guests, to check the correct charge with reception before stepping out as it will always benefit you in negotiating the price the same with the tuk-tuk drivers. All the best for all the journeys you have planned for. We hope these plans will bring you back to Jaipur and chitra katha someday. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights standard room with Fan . Room was clean,Fast check out.peaceful place. Only disappointment was washroom was not in the room was not shared but it was out side room key provided, seems it was only with my room.Staff was good except guy at reception Jai Seems over friendly asked many questions and offering services massage & whatever you need ' etc..on the time of check in .Bit over priced for Budget travellers.

Room Tip: Ask Tuk Tuk to take to you to Gopalbari(gopalbadi ) or hotel near Hotel pearl palace, They seems lost when asked them to go to Chitrakatha same with the pre paid taxi counter at the airport.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neenad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnshuSharma, Owner at Chitra Katha, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking out time to review us and appreciating the services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. And while we agree with most of your review, we fail to understand how can the tuk-tuk drivers be confused about our location. Our hotel is at the base of a fort, a very popular location. All one has to say is that I wish to go to 60 Hathroi fort, even if someone doesn't know where chitrakatha is, which can be true as we are just 3 and half year old, but I can guarantee you that there's not a single rickshaw/ taxi driver in Jaipur who will fail to reach the Hathroi fort. Leaving this aside your feedback about the boy (Jai) has been taken seriously and befitting action will be taken. Thanks for bringing it our notice. We agree that our staff should come across as pleasant and warm, and not overbearing or intruding. We'll be hoping to see you soon again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews