We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't bother”
Review of Galtaji Temple

Galtaji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Amber Fort and Royal Gaitor Including a Hike to...
Ranked #43 of 229 things to do in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Galtaji Temple, Jaipur A pre-historic Hindu pilgrimage site, the Galtaji Temple, is located only 10km away from Jaipur. One of the jewels of Jaipur, the temple complex encompasses natural fresh water springs and 7 holy 'kunds' or water tanks. Among these kunds, the 'Galta Kund', is the holiest one and is believed to never get dry.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't bother”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

the review in Rough Guides made this place sound much more idyllic than it is - it is a steep climb with not much pay off - we didn't bother walking downhill to the actual temple as it looked very unimpressive from the uppermost part of the walk and we didn't figure it would be worth climbing back to return to the road.
we also found the attention of the other temple goers made us feel like we were the main attraction - indiscreet photos and videos being taken of us ,,, this has happened before but never to this degree, seems like most tourists wisely steer clear of this place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarrieMcK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    31
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of monkeys”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

and of the guys there. Though the monkeys are friendly, I saw 3 guys following and talking about (in Hindi) a probably Japanese girl. Though I don't think they had any more intentions, but still even this is not acceptable. Place is decent, big not well maintained.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank montysingh897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“nice to monkey temple”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

the temple is very ancient the scenic beauty was very beautiful the presence of monkeys made it adventurous too

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ck303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Interesting old Hindu temple complex”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

In some more interesting and certainly differently so than the more spectacular but sanitised forts and palaces, this is a fascinating place to watch the local people go about their rligious observance with two pools, the lower one for women and the upper one for men. Very few westerners there when we visited which makes you the subject of some pestering and great interest. Difficult to tell the ones that are after money from the ones that just want to take their picture with you. Altogether great fun and well worth doing if you are staying in Jaipur.

The monkeys stole the garlands we had acquied in one of the temples

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I thought this was monkey temple!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Given the number of monkeys there, you can't blame me for that. Though this is better as the complex is really really big and the cold water pond make it worth a dip. Though given the sex ratio at the pond, impossible for ladies to reach there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank damianbhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galtaji Temple also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Galtaji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing