We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good but gloomy place”

samode haveli Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 3,387 Restaurants in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is the restaurant at The Samode Haveli. A Muliticuisine restaurant.
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We wanted a change from our Taj bubble so booked dinner at this haveli in the Old Town. Our agent made the reservation for us. It was a wet and cool evening and walked around the property for some time trying to find staff. We would have appreciated more of a welcome and perhaps the offer of a small tour since we expressed an interest in the history. None was forthcoming.
We ate in the annexe of the dining room and the food itself was very tasty. We had a laal maas, a pea and cauliflower curry and some assorted Indian breads. The crème caramel dessert was a highlight. We felt better after our dinner and we were going to give a tip. But the card machine was taken away when the bill came up in rupees. We were told another machine was needed as the first was broken. This machine asked for the PIN but did not display any total. We later found that we had been charged in GB pounds at an unfavourable rate. We had not requested pounds and had in fact requested to pay in rupees only. This left us with a bad taste and meant that we did not leave the tip as planned. Please note that hotels, shops and restaurants cannot charge guests in foreign currency without their consent. Fellow travellers, look out for this throughout India as it was not a one- off.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017

All meals are served in the hotel’s one restaurant. The food is excellent and the service staff attentive. Breakfast is a bountiful buffet. In the evenings, we enjoyed the balmy setting of the outdoor patio, with heaters to keep us toasty warm in February. Nearly every evening there was live music by a musician or two, on flute, a string instrument and/or drum.

I can’t say enough about the exquisite service we experienced. Mr. Vineet, the restaurant manager, sets the tone each evening. His staff are wonderful, especially Mehendi, who made sure we enjoyed our last meal at the hotel. It was definitely a Rajasthani feast! My husband and I can’t tolerate spicy food but Mehendi know exactly what to serve and it was phenomenal: Gosht Korma Shirazi – a delicious combination of mutton, potatoes, dried fruit and saffron, accompanied by basmati rice, nan bread, and Bhindi do Pyaz (okra with cumin, onions, and tomatoe, plus a side of Baiogan Ki Burrani, which is aubergine yogurt (as in eggplant). We were stuffed, but deliriously happy with our final, memorable meal under the stars of Jaipur.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllisonOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We had an excellent meal here with a great choice of food. The restaurant was spacious and the staff were very friendly and willing to help.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Wendisue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

i was came some day before with myyyyyyyy familyyyyyyyyy at place this plzce is very bbeurtyfull nd staf is very hard working

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank MukeshK1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Samode Haveli for 3 nights and had dinner twice and breakfast 3 mornings.
The setting is wonderful, the weather was very good, so we sat outside on every occasion.
You can sit inside in what is a very attractive dining room.
We sampled several dishes, all of which were very plentiful, mouthwatering and very enjoyable.
We would certainly recommend it

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed samode haveli Restaurant also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
 

Been to samode haveli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing